We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, cheap and clean, just shame about the staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of H Top Palm Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added H Top Palm Beach to your Saves list
H Top Palm Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Aribau 3, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain (Formerly Hotel Ancla)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 128 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice hotel, cheap and clean, just shame about the staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

I stayed here with friends for a week, its very quiet due the week but at weekends it tends to get busy. Its full of spanish old people or young people on their stag/hen do's, not a good place for children. I was all inclusive which was great, there was always a selection of different foods, mainly fish and chicken though. The clubs and beaches are 10 minutes down the road. Although we did have some trouble at the hotel which the staff did nothing about, the staff was soo rude and had massive favourtisum for the spanish and the male bar staff was very pervy and made me and my friends feel very uncomfortable. This is a good cheap place to get away but i wouldnt recommend it due to the staff being so rude, pervy and unreliable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    122
    115
    67
    108
See reviews for
109
137
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Stayed in the Hotel Ankla for a stag weekend on 12-15 May 2011 and found the hotel to be clean and have good amenities. Food was ok, usually managed to get something edible, did find the quality and choice got better on the sat and sun when more spanish arrived.
Rooms were clean and basic, camp bed added in to make it 3 to a room.
Only downside was the attitude and personality of the bar staff. The woman during the day never once smiled and the two guys at nite werent much better.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the floors with stag and hen
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

19 of us stayed at this hotel for 2 nights the the majority of the hotel staff were very friendly apart from the reception staff who were rude and very unfriendly the all inclusive was quite good you could all ways found some thing to eat the only problem was if you missed breakfast which finished at 9 30 you could not get a drink till 11 but after saying that i would go back

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed at this hotel from 9th-11th May 2011 for my Hen do with 18 other ladies. Arrived at 10am on the first day and we were able to check straight into our rooms.
The rooms were really clean but a little cramped as we had 3 or 4 people in each room.
All bathrooms had half bath with amazing power showers, toilet and bidet plus sink with fitted hairdryers.
Balconies had table and chairs.
The main pool area was quite small and I imagine that it would get extremely cramped in the height of the season. There is a separate infant pool and Jacuzzi on the upper terrace area.
The hotel also had an indoor spa area which is fantastic, indoor whirlpool with steam room and Sauna which is all free for guests! We were not aware of this before we arrived at the hotel so it was a pleasant surprise. Massages were also available but payable locally.
You are only able to get one drink at a time per person which is pretty standard for any all inclusive property. All spirits, beer, soft drinks and teas/coffees were included in the package. Cocktails were extra.
Bottles of wine were brought to the table at evening meals which was fantastic! Along with bottled water.
The food was ok, pretty standard really. Choices of salads, meats and fish. Potatoes and chips. Always a pasta option. Choice of fruits, ice creams and cakes for dessert.
Overall there was always something to eat, plenty of choice and appeared to be cooked well.
The location of the hotel is a little out of the way. To get to the main busy area take a left out of the hotel and continue to walk for about 15-20 minutes and all the bars/clubs etc are all in this area.
When you take a right out of the hotel, there are a few pubs and restaurants but mainly shops.
There is a beach is about a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel but I dont beleive this is the main beach. It is a shingle pebble beach which is actually quite painful to walk on! However it is quite large and watersports & boat trips are available. There are also restaurants on the front.
The pool area was quite noisy as the hotel is on a main road but it didn't ruin our stay.

Overall the hotel is great for a budget stay especially for groups of friends. I would definately not take children here as stag and hen partys will probably take over in the main summer season.

Great value for money for our trip.

Also we didnt find the staff at the hotel rude at all as mentioned in other reviews?!

Room Tip: Overlooking pool 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

my husband and i stayed at this hotel on the 4th may 2011 for one week worst holiday i have ever had ,the hotel was full of hen and stag partys they were drunk, loud and foul mouthed, i am not a prued but when you have young children and half the drunk hens are pulling the trousers off the stags reveling everything its not on the hotel did nothing about it even when they are still running around at 4 am in the morning go at your own peril

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales / sunderland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

This hotel was probably one of the worst hotels i have ever stayed in, it was clean but was terrible. The Staff are the most rudest people i have ever met they hate british people and hate having to even serve us a drink. The hotel was full to the brim with old spanish people who get the bets treatment and think they have priority over us and push you out the way. I went here with 14 girls on a hen party they hated us. You definatly get what you paid for and thank god it was cheap although i stayed in hotel Samba last year for the same price and was much better, manners dont cost anything and the staff here certainly dont have any towards the british. The food was awful we paid for all inclusive and ended up eating out most of the time only cater for spanish people or people who live on fish as thats all there ever was. It was'nt that close to town we got taxis most of the time but if you wanted to walk it it took about 20 mins. When we arrived they told us they had double booked 3 of us and had to put us up in the hotel accross the road which was inconveient as the other girls stayed in the hotel. We then had to check out of that hotel at 10 to move back to the ancla (such a pain when you was out the night before) only to be told out room was'nt goin to be ready till 12 i was so angry. When we checked out of the ancla they told us we then had to pay for a drinks from then on we checked out at 10 in the morning and was'nt leaving till 1, they would'nt even let us have any food etc once we had checked out even with all the mess around we had on the first day. I would never recommend this hotel i would say pay an extra tenner or something and go somehwere else. The only good thing aswell i would say is they had a fabulous spa/ sauna etc, which looked like a completely different hotel when you was in there.

Room Tip: simple just dont go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

First time stay at this hotel, nice and relaxing.
Bad points: Not much choice on breakfast buffet, only one drink per person at a time. On a busy main road and quite noisy during the day.
Good points: Nice pool and jacuzzi, clean if a little tired, good selection of dinner and tea buffets.
We enjoyed our stay here, we joined in with the spanish evenings, don't know whether the theme changes more into the season but it was enjoyable. Mostly pleasant staff, good selection of all inclusive drinks. Bar closes at eleven then you can purchase more if you want. Excellent spa facilities which were free (steam room and jacuzzi pool). Small but functional room, two single beds.
Went into Lloret, drinks and food a bit pricey but if you look around you can get good and cheap.
Wouldn't go again but then again wouldn't go to Lloret again.
Overall a relaxing holiday and decent food apart from breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to H Top Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H Top Palm Beach

Address: C/ Aribau 3, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain (Formerly Hotel Ancla)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — H Top Palm Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your H Top Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancla Hotel Lloret De Mar
Hotel Ancla
H Top Palm Beach Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H Top Palm Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.