We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as advertised!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garbi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Garbi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Garbi
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Pla de Carbonell 1, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 129 hotels in Lloret de Mar
1 review
“Not as advertised!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

If you have children STAY AWAY!! The hotel is advertised as family friendly..... Anything but to be honest. The rooms were clean enough if not in the small side. No air con, tv or fridge which I think are a must. No high chair in the dining room for my toddler.

Food - shall I even go there... One evening we were served raw sausages yes you read correctly they were raw inside!!!! Nothing was done to correct this. The food in general was bland and unappetising. You had to pay for your evening drinks and you are NOT ALLOWED to bring your own!!

Lets just say if you want an 19-30's holiday then Llorett is the place. If you want a family holiday with things for the kids to do then stay away

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangarbi, Manager at Hotel Garbi, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
After reading your review, we must agree that the hotel in july and august can be noisy during the nights because of the young people wich are on holiday. Lloret has a big night life and all hotels have the same problem during this period.
As you know, this is a 2* hotel, we do not need to have air conditioning, fans, fridge or tv. It is not necessary by spanish law, and we do not sell the hotel with this facilities.
About cleanliness of the room, if you were not happy with it you could always have said it at reception and we would have taken mesures about it.
In the restaurant we do have high chairs. It surprises me that you complain about it. They are blue and you just need to ask the waitresses.
I remember personally the case of the sausages, because you actually talked to me and you showed me the picture. You were in front when I told the chef and spoke to him. It was a mistake of the kitchen and you were right. We are really sorry about that mistake and it has not happened again. After this, you aked for a compensation and I explained you that we do not work so. We work with buffet, and there is always choice to eat as much as you want. By the way, after all this, i spoke with the headwaiter and he told me that the sausages were taken away.
About drinks, in all hotels and restaurants its NOT ALLOWED, to take your own drinks. We have it advertised at the entrance of the restaurant, at the bar and at the swimming pool. I'm aware that you tried several times to take juice and water into the restaurant, and we did allow it becaue it was supposed to be "for the children". But the sangrias wich were bought at the supermarket and you drunk at the bar, in front of everybody, we had to forbidd it. We are sorry, but we can not allow guests to do this because as any business, we have to make money. What sense would it make to have a bar at the hotel?

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    11
    14
    30
See reviews for
10
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhuddlan, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

First view of the hotel was the approach up a narrow street, not inviting at all. Check in was ok, guy on reception seemed helpful up to a point. /the room was small and overlooked the pool area of the Garbi Park hotel, karaoke every night so very noisy. The food was awful with very little variety and mostly cold. Generally, we found the staff polite and helpful. Not many people to talk to unless fluent in Russian. Lloret as a resort was overcrowded, very noisy with nothing more than bars, pizza places and burger bars. Never again !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangarbi, Manager at Hotel Garbi, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Good afternoon,
Thank you for your review. In general Lloret is noisy in summer due to the young people wich have summer holidays (July and August) In fact, you were here in the middle of the high season. Everything is adapted to them during that period, that is the reason of fast food, bars,...

If you were not happy with the room you could have come to reception and we could have tried to change you the room, maybe not the same day because hotel could be full, but next day in the morning. We change people from rooms continuously. Some people want view, other high floor,...
About the food, we try to have variety because we have buffet, and the warm buffet has a thermometer wich indicates 65ºC. We can not make it hotter because if the food lasts too long on the plate, it would get dry. This is the recommended temperature.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lloret de Mar hotels

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

First of all the resort is terrible, Lloret De Mar is stuck in the 70's and doesnt have any up to date hotels or pubs. Would have been the in place 40 years ago, im sure! Everyone we met in the resort said the same things about their hotels (very dated and rundown)

Location: The hotel is close to the main strip however when being dropped off by the airport transfer and dumped in the middle of nowhere it proved how difficult it was to find (especially when theres three hotels called hotel Garbi!!).

Hotel: The hotel is old, dated and not very clean. The room is ridiculously basic and very old fashioned. we had a old wooden bed with sheets with cigarette burns in them. The balconys are so unsafe we didnt like sitting out on them (so be wary if you are planning on taking children to the hotel).

Hotel food: we went on a half board basis, breakfast was ok (little greasy but not bad enough to complain), evening meals seemed to be leftovers from lunch times (mainly fish dishes were on the menu).

Language barriers also seemed an issue, none of the staff could understand us!

All in all i would rate the hotel and holiday a 1/5. Very disappointed when we arrived (to the extent of me crying because we had to stay at the hotel for a week).

Stay well away if you have children and if youre a couple go anywhere else but here! you will regret it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangarbi, Manager at Hotel Garbi, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Good afternoon,

Lloret de Mar is famous for its beaches & nightlife. In particular, in my opinion Lloret has plenty of choice in hotels (more than 100) in a relative small town (42.000 population), and also many pubs, bars, restaurants and clubs. Maybe it was more a question of choosing a better/modern hotel, or another destination.

Location: We are 2 streets away from the main street (75 mts). In this street usually transfers arrive and depart, so at maximum, you must have walked 100 mts. Its also the street with the main clubs and nightlife. But in any case, we do not have anything to do with your transfer service wich you bought on your own. So about that, you have to adress yourself to where you bought it.

Hotel: Hotel is old and basic that is correct (it was build in late 1960), and some rooms are better or refubished than others. Better views than others... there are always better rooms than others in any hotel. We do not sell anything wich we do not have (maybe better info about the hotel would have prevented your disappointment). We try to keep it clean, if you were not happy with cleanliness you could always have said it at reception to do something about it. Sometimes people think it is dirty but its just old or worn (mainly the floor). About the cigarette burn in the sheet, we could have changed it if you would have said it. Sometimes, with the rush, me can make mistakes and not see them. The balconys are all safe. They are all between 1.10 and 1.15 cm high. I do not understand this complaint...(and no one had never complained about this).

Food: Everything is served in "buffet", cold, hot & desserts. There is always choice. We try to adjust at maximum what we cook and for how many people to avoid leftovers as you say knowing how many people we have on each meal basis on each service.

Languages: All receptinists do speak english (better or worse depends on each one), but they do understand. 2 speak french. Italian is easy because it is simmilar to spanish. German basics. And in my case, i speak 6 languages (Spanish, Catalan, French, German, Dutch, English), so if there is anything they call me to deal with the people.

In my opinion, your expectations where much higher than what you really reserved and what you probabily payed. If you would have came to reception, to tell us all your matters, we could have tried to move you to another hotel of the same chain. Or maybe have informed your travel agency to find a solution?? Other thing wich i do not understad, is if you stayed in September 2012, why you write on April 2013??

In any case, I am sorry that you had a bad time in the hotel and in Lloret.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Whene we arrived first thing was to go shopping for bleach to clean. Shower was discusting dirthy, mildew. Original shower curtain was white colour but that was gray from the mildew. I ask the reception to change the curtain. (Next day thay change it)
So i start my holiday with big cleaning. We was 2 weeks and they changed the bed once. Towel change about every 3th-4th days. We was on half board and only thing what i did like is the food. Our budget was short, so if you can accept cleaning to do yourself and you are not very fussy and if you don't spend your most time in hotel is ok but myself definitely not going back this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Hotel Garbi in August 2012 and we can hand on heart say it was the worst holiday we have ever had!! Walking upto the hotel we had our reservations but we thought we would give it the benefit of the doubt but on entering the hotel our worst fears were confirmed. We spoke to a young guy at reception who, give him credit, was very helpful. He provided us with our key and sent us on our way. We had to go back out of the hotel and around the side to get to our room.

The hotel had a horrible smell and the stairs were wet. The lift was extremely temperemental and worked on occassion. The room was disgusting, old sheets which were torn and stained. Curtains which were faded and well past their sell by dates.

We were expecting a 3 star hotel with air conditioning, hair dryer etc within the room. We had a small room with no air conditioning or hair dryer which the man on reception confirmed was not available at all within the hotel. The bathroom was ok but the shower leaked all over the floor and there was a small cupboard which when opened contained pipes etc to the hotel. If you leaned far enough into the cupboard you could easily push through into an adjoining room (although you could not physically get through). The area was extremely noisy and loud.

We paid for all inclusive which we wished we hadn't. We had free drinks and could order food from the bar as snacks. The main restaurant had certain serving times (which was fine) however the food was very unimpressive. Everyday there was a choice of salad and then a hot bar which generally had stale chips, some sort of meat (chicken, pork, peacock) and pasta dishes. The food was lukewarm and unappetising. In terms of staffing we were told on one day we could not sit in a certain area. There was one man on the door who was taking payment into the restaurant and doing all of the drinks. We found as all inclusive guests we were ignored in favour of full paying guests and made to wait.

The manager of the hotel had to be the most ignorant and rude person I have ever come across. Having gone to bed with wet hair (after finding there was no hair dryer) some of my recently done hair dye transferred onto my towel and pillowcase. When we came into the reception the following day the manager confronted us with said towel and pillowcase, very aggressively to complain that we would be charged for this damage. He was not willing to listen that if he put it in the wash it would come straight out. He was extremely rude and put a negative slant on our holiday from word go!! The remainder of the week I had to use a towel purchased from the town and wrap this around my pillow as they did not provide any more towels or pillowcases. Extremely dissatisfied with this service to say the least.

Some of the staff were more than helpful however the majority were quite rude and unhelpful. We were very much second to local guets and it felt almost that we were given a less than satisfactory service because we were English. There was one man on reception who ignored us on several occasions and refused to deal with us because we were English.

We stayed and paid for seven nights however if we could have afforded we would have moved to another hotel in an instance. We also chose to eat out every night due to the insubstantial offerings of the hotel.

The pool was ok and there were normally sun loungers available all day however the locals had access to this facility whether they were staying at the hotel or not which intruded the paying customers use of facilities.

As much as the hotel was awful we appreciate that the company we booked with (on the beach) were as much at fault as their out of date advertisements did not give a true advertisement of what we should expect.

As a cheap place to stay for a hen/stag weekend or young people who want clubs every night until 4 in the morning this hotel would be perfect but if you are looking for something more then DO NOT choose Hotel Garbi.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just back from the hotel GARBIGE as me and my husband and all the other guests have named it. Can,t believe that people have put good reviews on about this hotel. It is disgusting thats the only way to discribe it. The roms are filthy and smell fousty that we didn,t even unpack our cases the whole time we were there.The lifts are covered in graffitti and the stairs and corridoors and filthy too. The swimming pool is disgusting, it has no filter and is covered with flies, you would need to get vacinated to go in it. Most of the sunbed are filthy and falling apart. We went all inclusive and ended up eating nothing in the hotel as the food was disgusting too. They put pictures of animals above the food to let you know what meat it was. I found this very insulting we are adults not children. What ever was on at lunchtime is cooked in a different way and served for dinner. Your allowed to use the pool in the garbi park across the road but if your all inclusive your not allowed to drink there or even take your drink over with you. The staff in the garbi were nice and agreed with all the complaints about the hotel. the staff in the other hotel were very ignorant and treated us like second classed citizens. The hotel closed the bar and restaurant the day before we left, if we wnted to eat or drink we had to use the garbi park. My husband went to get a drink at that the bar there and was rudely told that he was only allowed to get a drink at small corner of the bar and was charged euro deposit each for our PLASTIC GLASSES which they just refilled and never gave us a fresh glass. We met a lot of nice british people in the hotel and every one of them felt the same as us, everyone was so happy when it was time to go home. This hotel should be closed as it is the most disgusting place i have ever been. I wouldn,t send my worst enemy there. The whole resort has nothing in it and i would advice everyone not to go there!!!!!

Room Tip: There,s not any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were very apprehensive before travelling as there were many mixed reviews. Holiday was on a budget. Garbi Hotel 2**.
Rooms. Very dated and basic. However very clean, with an army of household staff. We had a room overlooking the pool.
Noise. Noisy up to 1am as Garbi Park across the narrow street had Karaoke every night. After that not bad.
Food. Good choice and plentiful. Buffet. As we were out all day, facility to have picnic in lieu of lunch.
Staff. The reception staff were excellent, very helpful. Restaurant staff however were a little stern.
Location. Excellent for beach. Right in the heart of clubs and pubs (hence the reviews on (Noise).
Overall we had a good stay. We feel for the price and only a 2 star, excellent value.

Room Tip: North side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Garbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garbi

Address: C/ Pla de Carbonell 1, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 129 hotels in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Garbi 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Garbi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garbi Hotel Lloret De Mar
Hotel Garbi Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garbi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.