We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2007 holiday” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garbi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Garbi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Garbi
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Pla de Carbonell 1, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 129 hotels in Lloret de Mar
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“2007 holiday”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Whene we arrived first thing was to go shopping for bleach to clean. Shower was discusting dirthy, mildew. Original shower curtain was white colour but that was gray from the mildew. I ask the reception to change the curtain. (Next day thay change it)
So i start my holiday with big cleaning. We was 2 weeks and they changed the bed once. Towel change about every 3th-4th days. We was on half board and only thing what i did like is the food. Our budget was short, so if you can accept cleaning to do yourself and you are not very fussy and if you don't spend your most time in hotel is ok but myself definitely not going back this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    11
    14
    30
See reviews for
10
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Hotel Garbi in August 2012 and we can hand on heart say it was the worst holiday we have ever had!! Walking upto the hotel we had our reservations but we thought we would give it the benefit of the doubt but on entering the hotel our worst fears were confirmed. We spoke to a young guy at reception who, give him credit, was very helpful. He provided us with our key and sent us on our way. We had to go back out of the hotel and around the side to get to our room.

The hotel had a horrible smell and the stairs were wet. The lift was extremely temperemental and worked on occassion. The room was disgusting, old sheets which were torn and stained. Curtains which were faded and well past their sell by dates.

We were expecting a 3 star hotel with air conditioning, hair dryer etc within the room. We had a small room with no air conditioning or hair dryer which the man on reception confirmed was not available at all within the hotel. The bathroom was ok but the shower leaked all over the floor and there was a small cupboard which when opened contained pipes etc to the hotel. If you leaned far enough into the cupboard you could easily push through into an adjoining room (although you could not physically get through). The area was extremely noisy and loud.

We paid for all inclusive which we wished we hadn't. We had free drinks and could order food from the bar as snacks. The main restaurant had certain serving times (which was fine) however the food was very unimpressive. Everyday there was a choice of salad and then a hot bar which generally had stale chips, some sort of meat (chicken, pork, peacock) and pasta dishes. The food was lukewarm and unappetising. In terms of staffing we were told on one day we could not sit in a certain area. There was one man on the door who was taking payment into the restaurant and doing all of the drinks. We found as all inclusive guests we were ignored in favour of full paying guests and made to wait.

The manager of the hotel had to be the most ignorant and rude person I have ever come across. Having gone to bed with wet hair (after finding there was no hair dryer) some of my recently done hair dye transferred onto my towel and pillowcase. When we came into the reception the following day the manager confronted us with said towel and pillowcase, very aggressively to complain that we would be charged for this damage. He was not willing to listen that if he put it in the wash it would come straight out. He was extremely rude and put a negative slant on our holiday from word go!! The remainder of the week I had to use a towel purchased from the town and wrap this around my pillow as they did not provide any more towels or pillowcases. Extremely dissatisfied with this service to say the least.

Some of the staff were more than helpful however the majority were quite rude and unhelpful. We were very much second to local guets and it felt almost that we were given a less than satisfactory service because we were English. There was one man on reception who ignored us on several occasions and refused to deal with us because we were English.

We stayed and paid for seven nights however if we could have afforded we would have moved to another hotel in an instance. We also chose to eat out every night due to the insubstantial offerings of the hotel.

The pool was ok and there were normally sun loungers available all day however the locals had access to this facility whether they were staying at the hotel or not which intruded the paying customers use of facilities.

As much as the hotel was awful we appreciate that the company we booked with (on the beach) were as much at fault as their out of date advertisements did not give a true advertisement of what we should expect.

As a cheap place to stay for a hen/stag weekend or young people who want clubs every night until 4 in the morning this hotel would be perfect but if you are looking for something more then DO NOT choose Hotel Garbi.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lloret de Mar hotels

glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just back from the hotel GARBIGE as me and my husband and all the other guests have named it. Can,t believe that people have put good reviews on about this hotel. It is disgusting thats the only way to discribe it. The roms are filthy and smell fousty that we didn,t even unpack our cases the whole time we were there.The lifts are covered in graffitti and the stairs and corridoors and filthy too. The swimming pool is disgusting, it has no filter and is covered with flies, you would need to get vacinated to go in it. Most of the sunbed are filthy and falling apart. We went all inclusive and ended up eating nothing in the hotel as the food was disgusting too. They put pictures of animals above the food to let you know what meat it was. I found this very insulting we are adults not children. What ever was on at lunchtime is cooked in a different way and served for dinner. Your allowed to use the pool in the garbi park across the road but if your all inclusive your not allowed to drink there or even take your drink over with you. The staff in the garbi were nice and agreed with all the complaints about the hotel. the staff in the other hotel were very ignorant and treated us like second classed citizens. The hotel closed the bar and restaurant the day before we left, if we wnted to eat or drink we had to use the garbi park. My husband went to get a drink at that the bar there and was rudely told that he was only allowed to get a drink at small corner of the bar and was charged euro deposit each for our PLASTIC GLASSES which they just refilled and never gave us a fresh glass. We met a lot of nice british people in the hotel and every one of them felt the same as us, everyone was so happy when it was time to go home. This hotel should be closed as it is the most disgusting place i have ever been. I wouldn,t send my worst enemy there. The whole resort has nothing in it and i would advice everyone not to go there!!!!!

Room Tip: There,s not any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were very apprehensive before travelling as there were many mixed reviews. Holiday was on a budget. Garbi Hotel 2**.
Rooms. Very dated and basic. However very clean, with an army of household staff. We had a room overlooking the pool.
Noise. Noisy up to 1am as Garbi Park across the narrow street had Karaoke every night. After that not bad.
Food. Good choice and plentiful. Buffet. As we were out all day, facility to have picnic in lieu of lunch.
Staff. The reception staff were excellent, very helpful. Restaurant staff however were a little stern.
Location. Excellent for beach. Right in the heart of clubs and pubs (hence the reviews on (Noise).
Overall we had a good stay. We feel for the price and only a 2 star, excellent value.

Room Tip: North side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Me and my boyfriend have just come back from a 4day stay at Lloret De Mar at hotel Garbi
3rd July - 6th July - Yes short I know but I have to work :(

FIRSTLY, there are four Hotel Garbi's within Lloret De Mar which are like not even two seconds away which is silly but it looks like they have different price range.

ROOM
POSITIVE : We wasn't reallybothered by what room we would get as we knew we wouldnt be in the room much anyways but if people do want to stay within the hotel I wouldn't reccommend it this because there is nothing to do within the hotel although you are allowed in the other Garbi hotels and the best one for entertainment I would say is Hotel Garbi Parke.
IF YOU ARE EXPECTING A DOUBLE BED DON'T THIS HOTEL DOES NOT DO DOUBLE BEDS ALL BEDS ARE SINGLE BUT TO ME WERE COMFY. Some rooms have a bath and shower some rooms just have a shower, the ones with just a shower will be smaller as we gathered by the other people we met within the hotel.
NEGATIVES: The pillow one of us was given had an old blood stain, was disgusting !!

FOOD
FOR THE FOOD WE HAD TO GO TO HOTEL GARBI PARK AS HOTEL GARBI'S RESTURANT WAS NOT OPEN !!
The only positives I could give for the food is keeping the drinks cold, and cleaning the tables straight away, as english tourists we didnt expect much but we didnt expect what was there. The first night there was fish, and two other meats with chips just chips and salad like tomatoes etc, The second night we just had a plate of chips and ate out as they had meat like rabbitt and dry pork, we woke up for breakfast the next day which was left over chips from the day before tinned watery hot dogs, bacon, egg and some mash things which was disgusting.

HOTEL ITSELF
The hotel has a lovely pool which is never busy, the onlky downfall about this is that the sunbeds do not move up or down which means your a left in an unconfortable position whilst trying to sunbathe. The people who work within the hotel are absolutely lovely, they are what makes the hotel more pleasureable. The hotel is roughly 5 minutes maximum walk and we did time this but was unable to see exactly as we got caught up into the ice creams and hot dogs on sale. IF YOUR YOUNG YOU WILL BE PUT NEXT TO THE WALL AND NOT THE POOL AS I BELIEVE THEY DO THIS TO EVERYONE.

THE AREA
The area is very safe there is nothing for you to worry about as there are police absolutely everywhere. I wouldnt reccommend this to families and the elderly unless you like to party as there is just too much noise even for me and a lot of music although the hotel that are near this hotel do turn of there music at 12oclock.

THE BEACH
The beach is ALWAYS packed no matter what time you go, there are a lot of games etc. you can do from jet sking to volley ball which is fun. there are also shops near by for you to eat and shop.

Check in to the hotel is 12oclock midday and check out is 10am.
You can get a hotel safe which is 4euros a day and then a 10euro deposit which you get back (if you remember to give the safe key back)

If you are looking to stay at this hotel I would reccommend it just for the room and not the food, and me and my boyfriend worked it out it wouldve been cheaper for us to eat out then to go half board but this is an experience we will remember.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter what room you choose just matters if your going half board or not and how many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We took a low budget vacation so we didn't expect much. We never came home before 6 in the morning so we weren't bothered with the noise, but i can imagine a lot of people were. The room was without a phone, without tv, without airco. I waked up everymorning because of the room being hot, or the cleaning woman that just came in without knocking on the door to change towels. our bed got refreshed 1 time in the whole week. and practically never got cleaned.

Young people can have a lot of fun here, because a lot is allowed. you can take whoever you want to your room, and we even where on the roof of the hotel some nights and made lots of noise and no one bothered. The staff that cleaned the pool and stuff really did nothing. we watched this guy everyday and he was always just smoking a cigarette. Someone dropped a bottle and he went cleaning it, but the floor next to the pool was still full of glass so one little kid put his food on it and it was bleeding hard and the father got mad. I saw 2 other people walking on it as well. The water of the pool wasn't that clean as well.

the people at the reception where very friendly.
The food was very basic. Everyday there was other warm food of low quality. the vegetables, cucumbers for exemple stayed there a whole week and where soft at the end of the week. but sometimes there was something good to eat.

If you just want a low cost going out vacation with friends, you should go to here. it is just next to the main street. If you are with a family, avoid it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport,Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

On arrival to the hotel,we were greeted by the reception staff who were nice and told us that our dinner was ready,this was at midnight,so i didnt expect that,we where shown into the Dining room,where a table had been laid out with some chips and salad,which had sat there for 4 hours!!!My daughter then screamed when a cockroach ran over her feet! we declined the dinner and went to macdonalds.As to say we never ate in the resturant again,we had a look but it looked horriable.
Our room was very small,dirty and smelt of garlic,there was writing all over the place and looked if had not been updated since the sixties..
we had very noisy neighbours,having water fights at 2 in the morning !!
the only good side to the hotel is the location,we had booked half board but ended up spending all our money eating out !! PLEASE STAY AWAY

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Garbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garbi

Address: C/ Pla de Carbonell 1, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 129 hotels in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Garbi 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Garbi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garbi Hotel Lloret De Mar
Hotel Garbi Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garbi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.