We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good value for money hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alba Seleqtta Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alba Seleqtta Hotel to your Saves list
Alba Seleqtta Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   C/Senia del Barral 46, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain (Formerly Sunrise Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 128 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really good value for money hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at the Alba Seleqtta (still locally known as 'Sunrise') for a week at the end of May, booked through lowcostholidays.com. We got a very good all inclusive deal with cheap flights and were really impressed. This was our first all inclusive and had heard a few horror stories about them but for the money we paid it was fantastic. The food was amazing-so much choice! The grounds were lovely with plenty of sunbeds and pool. There is also a small indoor pool that we found on the last day that's not quite so cold! The hotel is in a quiet spot 2 minutes from the beach & main shopping area but away from the main strip.
The rooms were an adequate size, we had a view of a car park but the sea views aren't great so we weren't worried. Our only problem, and its not really the hotels fault, was the noise. Our room was right by the lift on the floor where everyone enters the hotel, and due to the marble floors and a large gap under the door it felt like everyone that walked past was actually in your room! And people really dont think about how much noise they're making.Thank god for ear plugs!
There are a wide variety of drinks on the AI deal, you do have to queue in a pen, and the staff will make sure every need of the 'paying' guests is catered for before they come to you, but thats how they make their money so fair enough. We never had to wait long but it was in the quiet season so I don't know what it would be like peak season.
Lloret de mar is a lovely touristy town, but if you fancy exploring I would definitely recomend a trip to Barcelona and Girona (both can be visited by the local bus). Also the gardens of Santa Clotilde are absolutely stunning. You can walk there but there is also a bus.
We booked the transfers at the time of booking the holiday- it was absolutely fine and you arrive via the mountains which are stunning.
We think that the price will go up on this hotel next year so go now while it's cheap!

Room Tip: Avoid floor 6 if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GironaSuperVisor, Gerente at Alba Seleqtta Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Dear Guests,

We are happy that you had a good holiday here and we are grateful for your comments and opinion because we take note of each guest´s opinion and comment with the goal to improve our service and to give the best of us.

We hope to see you again in the hotel Alba Seleqtta!

Best regards,
Management Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    101
    58
    28
    5
See reviews for
94
83
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
weston super mare
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed here for 10 nights May 2012.Arrival not the best as coach transfer drops you off about 400 metres from hotel with an uphill walk.Reception staff very good and was able to get into room at 10 am with all inclusive starting at 11am.On the downside check out is very early at 10am.On a payment of 30 Euro you can keep the room.Hotel newly refurbished and was very clean.Restaurant was very good as was the food but you have to queue at a small bar for the wine etc.The bar is on the 3rd floor and had access to the outside pool.Drinks were a bit limited and served in plastic glasses unless you were not on all inclusive and the small AI area was rather 2nd class citizen.All the staff were very efficient and friendly.The spa area was good apart from the steam room door broken and no private area to change in.The Alba is nicely situated about a 5 minute walk to the beach and 20 minutes to the bus station.Overall a good hotel for the money.

Room Tip: higher floor the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GironaSuperVisor, Gerente at Alba Seleqtta Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2014
Dear Guests,

We are grateful for your comments and opinion because we take note of each guest´s opinion and comment with the goal to improve our service and to give the best of us.
We inform you that the hotel has 2 entrances : the parking and the reception, and because of the thiny street the bus can´t enter on the street. Anyway, the transfer is what you book with the travel agency.
For us, all our guests are important and we inform you that from the last year there is a service table for the all inclusive also.
We are happy that you spent good holiday here and we hope to see you again in the Hotel Alba Seleqtta!

Best regards,
Management Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My girlfriend and i stayed here for 5nights in may 2012. The hotel its self was very clean and tidy, the rooms were of a good size and the maids came everyday. I dont know why but the maid always left the balcony door open after she finished cleaning. After speaking to other guests it became clear that this was common practice with all the rooms!!

The food was excellent considering we paid around £20pppn with all the usual salads, cold meats and cheeses you'd expect along with paella's, muscles, spit roast chicken, pork chops and lamb chops and a good selection of deserts including giant profritter rolls which my girlfriend just couldnt't resist!!

The drinks were fairly standard, local lager called mahou, the same as they serve in the macdonnalds over there. Quite nice tastes like san miguel and unlike some all inclussive hotel lagers it does actually contain alcohol!! The local spirits are what they are, one good thing is the mixers are genuine coca cola, sprite fanta orange/lemon!! And the barman arent shy either, hence feeling like death one morning with a hangover lasting till mid afternoon.

The location of the hotel was literally 2mins away from the beech with a pleasent walk past a few shops selling all the usual holiday gear, hats, sun cream, ice lollys etc. The resort of lloret de mar its self is very nice, the white sandy beaches stretch for almost a mile accross the front and are extremely tidy. There's also life guards at regular intervals. Some nice cocktail bars situated on the the beach its self which is nice and there are some very nice resturantes and designer clothes shops within short walking distance too!! Plenty of bars and night clubs with some world class djs playing in the summer like tiesto and armin van buuren.

Now for the bad stuff, personnally i like to watch tv in my room while my lady spends an eternity getting ready in the evening but there were no english channels except bbc world news!! (BORING) The hotel alson charges for the safe in your room which is normal, but they also charge 4euros a day for your empty fridge to be turned on!! This i found to be unnaceptable along with the fact that once the all inclussive bar had closed at 11pm there was no where to even get a glass of water from as the barman also turned off the water machine which im sure was tap water anyway!!!

If you decide to stay at this hotel expect what you pay for and you wont be disappointed. There is no piont gettin a bee in your bonnet and going to reception to complain because they arent interested at all!!

All in all though it was a good trip, and we'd definitley stay in lloret de mar again

Room Tip: Pay for a decent room when u book up!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

we stayed in this hoteel for 3 nights it was a late booking accommodation on arrival the room was small and very basic and if you wanted to use the bar in the room you had to pay ther was nothing to make a drink i.e tea or coffee,we were all inclusive on the first night the food was good and there was plenty of room in the restaurant but by the saturday night the restaurant was full with people waiting for tables not good since it was still early season the choice of food was very poor.the all incusive bar closed at 23.00 then you had to pay drinks were served in plasic glasses.the hotel is built in to a steep hill car park enterance is on the 6th floor at the back of the hotel and you have to find your way to the reception was at the front of the hotel on the ground floor we stayed on the 5th floor we had to take the lift up to the 6th floor and walk along a corridor then down the stairs the restaurant was on the 5th floor but we had to walk up stairs from the 5th floor and along the corridor to get to smoe more stairs to go back down to the 5th floor the entertainment was very poor the bar staff were ok.the hotel was ashrt walk to the beach

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We went to the alba seleqtta for 3 night and was very surprised when we got there!!! The hotel was revamped about 6 months ago. It was extremely clean and very modern! Our room had 2 double beds, fridge, tv and a new modern bathroom. In the bathroom, we had complimentary shampoo, conditioner, comb, razor, sewing kid, shaving foam, shoe polish, shower cap, 2 toothbrushs and toothpaste! The food was also very nice, a chef was there for every meal, cooking fresh omelettes, eggs and pancakes, when you wnted them. In the evening, they were there cooking fresh steaks, fish etc. The indoor pool and outdoor was very clean also. It was only a 3 minute walk to the beach. The alba seleqtta is a perfect place for a nice relaxed, comfortable break!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GironaSuperVisor, Director General at Alba Seleqtta Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are grateful for your comments and opinion and happy that you spent a very good time here.
We take note of each guest´s opinion and comment with the goal to improve our service and to give the best of us.

Hope to see you soon in the Hotel Alba Seleqtta!

Best regards
Management Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel has been renamed after a refurbishment in 2011 and upgraded to a 4*

I want to start with the food, there was breakfast at 8am, snacks from 12pm. Dinner from 1:30pm. Cookies and biscuits from 4pm. Evening meal at 7:30pm.
Every meal was extremely nice, cooked very well and always a good variety to choose from.

The only problem i found in the resturant was the waiting on staff, they were all very rude. I asked for a bottle of water one morning, i then went up to get another and the man serving at the bar snapped saying "you should ask for a big bottle" The next day when going for dinner i asked for a big bottle and the woman serving refused to give it to me and said i was only allowed a small bottle.

The staff will not let you get two or more drinks from the bar. Only one per person.
The staff will stop serving you alchol if they think you have signs of being drunk.
There is only one bar to get drinks from and you will be in the queue for 20minutes each time.
If there are people there who are paying cash then the staff will ignore you and serve them, even if you were there first.

The pool is very small and the area to sunbath is even smaller. If you went in peak you would not find a space for a sunlounger.
Most of the sunloungers were broken.

A possitive was that the beach was 2minutes walk from the hotel reception and there were lots of shops to walk around.

We were dropped off on the corner of a road and thought "were is the hotel" the coach driver pointed up a hill and drove off. Iv never had a transfere that did not drop you straight to your hotel. We had to walk up a massive hill and find our way to reception not having a clue.

The rooms are basic and the landing is very noisey with peoples voices and shoes.

The area was beautiful and i will be going back again but not to this hotel.

One night there were around 15people outside smoking and a group of young german men inside at the bar and the staff came and shut all the doors and then locked them. This ment we had no way of getting back into the bar and people were nocking on the doors but were ignored by the staff.
We all had to find another way to get back to our rooms. No one was very happy about this.

The bed was made every day but the maid left our door open every day, this happened to a few other guests we spoke to.

I was on this holiday All Inclusive and the food was excellent but the staff and sunbathing space let this hotel down.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

we were moved 2 this hotel from another hotel. we were very pleased with our stay here! the food at this hotel was absolutely brilliant, different food every day & definately worthy of a 4*! the rooms were lovely. the staff here were all very friendly!
the only downside 2our stay here was that there was no kids entertainment at all, apparantly the kids entertainment doesnt start till june.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GironaSuperVisor, Director General at Alba Seleqtta Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are grateful for your comments and opinion and happy that you spent a very good time here.
We take note of each guest´s opinion and comment with the goal to improve our service and to give the best of us.
We have children entertainment, miniclub, in high season, 15th of june-15th of september, but in low season we try to mix adults activities with children activities.

Hope to see you soon in the Hotel Alba Seleqtta!

Best regards
Management Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alba Seleqtta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Seleqtta Hotel

Address: C/Senia del Barral 46, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain (Formerly Sunrise Hotel)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#13 Family Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#19 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alba Seleqtta Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Alba Seleqtta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Lloret De Mar
Sunrise Lloret De Mar
Sunrise Hotel Costa Brava
Alba Seleqtta Hotel Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alba Seleqtta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.