We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't panic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Samba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Samba to your Saves list
Hotel Samba
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Francesc Cambo 10, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 128 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't panic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We arrived at hotel samba at 12pm.. we had read terrible reviews and were a little apprehensive.
We only paid £140 for 3 nights all inclusive inc flights and therefore had realistically low expectations.
We were pleasantly surprised!!
It's a clean, decent and cheap hotel; our room was sufficient in size and cleaned daily. The staff were pleasant and accommodating.
Breakfast was decent but the other meals were not great- the hotel mainly attracts older Spanish couples and this is reflected in the food they provide- traditional spanish salads/bean dishes etc. As well as the entertainment (somewhat lacking)
There are an abundance of restaurants in the local area and it was reasonably priced.
Unfortunately the pool was closed (it had been cleaned ready for the season) it was a good size and looked incredibly clean!
Balconies are of a good size and being on the sixth floor we had a great view. I would stay here again for a cheap place to rest your head... don't expect 5 star if you only pay for 2!!!
There are lovely beaches and coves in the local area- sangria and champagne goes down well in the sunshine too.
We also took a boat trip to tossa del mar- if you're into culture and history its a must :) roman remains dating back thousands of years!!
I got the distinct feeling that the resort is far livelier in peak season... not really for me but I enjoyed the area and would return at a similar time next year!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSalcedo, Commercial Dept. at Hotel Samba, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your comment.

The pool is open from May till September and yes Lloret is more lively in peak season, however, there is always something to do during the rest of the year.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    214
    249
    151
    209
See reviews for
223
227
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Recently returned from a week booked through Shearings. The hotel was clean, the food was plentiful and varied. For £200 all inclusive with 3 trips thrown in, what can you expect.
Yes some of the food was luke warm - as it is everywhere else in Europe, including the usual 4 star hotels we usually stay in.
Yes the double bed was 2 singles pushed together, a usual expectation in Europe and other countries - no big deal.
No there are no tea or coffee facilities in the room - also in line with everywhere else in Europe. We always take our own so that we can have a cuppa in the morning.
We asked for an extra pillow after dinner on our first evening and it was in our room by the time we went to bed - excellent service.
The room was cleaned every day but the towels in the bathroom could have done with renewing, they were a bit like large tea towels. Also there was no shower gel or shampoo supplied.
The snacks in the bar area were cold, hence the microwave made available. Honestly though, who would need snacks after eating 3 other meals during the day.
One female member of the bar staff was extremely rude but most staff were delightful.
Mealtimes could be a bit chaotic, especially (as mentioned my another subscriber), there were a couple of youth football teams in residence who were a bit noisy at times.
There is not much soundproofing in the hotel and noise from one room to another was quite noticable.
The hotel communal areas were really not big enough for a hotel of 400 rooms.
All in all though, good value for money - I have been to worse and paid more.
If you travel with Shearings, expect it to be mainly older people travelling, don't go as a family.

Room Tip: Pick rooms on the higher floors, less noise and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSalcedo, Commercial Dept. at Hotel Samba, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I will pass on the small issues to Management.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Having recently returned from this hotel I can only say we had a great time. Yes we had French students, Italians, Spanish and british but during the evening we all had fun joining in the dancing .As for the hotel food acceptable, rooms cleaned daily, towels changed and staff helpful. A lot of negative comments relate to the snacks but who needed snacks when you had three main meals daily. For the money we paid we did not expect the ritz and was aware that most of lloret would be closed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSalcedo, Commercial Dept. at Hotel Samba, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your good feedback. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Okay I booked this hotel as a very cheap getaway for me and my husband who are in our late 30's. We had some very sad news and never had a break together in 15 years, always taken our kids, but now we were able to get away for a 3 night break and chat and have some fun time together.
I knew for the price its going to be a cheap break but being All Inclusive we could just sit around the bar and just eat and drink and we did just that!
First impressions ............ Benidorm the programme, yes seriously.
HOTEL ROOMS .... Basic, very dated and a bit tatty .... BUT CLEAN. No hairdryer, not tea/coffee facilities. Bed was hard and the double was 2 singles put together. Our pillow was so flat we did request more and we got 2 extra each so that was good service.
DINING & FOOD ... Ok we found the food to be plentiful and always topped up, at dinner and lunch you would never go hungry, the food was not the hottest and a little cool but some fresh food was cooked in the dining area and there was always a lot of it, you also got jugs of wine and water and beer with your meal and the server was always friendly.
ALL INCLUSIVE ... We had all in and I have got to be pretty blunt, the snacks in the main hall/entertainment area was Cold Burger Cold Sausage and Cold Pizza type bread, but there is a microwave next to the food which I had to use, plus they lay out tonnes of plain crisps which everyone ate. So basically this was crap at its best!
ENTERTAINMENT ...... Oh yes, seeing all the older people having a good time was entertaining, for me this wasn't a holiday it was a quick getaway, we do 5 star Egypt holidays an 5 star turkey etc so if this is your main holiday you will be sorely disappointed.
KIDS ..... No way, no way would I put my children on a holiday here, sorry but they would be bored stiff, I like to get my kids off the tech and outdoors but here was NOTHING, just a pool table and fruit machines, sadly the pool was not open as time of year, but there was nothing else for kids, this is why I think a lot of kids play up there, I witnessed a couple of Asian kids throwing stuff down on the balcony where the table tennis is at an older man playing table tennis so I had a go at them. They are bored!

The staff are all friendly and this is predominately a hotel for people over 60. They loved it, but for us we just laughed at other peoples expense, as much as this sounds horrible I have to be honest with anyone going there who are our ages and younger, there are a few clubs and bars along the front, but then we did go out of season, so this will be different in summer but the hotel in general, CLEAN, FOOD OK, and sadly that's about it!
The tv in the room had just two English Channel, the news. the bathroom was clean but tatty and broken and dated, no facilities in the room, a punched door, a lot of noise from people arriving, the walls are extra thin and we saw a video of the hotel playing in the lobby and it looked beautiful, sadly its a big fat lie and nothing actually looked liked that, we had a laugh about it but if any of you were looking and saved up for a fantastic holiday its your gamble but you have been warned ! :-) If you are looking for a cheap base to sleep .... perfect, if you are old and don't want to venture out ....perfect. But would I come back here..... MAYBE depends on the circumstance, if for a few days getaway in the summer only YES, for any other reason NO

Room Tip: Take a walk to the beach, its lovely. The walk to town is very steep so take note when booking if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSalcedo, Commercial Dept. at Hotel Samba, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank your for your comments.

It's true that during low season the majority of our guests are pensioners, for that not many kids and the entertainment is different. From May this is different, it's more family friendly and the town itself is more lively.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Just returned from a Shearings coach holiday at this hotel. On arrival we were impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and our room. However most meal times there were not enough tables cleared for us to sit at and we soon found out that the hotel was fall to bursting with a lot of very noisy students screaming and running up and down the corridors to the early hours of the morning. We did complain to the hotel who said they would speak to the professors! We also complained to the Shearings rep. Although we would holiday with Shearings again we would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSalcedo, Commercial Dept. at Hotel Samba, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear guest,

We are sorry to hear your stay wasn't as good as you expected. Unfortunately there is very little we can do in this case but talk to the teachers, which we did. It's a shame some travelers don't know how to behave themselves.

Kind regareds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The food was rank n we went all inc we was very disappointed we spent most of r money at Burger King and mcd. So all we did was drink until the bar closed which was 11pm even more disappointing because the we went to the pub and spent more money.
There was hardly nothing to do most of the shop was closed because it winter. We got bored after 2 days and we wanted to come home
The people was very unhelpful they kept on avoiding us because we are English and only helped there own people.
The hotel was like an old peoples home n no entertainment actually there was but for the people who are Spanish
I have been to many different places in EU but these was the most dis appointing horrible terrible place I've ever been to. It actually makes me feel never to go back to Spain ever again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSalcedo, Commercial Dept. at Hotel Samba, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear guest,

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us.
First of all, as you said we do have entertainment every day and night and we invite everybody to join in, not only Spanish people. We have more national tourism in the winter, it's true, but we treat everybody the same way.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Armagh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed here for my hen 7th - 10th March 2014 as a group of 14 age range 26-55. We had a complete ball and I would go back in a heart beat to Lloret de Mar. Overall, the hotel was somewhere to put our heads down and if it was the right price again I'd go back.

Location: Fenals beach is closer and quiet - we lay on the beach recovering after a night out! Lloret de Mar beach is close by too but larger and busier; both beaches are pebble beaches as are most in the Costa Brava. Plenty of bars and restaurants but a lot closed this time of year, even in the resort centre - plenty of kebab shops though (not my thing). Also plenty of souvenir shops - some of men can be a bit intimating coming out of the shops after you shouting "cheap cheap" lol, and they do come down in price to match each other. Oh, and be prepared for walking - its hilly.

Rooms: We stayed on the fourth floor which wasn't as well decorated as the 2nd/3rd floors. Extremely basic rooms, beds like camp beds, with one power point - not idea when its 4 girls to a room but when one hen is super organised and brings an extension lead its grand :) Rooms cleaned every day and fresh towels left in bathroom. We did have slight commotion one night when my cousin found a bed bug in her bed and had a few bites and reception didnt want to know... glad I have the rule no suitcases on beds, would die off if we carried any back :-/

Food: mmm, the chips weren't even cooked on the first night so needless to say we ate out the remainder of the holiday. "Snack time" - a complete abomination with disgusting burgers, anaemic logs which are suppose to be frankfurters and pizza which isn't even baked properly - oh and the equivalent of tesco value range ready salted crisps - the most appetising thing on the menu. Also, they give you a sheet stating times for dinner/lunch/bar etc. and its suppose to be up to circa 1pm on day of departure - they don't honour this without an argument.

Staff: Some pleasant and others completely rude. We nick-named the nasty ones the gestapo to give you an idea. The younger staff were more pleasant but it may have been the fact that we were there on a hen that they weren't very inviting.

Entertainment: Something on every night - caters more for Spanish and French over 60s. We didn't mind and some of the girls got up dancing anyway. In fact and elderly french woman, Geraldino, joined in on the Hen and made our night - she even went home with a sash and head piece.

Price: We paid £175 for everything including flights from Belfast, mini bus, and hen do bits and bobs so overall can't complain. I would not be impressed with the food situation if I had paid any more.

In all you get what you pay for and given the price we paid I am happy with the hotel - you get what you pay for after all and we had a great time!

Room Tip: stay on the 2nd or third floor - rooms are a better spec.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSalcedo, Commercial Dept. at Hotel Samba, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

It's true that the 4th floor is not our best floor. We are refurbishing the hotel slowly and there are only 2 floors at the moment not refurbished.
We apologize that you did not like the food and that you didn't find some of our staff friendly. I'll forward your concern to the Management.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Samba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samba

Address: C/ Francesc Cambo 10, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 128 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Samba 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Samba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Samba Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain
Samba Hotel Lloret De Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Samba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.