We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & Cheerful but watch out for hidden costs!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of H TOP Royal Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added H TOP Royal Beach to your Saves list
H TOP Royal Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. America 15-23, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 128 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cheap & Cheerful but watch out for hidden costs!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Royal Beach from 6th - 11th July 2013 on an all inclusive break. Food was plentiful each meal time with salads, soup, breads, pasta, rice and hot dishes to choose from plus fruit, cakes, ice cream and other desserts. The hot dishes changed every day from paella and curry to roast pork and Chinese etc. there was always lots to fill your plate up with and it was replenished constantly throughout the serving. However some of the labelling was a little confusing with titles such as "Chicken in Sauce" and "fish in sauce" etc. no real explanation but to be fair, if you didnt like something you picked, you could always go up and help yourself to something else. The chap on the door was very polite and friendly and greeted everybody in their own language. The reception, restaurant, bar and entertainment staff all spoke English well enough to get by and were able to help with any queries we had without confusion. Our room was very clean if a bit dated and had fresh towels every day ( just make sure you leave them on the floor next to the bath or they won't get changed!) all rooms have air con and a balcony with different views depending where in the hotel you are. Ours was on the first floor overlooking the entrance to the hotel and the street which was great for a spot of people watching!! Rooms with a view of the pool come at an extra cost for the pleasure. At the time of booking you are unable to pick between a twin or a double but when you arrive you realise the only difference is whether the beds are pushed together or not!!
The hotel is literally a 2-3 minute walk from the beautiful and very popular Fennals beach which offers all sorts of activities plus a kids play area, lockers, toilets and cafe. Further up the beach towards the rocks is a lovely little bar that served a smashing jug of sangria. The beach does get very busy especially at the weekends but even then, it's nowhere near as crowded as Lloret beach in the main town which is a sea of club 18-30 groups.
The town itself is a 20 minute walk away and is full of bars, clubs, restaurants and shops plus a waterpark.
The only let down at the Royal Beach is the confusing "all inclusive" package. When you check in you are given two cards each. One is your A.I. card which is swiped each time you enter the restaurant or get a drink and the other is your drinks card for the two bars (the main one down stairs and the roof top terrace). You give this card in when you order your first drink and get it back at the end of the night or when you leave the bar. You have to return your glass/plastic beaker to the bar in order to get another drink or your card back. Lose your cards and your have to pay for another. NOT ALL DRINKS ARE FREE! The only drinks included is the local beer Estrella and some very cheap not to mention VERY weak spirits. Branded drinks Like Smirnoff or Bacardi have to be paid for unless your are a Gold customer. (During our stay I didn't meet one gold customer) you can upgrade to gold at a cost of 12€ per day. The bar is open from 10am til midnight. After that, the only drinking water you can get is from a machine in reception. My tip is to go up the road to one of the shops and buy a 5 litre bottle for 1.50€.
Other added extras include 28€ plus a 10€ deposit for a room safe, 5€ per day for wifi which only works in and around reception and 20€ deposit for a tv remote! Plus 10€ hotel tax (whatever that is) which we were slapped with a soon as we arrived! There are trips to Barcelona with are advertised as All Inclusive but aren't. You get a discount of about 6€ per person off each trip. Personally I expect all inclusive, to be just that! Everything you need and want included. Sadly this isn't the case at Royal Beach and im guessing its the same story at the other H Top sites.
Overall we had a great time and when you only pay £300 for everything you can't and shouldnt expect the 4 stars this hotel tells you it is. Expect cheap, cheerful, no frills 2-3 star and you can't go wrong.
I wouldn't put this place at the top of my "must visit again list" but if I ever want another last minute get away, I'll certainly consider it.

Room Tip: Our travel agent wanted an extra £200 for a room with a pool view. It really isn't worth it! All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    341
    339
    227
    220
See reviews for
350
406
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

the food is terrible, the cleaners are very rude,25 minutes walking from the center.
very small rooms,uncomftable bed.

the only thing that was good there is the bar&bartenders.

we are 23 and 22 years old girls.

defintely not 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Breakfast was abundant, staff was friendly and helpful and the beach is very close. However, hallways were filthy, the rooms were icky and worse than bare bones. Walls were paper thin. Billed as family friendly (and there were lots of families there) nevertheless, the H Top draws a party crowd. Several rooms in our hallway were occupied by a group of louts that shouted, sang, beat on walls and doors, slammed doors and carried on all night. After complaining at 1:30 AM to the management, they left only to return at 4:30 louder than before. Again, the management asked them to leave, which they did, only to return at 6 and to wretch loudly, clearly heard through the paper thin walls. Worst night of our life. However, we are grateful to the louts because we cleared out and moved to the Rigat for a civilized touch of old-fashioned gentility just a few yards away. Much more expensive, but after you've stayed at the H-Top, you'll pay ANYTHING to salvage your vacation. Note: if you like Indian food, you'll like Himilaya a block or two away.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is the worst we have ever stayed at.
Staff,Rude & very unhelpful.
Food, Not very nice & very little choice, same thing everyday.
Drinks not available 24hrs ( even water unless you buy it from a machine ).
It seemed to me that the drinks are watered down aswell.
Got accused of not paying 20 euros for the tele remote when leaving. After the reception guy called me a liar i said call the police please but he did'nt want to.
Anyway my advice to anyone thinking of going to this hotel is don't. It classes itself as a 4 star hotel but its more like 1 star.

However. this is a reasonably nice area & the beach is good. Lots of places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon tyne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I managed to get my mobile stolen from the restaurant on the night we arrived. We arrived 21.45 to reception, we were ushered into the restaurant for something to eat and drink as it was starting to close up. Upon leaving we were the only holiday makers left in there with the staff. We collected our luggage from reception went straight to our room where I realised I had left my phone on the table in the restaurant. I rushed straight down, got the staff to unlock the entrance but it was too late it was gone. There were only staff members in there when we left and no more than 13 mins later, mobile gone and no one owning up, my stupidity for leaving it and giving some one the opportunity I suppose. Head waiter was adamant that if I had left it on the table it would have been handed in by one of the staff, liars as well as thieves. As a 4 star hotel you go expecting a lot more than this place gives you. The staff are pleasant, the place is clean and tidy but it is in the Fenals part and not in Lloret itself. There are a few decent pubs i.e. El pub, Busby’s but all the places are virtually the same, big screen TV with sports on all day and passable music in the background. The hotel however, please take note if you are British as it caters predominantly for the Dutch, German, Polish and Spanish -aprox 70% of holidayermakers were made up of these. Entertainment for adults is virtually nonexistent, for example one night they had a Disney spectacular on starting at 21.30 then nothing else. The animation staff apart from two seemed to be going through the motions as opposed to enjoying what they were doing with the kids, I even witnessed one member of the animation staff getting a good telling off about her lateness, attitude and commitment from her leader and I thought, great someone who cares but you do not do this sort of thing in the restaurant sitting at a table with punters all around you. The all inclusive is poor, all drinks are served all day and night up to midnight in plastic beakers, beer, spirits and cocktails alike. You are constantly looking at the bar queue to see when to go up as the measures only seem to last minutes and the bar staff also put 3 large ice cubes in anything that is not beer so you get even less of them. Food is very samey, fish in sauce one day; fish in a different sauce the next and so on every day. There is no indication how the food is cooked or what in, as all the labels say is PORK, CHICKEN, FISH IN SAUCE, and as for the desserts they were the same every meal and again not labelled. This is definitely not a 4 star hotel, I think it is pushing it to say 3 star and that is only due to the so called all inclusivity.. I hope this helps.

Room Tip: Check out other H Top hotels in area as I believe they are better even if they are a star lower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed with my daughter & daughter in-law we all shared a room for a 5 day break. After reading other reviews we didn't expect to much. The only thing that lets this hotel down apart from it could do with a good refurbishment is the crazy drinks system. You would find it a struggle to get drunk here but..... Hey due to the clubs in the resort staying open till about 5am all the hen & stag parties come back blotto. These people are all nationalities and don't give a care in the world about the noise they make waking up families with young children and other guests. We found the worse time is between midnight & 5am, thank god I took earplugs (would def recommend them) but was still woken by the shouting & door slamming through the night. I read on some of the other reviews that the staff are rude & miserable, my guess is they to are fed up with these rude & disrespectful people too causing normal guests to make complaints. We had a room on the first floor facing the road. This is Spain after all cheap but not always so cheerful, last went to the mainland 22 years ago I was put off then & only went back this time for a 5 day break because it was cheap & flight times good but nothing has changed in all these years. If you just want a quick break with sun and a lovely beach go to the Bahamas, no seriously the beach here is lovely. Food is good and you can make up a decent meal each day, only let down here is the plates aren't always warmed so food can go cold quickly. The water park 10 minutes down the road is a must, the hotel runs free buses there & to Barcelona & other towns on the way. A short break here is ok but couldn't have done a week and thankfully went Sunday to Friday morning avoiding the weekend party goers. As the old saying goes you only get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Not sure if there is a good room in this hotel due to the noisy disrespectful drunk guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my friend, we were moved from the gran casino royal because it was so bad so i was worried what they would send us to, but i was pleasently suprised. This was a very nice hotel, the staff could do with learning how to smile a little and be a little more informative upon arrival. There is a lovely rooftop dip pool , jacuzzi and bar on floor 7 which we found out abot from other guests, though the main pool was very nice, shame all the sunbeds were laid in rows and right next to each other, it was like been in a tin of sardines, there was good entertainment on for the children and adults during the day and evening, it was a mixed hotel with couples and families. The food was very nice. i would defunatley go again. if you get a taxi outside the hotel it will take you to the main town and it is only 7 euros, there is a nice nightclub opposite the hotel which stays open til 5, but there was no noise coming from it, though the doorman said it can get very busy on a weekend. so much better than last hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H TOP Royal Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear guest.
we want say thanks for your comments on our hotel.
These comments encourage us to continue working with enthusiasm
we are pleased to have contributed to a happy holiday over in our city we wish that everything goes well to you and we hope you can visit us again soon.
Yours faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to H TOP Royal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H TOP Royal Beach

Address: Avda. America 15-23, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#36 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H TOP Royal Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your H TOP Royal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Royal Beach Hotel Lloret De Mar
Royal Beach Lloret De Mar
Royal Beach Hotel Lloret De Mar
H TOP Royal Beach Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H TOP Royal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.