We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall wonderful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Guitart Monterrey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Guitart Monterrey to your Saves list
Hotel Guitart Monterrey
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avinguda de la Vila de Tossa, 27, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 127 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Ayer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overall wonderful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Overall very good hotel.

We stayed for one night were immediately upgraded for free on check-in for free. The rooms were very clean and had all the amenities you needed (and a wonderful view of the city and sea). Great shuttle service to their private beach club (with full food and bar service on the beach)! Had a great time at the casino located in the property as well.

I rated this one star less as some of the customer service was lacking for a '5 star'. For example we ordered breakfast in the room and our tea was forgotten, when we called down to reception they said they could bring it up but they would have to charge us another 10 euro service charge, needless to say, that wasn't the answer we were expecting (especially since we paid over 50 euros on breakfast for 2). Another example was when we asked for a taxi when we were leaving, the guy at reception seemed completely confused and just started shaking his head yes. So, after a few minutes we asked the other person at reception (who looked like the manager) and then he actually called a cab for us.

Other than a few of these service related things, the hotel was very comfortable, quiet, and clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile


Writing a review must be a very responsible and serious act. It sometimes infects the future for very many hard good hotel employees and ruins years of the building an hotel reputation. This happens by irresponsible guests complaining about meaningless items like lack of toilet paper or a cold egg found in their salad..
Bad thing happens everywhere and to all of us. Even best employee could find himself in bad mood one day.
This is my fourth visit in Guitart Monterrey hotel and I am doing maybe an unorthodox act by writing a second review for the hotel, just because, among very many 5 star hotels I have been staying, this is, without any doubt, one of the best!
Just to prove a point, I am in Spain right now. I had to spend a week in Lloret, Costa Brava, and second week in Tarragona, Costa Dorada, 150km away. The original plan was to move in to a local best hotel there. Eventually, I found myself driving 300 kilometers and 6 hours on the roads almost every day just to be back with the company of these warm people, the best service, best food, best surroundings so on and on and on....
Just for the sake of reliability I couldn't find one negative remark on their behalf...
So next time you write a review think twice on every remark.
Most of all, you must shaw some compression.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank yossireich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel was included in our Grand Prix weekend. We had a junior suite which had been painted by an apparently well known Spanish artist! Luckily for us Spanish TV wanted to do a feature on it so we were upgraded to the top floor in the TOM JONES suite. Now you may think that is not unusual, but it was excellent, and we certainly were not pining for the green green grass of home!
The top restaurant was excellent, but you need to book in advance, and don't rely on the front desk to do that for you, he didn't and we were very lucky to get in. There is a really nice spa and a large outdoor pool - just don't bother with the town unless you like Blackpool in Espana.

Room Tip: Go for a junior suite at least
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PBW32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The four of us went to the Spanish Grand Prix and stayed at this Hotel. Two big coach loads of people arrived at the same time 11.30am. And most of them seemed to think they will all get a room immediately. If they had done some research as I did, it said rooms are not available till after 3pm.I can only presume that's for other guest's to leave and the rooms to be cleaned. So why wait for hours queuing to get in a room.It's not like they are going to run out of rooms. They knew we were coming.
So off to the Bar we went to relax on the balcony over looking the beautiful gardens. After around 3 hours we sent our boys off to see if the queue had gone down. Four guest's left. So we sauntered to reception and booked in. Simple. Had a fabulous Weekend all round.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the gran prix 2014 ,we had an average room ,someone's hairs all over the bathroom floor,fag ash on the balcony with fag packet,that was lovely especially as we are both none smokers.the bar menu was dreadfull and had about five things too choose from,one night my husband asked for a burger and they said they were too busy,so we went to bed without any food.they did have a restaurant but you needed a bank Loan to eat in it.you would have thought being as they knew that they had 4coaches of people coming back and forth from Barcelona to the hotel they would have put on a buffet or special menu to feed people,and extra staff to cope with us all ,the whole experience was very disorganised,on a plus Hamilton won and the weather was great.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rosiebooSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife and I have just spent a long weekend here for the Spanish Gran Prix. We thought we would treat ourselves to 5 star luxury for the short break.
Problems started at check in with the staff not able to process just the 6 couples who arrived at the same time.
Our room was meant to have a garden view, well we looked over the flat roof of the restaurant with a few trees just visible in the background.
The small room (number 234) was best described as tired. Wall paper badly repaired, shabby skirting boards, grubby walls. The air con did not work.
It may not have been a 5 star hotel but they knew how to charge 5 star prices. We had a drink each and shared a cheese sandwich and the bill was 32 euros ( about £30)
The pool was freezing with no heating.
On two of the afternoons when by the pool we found the poolside bar was not open, probably a good thing as I am not sure if my credit card would have got over the shock of the prices.
Everywhere around the Hotel, on the steps into the garden, the doors, the paving stones almost everything wanted work. You could tell that a number of years ago it must have been nice but its badly neglected and is not worth going to.
The breakfast buffet was good with lots to choose from

Room Tip: Not possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racer182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here for the Spanish G Prix, hotel was clean, the public areas were OK but the facilities and accommodation were NOT 5 star. Our first breakfast was a little manic as the hotel staff could not cope with an influx of a large number of guests at one time.

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lloret de Mar hotels
0.7 mi away
Guitart Central Park Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
#16 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosamar & Spa
Rosamar & Spa
#18 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marsol
Hotel Marsol
#36 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#52 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sant Pere del Bosc Hotel & Spa
Sant Pere del Bosc Hotel & Spa
#3 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guitart Monterrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guitart Monterrey

Address: Avinguda de la Vila de Tossa, 27, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Guitart Monterrey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guitart Monterrey is one of the best luxury hotel on the Costa Brava which offer you a wide range of high quality services. Inside you will enjoy the gorgeous tropical environment but also have the privilege to taste the FREU Restaurant (one of the best Spanish restaurants) as well as a free entrance to the Gran Casino Costa Brava. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Guitart Monterrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guitart Gran Lloret De Mar
Hotel Guitart Monterrey Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing