We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Prix Weekend half board” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Guitart Monterrey

Save Saved
You added Hotel Guitart Monterrey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Guitart Monterrey
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avinguda de la Vila de Tossa, 27, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 128 hotels in Lloret de Mar
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Grand Prix Weekend half board”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I would not call this a 5 Star Hotel compared to other places I've stayed. It is a good 4 Star.
The staff are what makes a hotel good and the service and attention from all the staff here was excellent. The only area where the staff were lacking was the dining area - English speaking waiters were sparse, considering that most of the occupants staying for the Spanish Grand Prix were English speaking - the hotel could have prioritised their staff and menus to accommodate.

The Breakfast selection was excellent, plenty of choice and variety.
The dinner menus were fine dining and offered a select choice of options for starter, main and dessert. Excellently prepared and presented food. Vast array of choice if you opt for the buffet starter.

The rooms are not special or different compared to top notch 5 Star hotels but comfortable non the less. I thought they would have Flat Screen TV's at least - but no. The place is a bit dated in my opinion. For the money I would have hoped for complementary Tea and Coffee or even water. There was a fridge with stocked mini bar but again pricey. Also when checking out they had charged me for a bottle of water I had not had, this was cancelled. The biggest issue I had was car parking. When we arrived there did not appear to be a car park - so I parked at the front and was told at check-in that they charge 18 Euros per day for parking. Not so pleased or welcoming from a guest paying top dollar, however the concierge did reduce the bill by one day when we checked out.
I wanted to iron my shirt, called reception to ask for an iron - was told they did not have one and that the laundry was closed (Sunday). I thought 5 star hotels were 24/7 everyday !

There is an outdoor pool and seating area with excellent gardens - all well kept and neat. However there was no gym or indoor pool or sauna/steam room for guests use unless (yes you guested it) you paid for it at 12 Euros per visit. There is a spa with various offerings and treatments, we just didn't have the time to try it and we were not going to pay extra to use the facility most other hotels offer for Free to their guests.

Its a short walk from the hotel to the beach and Lloret De Mar is a nice place to chill. As we had the car it was great to get out and explore. We drove from Barcelona Airport along the coast avoiding the Toll Charge Motorway network. A brilliant drive, great views and not much traffic, really easy and my European mapped tomtom was faultless.

Over all a good hotel, Not sure if id go back - probably not - I have since seen that Barcelona has a W hotel down the road from La Ramlas - so would rather go there.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuitartHotels01, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Guitart Monterrey, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
It's a pleasure to receive your review. We are glad that your stay have been so positive and we hope to see you again very soon.
Best regards,
Guitart Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    86
    35
    18
    10
See reviews for
107
137
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Arrived late on Friday for last weekend at the Grand Prix at Catalunya. Despite asking for a twin room we were allocated a double. Back to the desk we were allocated another. On checking, while it was now a massive room, it still had one (super king) bed. Once again to the desk and we were given the right room. I speak Spanish which obviously made a difference but the receptionist, Bernard, was most apologetic because the hotel was full as it was race weekend. He was so charming like the rest of the staff. I couldn't fault the service after this initial issue. Supremely comfortable beds. We were even given a cava breakfast on our last day.

Room Tip: We were in room 429 which had a huge terrace overlooking the gardens and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We knew not to expect a 5 star Hotel going by other reviews and in certain areas this was true. Our room was really big and comfortable but the walk in shower leaked out of the door making it quite dangerous when stepping out. There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room which was a surprise. Our two main disappointments were that the signature Freu restaurant was closed on a Sunday (the only free night we had) and the Spa closed on Mondays until June (the only free day we had!). Despite these little set backs the staff were extremely helpful and lovely to talk to. Speaking Spanish my husband loved the fact the Bar staff spoke to him in their language rather than English, great practice. Miguel, our Barman for the 3 nights was fantastic as was his co-worker (I can't remember her name unfortunately). The staff really made the place and are a credit to the Hotel. The surrounding Gardens were lovely and the Casino, albeit quiet, was great fun (with delicious food). If we ever go back to Lloret de Mar we will definitely stay there again, Thank you Miguel for your friendship...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Posted on behalf of Mum and Dad, early fifties - independent travellers Aug 12

At Barcelona airport, look for a train sign with legs, and then head up the escalator and over a walk way to catch a train. At the station, you can buy a ticket for 5 Euros per person to BLANES. At the fourth stop, BARNA SANTS, you change trains and catch the regional train to BLANES, which mostly follows the coastline. The journey takes approximately 1.5 hours. You can then take the bus from Blanes to Lloret for 2 Euros each at the bus stop, which is directly outside the train station or take a taxi at a cost of 17 Euros to Guitart Monterrey hotel. You can take a bus for 12 Euros, if you prefer, from the airport but this will still take 1.5 hours but with less frequent options. If you arrive at the Lloret bus stop, the Guitart Hotel Monterey is another 400 yards further on following the main road. At the bus stop, there is an information centre if you need a map (note there are 4 Guitart hotels in Lloret). It’s worth exploring the area around the bus stop as it is the main entertainment strip area with lots of pubs, clubs and burger bars.
The Guitart hotel has a nice dining area and pool with waitress service and comfortable rooms with excellent air conditioning. Although it is a 5 star, expect to pay 15 Euros each to visit the sauna or Jacuzzi, although there is parking and free Wifi available. The food and service can be brilliant or not depending on your choices and time of meal arrival.
It’s about ten minutes walk to the beach and Lloret has plenty of facilities and entertainment.
The hotel is overall good and quite comfortable for a few days, which is probably how long most customers stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The pro's of this hotel is that it is the best in town , there is a lot of space and its clean . The cons are that the staff are uneven and it appears to badly managed . The check in and out were odd and we felt we were disturbing the young girl with a sour face from something more important , she must be a "close personal friend" of the manger or someone in H/R , it's my only hope for her being there . There are many area that could be instantly improved , but its appears very slack management , staff training is a must . The hotel could be a very good establishment but it seems to be stuck in a rut of sleepwalking staff with absent management . The landscaping near the pool of the roof of the casino is a mess with lots of metal sticking out accompanied by soggy grass . If your going to be creative and landscape a roof why do it badly and stop half way through ? If your going to have nice gardens at all , the pool is a key area .The staff by the pool are nice & cheerful but never circuit the pool to inquire if you want something , a real money spinner at most hotels . the playing of rap music at a family pool bar is an odd choice too , being English we could understand the words .
My best piece of advice on this hotel is if you must go to this area and you have a young family then go, but have a good look around at other areas . Tossa Del Mar up the road is much better . Lloret De Mar has a great bar scene , lots of young people , lots of Russians .

Room Tip: If you want a sea view go high 5, 6 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I'm going to be breif, pool-good, bar-good (but expensive obviously), spa-not great, great location, probably the best feature is that its in the busy area with easy access to bars restaurants and clubs but out of the way so without the noise, porters-fantastic, staff friendly and helpful, managers rude and stuck up (on the whole, not all), room facilities-there are none, bed, wardrobe, bath shower and sink, you get these in most 2 star hotels, apart from the air conditioning. I think if you are used to five star hotels this is a miss unless you are going to want to be sorely disappointed. I was. Finally i would like to end by saying that it did not spoil my honeymoon but the dinner on the set menu is basically the same every night which became boring on the second night never mind five. So i would opt ouit of that and eat out as it is cheap as hell and fantastic elsewhere.

Sorry one more final point is that if you head to the entrance of the hotel cross the road by the tobacconist and turn right and head down the street for a few hundred yards there is a bar there with great staff, great pints and fantastic food on offer 24 hours a day. Loved that best.

Thanks for your patience my very long short review.

Room Tip: Top floor and not near elevators but that is kind of common knowledge right???
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painswick
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just come back from Lloret de Mar. We stayed at this hotel as it was the best in the area.

Food for half board was really good and the choice was fantastic. The pool area was great and very family friendly with lovely staff. The room was clean but didn't look like any of the photos I have seen.....ie there are clearly very different grades of room.

My issues about this 5 star were as follows:

1.No Gym. Surely a 5 star hotel should have some type of Gym facility these days.

2.Internet access. Most people like use the Internet these days but can't properly in this hotel. I could sometimes get a wi fi signal for up to a minute at a time but no more. If you wanted to get online then you could choose to sit in reception on a sofa where you can get a signal....but not always a seat!!

3.A beer or soft drink in a shop on the street is around 80c. The same in the hotel bar is 4 Euros. Now I know that there is a premium for using the hotel pool bar but such a large mark up is not good in my opinion.

4.The half board deal was great but remember the drinks are not included so be careful.

5. The TV in the room was very old and poor quality with a distinct lack of channels or services.

6.Lloret is not a peaceful town and this hotel is on a very busy road so laying by the pool is a noisy experience.

Hope this helps anyone looking to stay in this 5 star hotel.

Some of my issues are very fixable so I hope the hotel management read this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Guitart Monterrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guitart Monterrey

Also Known As:
Guitart Gran Lloret De Mar
Hotel Guitart Monterrey Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain
Address: Avinguda de la Vila de Tossa, 27, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#6 Family Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Guitart Monterrey 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guitart Monterrey's transformation in a five-star establishment is the key element that guarantees a comprehensive project of the highest quality, quite unheard of in Lloret.It consists also of a Wellness and Spa of daydream where he will be able to enjoy the only sensations in a privileged environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Guitart Monterrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Guitart Monterrey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.