We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The people make the difference...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Guitart Monterrey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Guitart Monterrey to your Saves list
Hotel Guitart Monterrey
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avinguda de la Vila de Tossa, 27, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 128 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Sunshine Coast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The people make the difference...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We knew not to expect a 5 star Hotel going by other reviews and in certain areas this was true. Our room was really big and comfortable but the walk in shower leaked out of the door making it quite dangerous when stepping out. There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room which was a surprise. Our two main disappointments were that the signature Freu restaurant was closed on a Sunday (the only free night we had) and the Spa closed on Mondays until June (the only free day we had!). Despite these little set backs the staff were extremely helpful and lovely to talk to. Speaking Spanish my husband loved the fact the Bar staff spoke to him in their language rather than English, great practice. Miguel, our Barman for the 3 nights was fantastic as was his co-worker (I can't remember her name unfortunately). The staff really made the place and are a credit to the Hotel. The surrounding Gardens were lovely and the Casino, albeit quiet, was great fun (with delicious food). If we ever go back to Lloret de Mar we will definitely stay there again, Thank you Miguel for your friendship...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    113
    53
    23
    14
See reviews for
135
179
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Posted on behalf of Mum and Dad, early fifties - independent travellers Aug 12

At Barcelona airport, look for a train sign with legs, and then head up the escalator and over a walk way to catch a train. At the station, you can buy a ticket for 5 Euros per person to BLANES. At the fourth stop, BARNA SANTS, you change trains and catch the regional train to BLANES, which mostly follows the coastline. The journey takes approximately 1.5 hours. You can then take the bus from Blanes to Lloret for 2 Euros each at the bus stop, which is directly outside the train station or take a taxi at a cost of 17 Euros to Guitart Monterrey hotel. You can take a bus for 12 Euros, if you prefer, from the airport but this will still take 1.5 hours but with less frequent options. If you arrive at the Lloret bus stop, the Guitart Hotel Monterey is another 400 yards further on following the main road. At the bus stop, there is an information centre if you need a map (note there are 4 Guitart hotels in Lloret). It’s worth exploring the area around the bus stop as it is the main entertainment strip area with lots of pubs, clubs and burger bars.
The Guitart hotel has a nice dining area and pool with waitress service and comfortable rooms with excellent air conditioning. Although it is a 5 star, expect to pay 15 Euros each to visit the sauna or Jacuzzi, although there is parking and free Wifi available. The food and service can be brilliant or not depending on your choices and time of meal arrival.
It’s about ten minutes walk to the beach and Lloret has plenty of facilities and entertainment.
The hotel is overall good and quite comfortable for a few days, which is probably how long most customers stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The pro's of this hotel is that it is the best in town , there is a lot of space and its clean . The cons are that the staff are uneven and it appears to badly managed . The check in and out were odd and we felt we were disturbing the young girl with a sour face from something more important , she must be a "close personal friend" of the manger or someone in H/R , it's my only hope for her being there . There are many area that could be instantly improved , but its appears very slack management , staff training is a must . The hotel could be a very good establishment but it seems to be stuck in a rut of sleepwalking staff with absent management . The landscaping near the pool of the roof of the casino is a mess with lots of metal sticking out accompanied by soggy grass . If your going to be creative and landscape a roof why do it badly and stop half way through ? If your going to have nice gardens at all , the pool is a key area .The staff by the pool are nice & cheerful but never circuit the pool to inquire if you want something , a real money spinner at most hotels . the playing of rap music at a family pool bar is an odd choice too , being English we could understand the words .
My best piece of advice on this hotel is if you must go to this area and you have a young family then go, but have a good look around at other areas . Tossa Del Mar up the road is much better . Lloret De Mar has a great bar scene , lots of young people , lots of Russians .

Room Tip: If you want a sea view go high 5, 6 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I'm going to be breif, pool-good, bar-good (but expensive obviously), spa-not great, great location, probably the best feature is that its in the busy area with easy access to bars restaurants and clubs but out of the way so without the noise, porters-fantastic, staff friendly and helpful, managers rude and stuck up (on the whole, not all), room facilities-there are none, bed, wardrobe, bath shower and sink, you get these in most 2 star hotels, apart from the air conditioning. I think if you are used to five star hotels this is a miss unless you are going to want to be sorely disappointed. I was. Finally i would like to end by saying that it did not spoil my honeymoon but the dinner on the set menu is basically the same every night which became boring on the second night never mind five. So i would opt ouit of that and eat out as it is cheap as hell and fantastic elsewhere.

Sorry one more final point is that if you head to the entrance of the hotel cross the road by the tobacconist and turn right and head down the street for a few hundred yards there is a bar there with great staff, great pints and fantastic food on offer 24 hours a day. Loved that best.

Thanks for your patience my very long short review.

Room Tip: Top floor and not near elevators but that is kind of common knowledge right???
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painswick
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just come back from Lloret de Mar. We stayed at this hotel as it was the best in the area.

Food for half board was really good and the choice was fantastic. The pool area was great and very family friendly with lovely staff. The room was clean but didn't look like any of the photos I have seen.....ie there are clearly very different grades of room.

My issues about this 5 star were as follows:

1.No Gym. Surely a 5 star hotel should have some type of Gym facility these days.

2.Internet access. Most people like use the Internet these days but can't properly in this hotel. I could sometimes get a wi fi signal for up to a minute at a time but no more. If you wanted to get online then you could choose to sit in reception on a sofa where you can get a signal....but not always a seat!!

3.A beer or soft drink in a shop on the street is around 80c. The same in the hotel bar is 4 Euros. Now I know that there is a premium for using the hotel pool bar but such a large mark up is not good in my opinion.

4.The half board deal was great but remember the drinks are not included so be careful.

5. The TV in the room was very old and poor quality with a distinct lack of channels or services.

6.Lloret is not a peaceful town and this hotel is on a very busy road so laying by the pool is a noisy experience.

Hope this helps anyone looking to stay in this 5 star hotel.

Some of my issues are very fixable so I hope the hotel management read this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed for one week in July. Chose this hotel because we wanted hotel away from the noise of the centre, but still within walking distance. We booked into superior room (but superior it wasn't - fairly basic for 5-Star). Room was clean but decor looked like it needed freshen up. TV looked antiquated (bulky not flat screen). Mini bar leaked water on floor. Bathroom OK but pretty basic. At time of booking requested high floor with sea view, ended up with room on 2nd floor with minute view of sea. We asked if we could get higher room but told hotel was fully booked - I'm sure they could have made effort to find us better room. The only thing that made our room better than an average 4 Star hotel room was that towelling dressing gown and slippers provided. On the plus side - the restaurant was excellent, waiting staff very attentive and food very good. Poolside there was no problem in getting sunbed and complementary towels were provided. Another problem seemed to be getting a pre-dinner drink in the bar - it wasn't staffed so you couldn't get one. Within the last year we have stayed in 5-Star restaurants in Rome and Barcelona - and the rooms were more superior than the Guitart Monterrey.

Room Tip: Don't book a superior room if you expect 5 Star luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

First of all this is the best hotel in Lloret de Mar. 90% of the staff are fantastic and the other 10% are good. The service trailed off a bit towards the end as the staff seemed to constantly change. The food is fantastic and of a very high standard. I had some suggestions for the management, unfortunately there was no opportunity to put these forward so I'll put them here

1) My first suggestion is to implement a system whereby Guests can raise the sort of queries that are about to follow in the hotel rather than airing them on Tripadvisor which may give a lower impression of what is, all in all a great hotel

2) How can a hotel have 5 stars but no gym? Similarly if said hotel lacks a gym why is it that the staff seem either unaware or unwilling to inform a gust who queries the existence of the gym that there is one within 20 yards of the hotel entrance? Luckily I found this myself, it is not great but did the job at 8/10/33 Euros per hour, day or week

3) If it pours with rain on a Sunday surely it would make sense to allow the guests to eat their lunch in the enclosed Dining Room rather than making them dine in the open air poolside restaurant? Would it not be easier to bring the food up a single flight of steps than make the guests sit with a towel around them?

4) Again, the rain, most people I know do not take umbrellas on holiday with them to Spain. With this in mind perhaps the hotel could invest in some branded umbrellas as it is a good 10 minute walk to the nearest shop that sells them, by which point we would have been wet through. Branded umbrellas would also raise the profile of the hotel as the guests would walk around the town with them and they would be inexpensive

5) Most people who stay in 5 star hotels are able to do so because they have business interests in their country of origin. From time to time it becomes necessary to undertake certain tasks relating to said business interests that cannot be undertaken on a 6 inch display on a mobile phone using a weak and unstable Wi-Fi connection. When I had an urgent matter to attend to I was told by the Receptionist (who was otherwise fantastic throughout our stay) that there were no computers available for the Clients - despite being sat within a metre of 3 seemingly functional computers.

6) I enquired as to the availability of an Iron/Ironing board. I was told they do not have one, although they do provide a Laundry Service with a 24 hour turnaround - my clothes did not need laundering, they needed ironing - I could not believe they did not have one

7) Do not take your Spanish Guests on guided tours of the hotel on arrival unless you have extended the same courtesy to all of your guests as this creates the illusion that there is a 2 tier system in place for Guests - far be it from me to make such an allegation although this is certainly the feeling we got during portions of our stay

8) Do not group your guests in rooms on the basis of demographics such as age, country of origin and perceived time of arriving back at the hotel after a night out - we were on a floor that was all but abandoned with the exception of 2 young Welsh Lads next door, we had no noise or trouble from them as they got in when we woke up and went out when we got in although I can imagine it could have been a lot different, it was obvious why we were allocated that room and I found it slightly offensive

All in all this is a good hotel. Lloret De Mar is a resort with quite a lot to offer and has improved significantly in the 10 years since I was last there. You will be aware that UK tourists do not visit the Costa Brava anymore - Indeed none of the Main UK Travel Agencies offer holidays there these days and as such do not expect to meet anyone else from the UK during your stay - this could however be one reason the resort has improved!!!

The main street has been cleaned up and the little streets in the Old Town are a lot more vibrant and less shabby than they were. The town also no longer has that slightly threatening vibe that it used to have and the beach is great. The hotel is on a busy road but you really cannot hear it, we were on the 3rd Floor and other than the night Spain won the European Championships (fireworks, thunder and lightning etc) we had absolutely no trouble sleeping at all. We will definitely be back to the Guitart Monterrey next time we visit Lloret, It will be interesting to see if the Management implement any of the suggestions above as they are all inexpensive and easy to implement and, I feel, reasonable requests for a hotel that is one of if not the best in Catalonia.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the hotel look like they have bigger balconies, anything overlooking the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Guitart Monterrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guitart Monterrey

Address: Avinguda de la Vila de Tossa, 27, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#16 Family Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Guitart Monterrey 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guitart Monterrey is one of the best luxury hotel on the Costa Brava which offer you a wide range of high quality services. Inside you will enjoy the gorgeous tropical environment but also have the privilege to taste the FREU Restaurant (one of the best Spanish restaurant) more a free entrance with to the Gran Casino Costa Brava. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Guitart Monterrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guitart Gran Lloret De Mar
Hotel Guitart Monterrey Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Guitart Monterrey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.