We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No sleep and cold food but good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moremar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Moremar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Moremar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig Acacies, 2, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 129 hotels in Lloret de Mar
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No sleep and cold food but good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Room very clean but basic travel lodge feel. Maybe we were just unlucky being given room A116 but we didnt get hardly any sleep and this, to me is the most important thing about a holiday because I was left exhausted and cranky and completely unrelaxed. Room was near the echoing stairs and lift and doors slammed constantly throughout night. People ran along the hard floor corridors all night knocking on/slamming doors and shouting. Walls are paper thin so if neighbours are watching TV then so are you. Could hear people talking, coughing, sounds like dragging furniture around and was woken up early mornings by other peoples alarms.

Tiny balcony facing high tiled wall, could hardly even see the sky from there. Bitten loads by mosquitos which couldn't understand how they were getting in until came back one afternoon to find cleaner had left balcony door open.

Food was cold (even going into restaurant as soon as it opened) and being vegetarian I couldn't find much to eat - salty soup and bread roll if lucky and cold fries. Vegetables only came out at breakfast. Nothing was labelled so unsure whether I could eat it. First night we were only offered a drink by the time we were on dessert and hardly any other people in there. So on the other evenings we bought drink at snack bar first and took it into restaurant with us. Ate out a couple of nights. Breakfast had good selection but again cold so had to leave it most days which was such a waste. Maybe if I had had some sleep I wouldn't have been so annoyed by this. Or that I couldn't get a cup of tea some mornings because either no teabags or cups left and no hot water on one morning.

Staff were friendly and helpful. No activities going on whatsoever and only saw 2 people in the pool all week.

Best part was the location which was right by the beach so could pop back easily throughout the day to freshen up.

Best to get private transfer as we were last to be dropped off the coach so missed dinner on the first night. And on the way back we were driven around for 1 hr 50 mins picking other people up before getting to the airport (Girona).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    54
    37
    17
    8
See reviews for
37
56
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We chose this hotel because it had the highest rating on Trip Advisor at the time. When we got there, we quickly realised that this was not a top hotel at all, just a basic one. Here we go :-
Location - very good, quiet area, close to beach, plenty of bars and restaurants in easy walking. Rooms - small and basic. No extras in them just the bare basics. Walls paper thin - you can hear people getting out of bed!Good air-conditioning though. Pool area - very small pool - about 15ft long. plenty of tables but only about a dozen sun loungers. OK though as most go to beach. Bar - small but very reasonably priced. Bar staff don't rush to serve you but they are pleasant. Breakfast - awful. Coffee machine sends out warm water when working. Juice machine broken on one side. No fruit offerings other than some pineapple and bruised apples and get this, a tray of hot broccolli as part of the cooked breakfast. I have never seen that anywhere before. I think they must have cooked too much the night before. We didn't go back after the first day other than for a coffee on the last day as we waited for our taxi.
I would suggest that you take a copy of your credit card payment as well. We paid in advance and the receptionist tried to get $300 extra out of us. This would have been very difficult to get out of not paying this extra amount if I did not have the receipt to hand. He quickly changed his tune when he saw that and said they had made a mistake.
In suummary, if you go there, expect a basic value for money hotel and you wont be disappointed. If you go there expecting to be in the 5th highest rated in the resort, then you will be disappointed

Room Tip: Try to get one with a balcony facing the street. You get a very nice last hour of sunshine on the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay here. Very clean, receptionist extremley helpful. Lots of choice of food both for breakfast and dinner. pool area lovely although a little small. Activities laided on everyday, with a choice of salsa and darts. Bar prices very reasonable. Would definately return. Only negative is that the dinning staff did not explain the dinner procedure so just had to watch and follow other guests. Beach very close and clean

Room Tip: if 3 adults traveling ask for a 3 bedded room bit cosy with our double and 1 single bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckley,Flintshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed 3 nights with my fiance.Basic but very clean,great for the beach.Room was small but modern and clean,small balcony overlooked the street but wasn,t noisey at night.Only two things let this hotel down,firstly the food.Little choice and luke warm at best,we had 1 breakfast and 1 evening meal,ate out the rest of the time.Secondly the staff give the least priority to the British and most struggled with the english language,the exception to this was the daytime barman who was very friendly and helpfull although he too struggled with English.Pool was clean and most of the time was quiet as most people used the beach which was only 2 mins walk and very clean with lots of cafes and bars close by.In summary,i would use this hotel again but only on a room only basis.Beware we booked transfer through On The Beach,took 3 hours 20 minutes from Barcelona

Room Tip: Room 301 had a sea view (in the distance)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just got back from a 5 day holiday with my friend at Moremar.
When we got there, we opened our room to reveal a TINY room!! - Around the size of a double bed & a half - NOT what we were expecting at all, as when we booked the pictures showed big spacious rooms.

We asked to be changed rooms as it was not what was advertised & got told there were no more rooms, but that people were leaving tomorrow at 11am, & were advised to come back then to exchange rooms for a bigger one. We came back from the beach at 11am, only to be told that there were no rooms again, WHAT?! The receptionist told us to come back at 11am again the following day - we refused & couldn't be bothered to argue our case anymore cos it was cutting into our days.
We didn't even get 2 single beds as requested.

On a plus point, the hotel was very clean & the breakfast was varied with hot food, continental food, cereals & fruit.

It had the best aircon - which is uncommon from other hotels i've stayed in.

The bathroom was very modern too :)

The beach is literally round the corner so is in a really good location.
If you want to go to the clubs though, it is all the way on the other side of the beach strip, which was quite a walk.

The receptionists were polite, but we tended to get ignored slightly. I think this was due to the fact that we're British.
We went downstairs to reception to check out on our last day (our transfer was due to come in 10 mins) - & the receptionist just started talking loads to a Spanish family and ignored us for around 3-4 mins despite the fact that we had our suitcases with us & were clearly in a rush.

The manager was very nice, & gave us a safe key for free when we couldn't get it open.
Perhaps the staff should be focusing their enthusiasm to British guests aswell.

Overall, it's a nice basic hotel, but we did get stuck in what must have been the hotels smallest rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotelproved good value for money, with a very reasonable rate, clean rooms and friendly/helpful staff.
We stayed for 5 nights.
The breakfast is basic but adequate and considering the rate, probably good value.
The bar staff were very pleasant, with a beer and white wine for 4 euros.
The hotel was in a really good location, close to the beach, but it was quiet at night and possible to get a good nights sleep.
We didn't try the dinner so can't comment there.
Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eccleston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Went half board with two other people.
Hotel in a good location, close to beach in a quiet area - which is not a bad thing.
Rooms clean. Food basic would not like to rely on hotel food alone, would recommend to eat out.
Staff polite and reception staff very helpful for which I am thankful, beware the restaurant manageress, I think she is on a power trip.
LLoret itself was one of the cleanest resorts I have been to. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms do not have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Moremar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moremar

Address: Passeig Acacies, 2, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lloret de Mar
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moremar 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Moremar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Moremar Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moremar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.