We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for - Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esmeralda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Esmeralda Hotel to your Saves list
Esmeralda Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Grau, 21 | Aptdo Correos 122, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Lloret de Mar B&B and Inns
Glasgow
1 review
“You get what you pay for - Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Me my sister n our parents went for 7 nights all inclusive in august as a last minute booking for my sisters 18th birthday, so we kinda new what to expect & from the reviews we were a bit warey of how it would actually be. Well to be honest, if your lookin for a cheap & basic hotel in the centre of nightlife & near the beach this would be the one. But anyone who enjoys a great sleep at night they better avoid this hotel. But we slept fine. Food was decent, actually better than i expected readin from reviews. we loved a few pubs 5 10 min walk from hotel called rockfellas and queenvic great music. The beach is literally a 2 min walk. The rooms were basic, Our view from the balcony faced out onto the street was a nice view at night when it lit up. On our last day we heard drilling, came back during the day and they had put in new flat screen tvs on the wall lol. and was english channels u would be glad to know. Room cleaned everyday. As it says in other reviews people got things stolen we never had a single thing stolen from our room.

The only few things we disliked about the hotel was the shower wasn't too great didn't feel like u got a good wash but there was a bath if u prefered a bath. the walls are really thin. the bar man who was an ignorant B******* lol! and the gerrrrrmans!

Will definetly go back to lloret de mar but get a hotel on the beach front. Maybe consider going back to hotel self catering as there is plenty of places to eat out.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    12
    11
    24
See reviews for
12
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

would never go there again it was noisy ,the staff were not friendly the shower was not as big as a cuboard you cant even turn around in it . the food was the same every day , no entertainment for kids the pool area is shabby and if you like to drink your drinks out of a vending cup well go for it .
I wouldnt recomend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Just got back on the 27th august from this Hotel. Most people were jealous we were going home. I think that says a lot. The noise in the Hotel is HORRIFIC, baulshy germans 18 to 30 hoildays. If you have young children (0 to 16) dont go, there is nothing for them to do. This is NOT a family hotel.
All inclusive they were having a laugh, you had to waiat to be served whilst the waiter cleaned tables or swept floors first, the drinks(juices) were warm, and the food well that was the only thing that was always cold, chips, pasta. My advice to anyone looking to book this hotel is dont you will live to regret it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Food the same nearly every day, Food was only luke warm, We went all inclusive the day you are leaving you are not entitled to food or drink, so if you are not leaving until the evening you will have to pay for any food or drink you want that day. Have televisions in the rooms but have to pay 30 euros for a remote control & it only has spanish channels. While we were there a few people came down with stomach upsets. Nearly all the guests end up eating out after a couple of days at being at this hotel.

The Bar area is like a canteen area & the bar staff are extermley slow & many of the drinks, they run out of & you can wait days for them to be available again, Soft drinks are nearly always served flat.

The pool area is not a nice area to sun bath & they have very limited sun loungers available. The pool is small. The toilets off the pool area are not very well maintained & are in need of a refurbishment. Plus Hotel is situated between a few nightclubs, so it nearly always noisy

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasteslikefame
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

WE HAD EVERYTHING STOLEN FROM HOTEL BY THE STAFF.

- Walked in hotel room, light fitting fell off the wall, curtain rail collapsed and none of the electrics worked. Said we couldnt have a new room for at least 3 days. Later offered hotel room with ONE BED even though there were THREE of us!!

- Food was DISGUSTING. I WOULDN'T FEED IT TO MY DOG. Daytime snacks cold and undercooked. lunch and dinner exactly the same...FISH.

-Drinks. Service was absolutely DISGRACEFUL. No manners, no smiles and if you werent spanish or german you could forget about being served for at least 25minutes. Even when you were served, you were told to go outside and stand at the bar from outside to only come back inside to drink it. no spaniards had to do this though!!

-Room. It was clean but everything completly falling apart. 2 out of 3 beds in our room were fold up camp beds. Noisy but understandable for location.

- WE HAD EVERYTHING STOLEN FROM OUR HOTEL ROOM. Staff were unwilling to give us the phone number for the police, saying that we were not allowed to bring the police to the hotel. We called for the manager and even she was EXTREMELY RUDE. ABSOLUTLY DISGRACEFUL STAFF AT THIS HOTEL. We had only went downstairs to get a drink and when we returned to our room the cleaners had made the bed and we had been robbed. From talking to our people in the hotel, we found that other people had had random people coming into their room when they were in it WITH A KEY. luckily there was a friendly local on the street who told us how to contact and find the police.

-VERY SUSPICIOUS CHARACTERS STANDING AROUND THE CORRIDORS AND LEAVING THROUGH FIRE EXITS WHEN THEY SAW GUESTS.

-Pool area. Not enough sun loungers or seats for everyone to sit down. Instead we were forced to stay on our balcony.

-Location. We are 21 and wanted to party and therefore this hotel was located perfectly for us, right on the main street of pubs and clubs. The noise does continue until the very early hours of the morning. The hotel in general is extremely noisy.

NEVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL!!!!!!! ITS DANGEROUS AND DISGUSTING!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

I really don't know where to start on this one??? After having read some of the reviews I am somewhat bemused as to some of the good ones that are already up,was I really in the same hotel as these people. First off the service was shocking if you weren't Spanish or German they were not interested in serving you after having to wait 20 mins to get a beer it seemed everyone around me was served then I was told I had to go to the hatch to get mines in a very arrogant manner off the bar man.
The food was an absolute disgrace it was the same food all week, which was always cold, even the snacks were disgusting to order chips at 12 noon an get them freezing was just wrong even after telling the staff it was cold they just shrugged and muttered to themselves in Spanish.
Also when we were there a few of the girls had their room robbed and the staff couldn't have cared less, the day before when my friend went for breakfast and left me to get ready to go out a man unlocked my door from the outside after seein me on the edge of my bed he couldn't have got out the door fast enough, just wondered if it was the staff that were stealin from the rooms cause I couldn't think of any other reason for him to be in our room, very dodgy and the thought that that could have been our room was very disturbing.
Our room looked out onto the street which had a nightclub right next door to it, all they played was drum and base so we were up all night on our first night after that we had to have a few drinks to be able to get any sleep at night!!!

Definately would not recommend this hotel not even my worst enemy!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

there is absolutely no entertainment atall in this hotel. pool is tiny as is pool area bar is small also yes there is only 1. staff would serve spanish guests before anyone else even if you were before them there is always only 1 barperson serving also .nightclub right next door which is very noisy they also ran out of vodka from 10.30 thur night and didnot have anymore untill 7.30 fri night the only positive it was cheap so i suppose you get what you pay for would definately not be back

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esmeralda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esmeralda Hotel

Address: Grau, 21 | Aptdo Correos 122, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Esmeralda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Esmeralda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esmeralda Hotel Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esmeralda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.