We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALL COMPLETE TOP SHOW...NOT GOOD.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mundaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mundaka to your Saves list
Hotel Mundaka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Florentino Larrinaga 9, 48360 Mundaka, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mundaka
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“ALL COMPLETE TOP SHOW...NOT GOOD.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

This beautifully laid out 20 apartment complex is situated in the middle of residential homes, meaning your peaceful days, evenings & nights are spoiled by various dogs barking, people shouting and various early loud DIY from all directions...
The reception area was only manned upon our arrival & departure & was rarely open for complaints...
The room was not ready as said, a very late 2pm until we got in...
Each apartment is nicely laid out & appeared clean, very sadly the neatly folded towels were dirty with a potent old stale sweat smell on them! No one was about to give any solution to this. We headed off to the local shop to buy towels!
Upon getting into the bed in the evening we found the bedding was unforgivingly dirty with the sweat smell...As always the reception was deserted! We had to WASH THE BEDDING OURSELVES!!!!!!!!!! The machine, ironing board & iron are not within the apartments as stated, it is one per 6 flats! Once we sorted out these problems ourselves our holiday started...I spoke to other people in apartments & they were also washing their towels etc!!!!
There is a list in the apartment of hidden extras, such as air conditioning etc...?
There is no security within the area as stated, gates &, driveways were always open & anyone could have come in or gone out un-noticed.
The noise of the local peoples homes was loud & broke the brief moments of peace. The people on our side were building a pool, an 8am cement mixer was just horrible!
Our holiday was saved by the fact that we had a car...We so needed to get away from here daily.
Upon leaving, the reception magically came alive for our checkout. We firstly complained about the towels & bedding, actually taking them the sweaty unused towels. Amazingly they smelt them & to our amazment the owner said they were fine!!!????? We were then told that, "THE ENGLISH NOSE IS VERY SENSITIVE"! After attempting to go through everything that was wrong the owners understanding of the English language became very little...We got the car and left...
If you want to find a peaceful, clean, secure, romantic & helpful place to stay, THIS IS DEFINATELY NOT IT! We shall go back to the clean, known & trusted, larger hotels next year.....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
21
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

We stayed two nights in this hotel and really found it good value for money. Rooms are nothing special but they are clean and comfortable. Staff is multilingual, helpful and friendly. Breakfast was also very good. Hotel is well placed, next to port and church.

If you are sensitive to noises and you go to bed early you might be bothered by hearing kids playing pelota by the church while parents enjoying some wine but hey... you are in Spain and this is a good spot to observe both locals and surfers visiting this cute little village.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

I stayed at the Hotel Mundaka for three nights in July. I found the hotel, room, staff and location all excellent. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful, the room was lovely overlooking the courtyard, spacious, comfortable and spotless. The breakfast was really excellent with a great range of juices, cereals, breads and cakes.
I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Mundaka.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2007

Myself and the girlfriend were in Mundaka in May 2007. There arent many hotels in Mundaka and they are more pricey than you'd expect considering its a such a small place with no real attractions besides surfing.

The rooms were clean, the staff were excellent and most of them spoke English which was a great relief. There werent any kids around when we were there but there was an indoor play area downstairs so i'd say they're good for kids and for surfers.

Simple, clean and good value for money. I'd recommend them as the best option in mundaka.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

We were a family of four adults -- non-surfers -- and stumbled upon Mundaka during our vacation. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and thought the Hotel Mundaka a warm, clean, and friendly place.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2004

Mundaka Hotel....it sums up all the wonderfull things about being in Bask country. The hotel was everything it said it would be. The most special people, from Marco and his beautifull family to all the people that worked for them...they felt like our family after 10 days there.
The rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean, nothing was too much trouble......They even supply space for the safe storage of the Surf Boards.
Hi to Mike from Adam and Jonathon, many thanks for the sensible tips you gave them about surfing in Mundaka.........See you all again, we hope, best wishes from our family and Thankyou so so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2002

Excellent and friendly staff. Nice even to us California surfers who came to ride their waves. ok we didn't act like your typical so cal travelers so be cool! comfortable beds and nice bathrooms after being on the road for a while. the key is morning coffee and breakfast with the staff and walking down to check the surf. manager even recommended a secret place to camp near his house when every room in mundaka was filled the first time I went. couldn't give a higher reccomendation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mundaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mundaka

Address: Florentino Larrinaga 9, 48360 Mundaka, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Mundaka
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mundaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mundaka 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mundaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mundaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.