We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fully operational despite recent fire next door” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grozny City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grozny City to your Saves list
Hotel Grozny City
Kadirov Avenue, Grozny 1433, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grozny
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
334 hotel reviews
Reviews in 274 cities Reviews in 274 cities
536 helpful votes 536 helpful votes
“Fully operational despite recent fire next door”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Despite the worldwide news coverage of the "hotel fire" in Grozny, I found the Grozny City Hotel fully operational end of April 2013. The fire was actually in the adjacent tower, without harm to the hotel itself. The third tower that includes Gerard Depardieu's appartment is equally unharmed. The Grozny City Hotel remains one of Russia's best hotels outside Moscow and St. Petersburg. This time I saw several foreign businessmen. The hotel director told me that so far, he only hosted two tourists, who flew from Moscow to Grozny with Grozny Avia and arranged pick-up by the hotel. He confirmed I was the only ever tourist to travel there in his own car :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
3
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is the best hotel in Grozny I think. so if you are looking for a high western quality hotel - you can stay here. Overall the decoration of the hotel I would call 5 stars, but the service is not 100% polished, so not 5 stars - 4 stars probably. But the price is very high. I similar quality 5 star hotel in European capital would cost probably 1.5 times less.

Room Tip: Choose the room in as top level as possible, like 15 or above. Also ask for a room view facing the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
367 helpful votes 367 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Typical 5 stars highrise hotel in the heart of (the rebuilt) Grozny , which makes you to feel uncertain if you really are in the same place when 10 years ago was just ruines . The english speaking staff very helpfull and the price a good surprise. Similar hotel in Moscow cost 5 times up! Big rooms undisturbed view and free wire internet (cable from the reseption) What else you want >? You came to find ruines and you are in the most shining city of Russia like mini Dubai!!

Room Tip: Remember to ask a cable for the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makhachkala, Russia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Excellent hotel, with pleasure has spent there time, and my affairs have passed perfectly well! I recommend

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
334 hotel reviews
Reviews in 274 cities Reviews in 274 cities
536 helpful votes 536 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was my second trip to Grozny. I have also been to all the neighbouring Russian oblasts and I can safely say that Chechnya has made the largest step forward in the last years. It is comparably safe now. There are a lot less roadblocks or police controls than for example in neighbouring Dagestan, Ingushetia or Kabardino-Balkaria. The Grozny City Hotel is the most visible manifestation of this positive development, almost a skyscraper with very modern design. The whole area is full of modern buildings. When we were there, the hotel was pretty empty. I hear that some people still prefer the "cozyness" of the other, smaller hotel in town: the Arena City. The Grozny City is not so baroque or plush, but the atmosphere is neither too "Russian cold". It certainly has more grandezza and a relatively tasteful interior decoration. It is also a nice place for people watching from the open lobby space. Someone said that the Arena City is safer, more enclosed and guarded. Hard for me to judge. The food was ok. Unfortunately, the swimming pool and spa was closed for construction works.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grozny City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grozny City

Address: Kadirov Avenue, Grozny 1433, Russia
Location: Russia > North Caucasian District > Chechnya > Grozny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grozny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally Located 5 star hotel with 302rooms and suites. Italian and Ottoman Restaurants. Splendid roof bar overviewing the City of Grozny from its 32nd floor. We are proud to host you and offer you the services that you expect from a 5 star hotel. Moarsh Yoghil (You are most welcome) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Grozny City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grozny City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.