We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place for couples, families, etc” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duca di Castelmonte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Duca di Castelmonte to your Saves list
Duca di Castelmonte
4.0 of 5 Farmhouse   |   Via Salvatore Motisi, 3 | Xitta, 91020 Trapani, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Trapani
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful place for couples, families, etc”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a wonderful time at this farm strolling around seeing the olive groves (look out for the hammock!), petting the farm animals and dogs, seeing the vegetable gardens, and sharing the dinner table with the other guests. The food was really honest and plentiful. I dont recall anyone who wasnt totally stuffed by the end of every dinner. And there was something for everyone. Did I mention dinner was 20 EUR? What a deal!

We didnt use the pool but it looked nice. BRING BUG SPRAY AND MAYBE A CITRONELLA CANDLE. Cant stress the bug spray enough. We had a 2 level room with a small kitchen where you could cook(we did not). I thought the bathroom was really nice but the bed was a bit hard. The nicest touch was that they left white and red wine in the kitchen (charging a reasonable 10EUR each) for us. We would just take out a bottle and enjoy the early evenings on our front porch. Heaven!

p.s. very easy to find and very close to Trapani.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    54
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
66
55
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is a working farm with rooms scattered in outbuildings and additions to the main house. Warning: Some of the sleeping accommodations are in low-ceilinged lofts. Dinner is served family style at 8 pm. There were at least 50 people at one long table the night we were there. It was lots of fun and we got to meet some interesting people from other parts of Europe. Since it's a working farm, there are lots of animals around including donkeys, goats, and pigs. The hotel would make a good base for visiting Segesta, Trapani, and Erice, but we stayed just the one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with beds that are not in a loft. Climbing ladders in the middle of the night when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

20 minutes from the airport. Good Ryanair flight from Luton.On arrival straight into dinner which, for lovers of Italian food, was just the ticket. Superb food for another 9 nights, shared with other, on the whole, very pleasant guests. Surprisingly no other Brits. Great location for visiting the very interesting area. Pretty experienced with Italian "driving". Western Sicily was initially a challenge-just give in!
The place has a very agreeable atmosphere & the staff are extremely pleasant,friendly & helpful & work very hard at mealtimes which all makes for a good experience every night.
The mosquitoes are also equally friendly, so go prepared!

Room Tip: Contact Laura or Silvia
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Absolutely delightful and a true Sicilian experience. As a group of friends looking for a completely relaxing holiday for a week we could not have asked for anything more than the Curatolo family provided at Duca di Castelmonte. From the moment of booking both Silvia and Laura (Lauretta) answered all our questions immediately and with great charm and efficiency. Transfers from Trapani Birgi airport were done by the family which, on arrival, immediately made you feel part of the family. Our main criteria were cleanliness, tranquillity and good food. All of which were there in abundance. Our "baglio" - converted farm building - was perfect. Spotlessly clean, bathroom great, fridge/cooking hobs if you wanted, regular linen changes. Dinners were excellent and in true Italian style, way more than you could possibly eat - but SO yummy and totally fresh ingredients. And sitting with the other guests on the long table was great (not obligatory - but definitely fun and very interesting meeting so many other nationalities). You have a sense, always, that the family are looking out for you, but in a very unintrusive way. Toto would appear for a chat, and his brother Gaetano is the "Mr Fixit". Loved the animals too. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We booked rather late and were happy to get a room for 3 nights.
We travelled with two adults and a three year old child.
Our daugther loved the animals, and the ride on the pony was one of the highlights for her (even though she fell off).
It is a very charming place. We had dinner twice and it was very good. Everything you expect from Sicilian homecooking. Thursday night is pizza night, unfortunately we were not around that night.
It is a great destination for travellers with children and within 10 minutes of the beach and Trapani city.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

there's no better place to stay all over sicily! a splendid agriturismo, an authentic and delicious food and above all the summum of kindness by every member of the staff!! The Ducs Gaetano and Totó just satisfy every wish and the faboulous Silvia at the Reception is the incarnation of a pleasant amenity and courtesy! ...after 3 days of stay it was such a pity to leave the place...!
slutini dalla Svizzera
Davide & Sara

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My two friends and I booked this last minute and didn't arrive until nearly 8:15 pm. We hadn't originally planned to eat dinner there, but because it is in the country we asked if it was possible. It was and people were already seated at the family- style accommodations when we arrived. The dinner was incredible: antipasto (roast baby eggplant, stuffed tomatoes and sweet & sour onions) ; two pastas: anelli (little rings) in a tomato and meat sauce made much like lasagna with hard boiled eggs and ricotta and tagliatelle in a creamy sauce. Then there was meat: sausage and something that looked like meatballs, but softer. I believe they said it was pork. Dessert was strawberries to dip in granulated sugar. There was red wine and a"digestivo" or coffee. I had" limoncello".

We were able to use the computers in the office to access the internet. We finished at 11 pm (realized then that we were keeping someone up and so apologized and left. This is a working farm with animals and crops growing. The staff was wonderful -- they helped us find our next night's accommodations.

Breakfast was as special as dinner, from 8-10 am and buffet style: coffee, juice, scrambled eggs, bacon, fruit tart plus other pastry, sesame seed cookies, ham, cheese, coffee, jelly, yogurt.

This was a bit more expensive than our other accommodations in Italy, but was definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Accommodations are in separate buildings from the reception and dining areas. I believe they're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duca di Castelmonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duca di Castelmonte

Address: Via Salvatore Motisi, 3 | Xitta, 91020 Trapani, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Trapani
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Trapani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Duca di Castelmonte 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Duca di Castelmonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duca Di Castelmonte Hotel Trapani
Duca Di Castelmonte Trapani, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duca di Castelmonte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.