We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old palazzo in a great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ai Lumi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ai Lumi to your Saves list
Ai Lumi
Corso Vittorio Emanuele 71/75, 91100 Trapani, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Trapani
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Old palazzo in a great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at Ai Lumi for three nights in June 2014. The location is great, it is part an historic palazzo right in the centre of the old town and it was a perfect base to explore from.
Our room was clean but not modern. It was right at the top of the palazzo and was quite difficult to get to. The last flight of stairs being an extremely narrow, metal, spiral staircase. This was very difficult to navigate with luggage. The room had a small kitchen which we thought would be handy for preparing snacks but we were told when we arrived that we had to pay 5 euros per person per day if we intended to make anything other than a drink. We decided to snack out! We were also supposed to have free wifi but couldn't pick anything up in our room. We had a lovely terrace overlooking the central courtyard which we enjoyed sitting out on in the evenings with a glass of wine. We thought it would be OK to hang a small amount of laundry out to dry in the day (we didn't see any info telling us otherwise and other terraces had) but when we got back the cleaner had taken it down and left it all on the floor which we weren't impressed by! The buffet breakfast was very good with plenty of variety, including lovely homemade cakes and tarts.
We ate in the restaurant the first evening we arrived. The food was average - we had better in Trapani. The waiter was arrogant and unfriendly. We found far nicer places to eat.
Although our stay wasn't perfect I would recommend it purely for the location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    89
    28
    10
    11
See reviews for
31
110
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Good location in the centre of Trapani and near the port, so handy for ferries to the Egadi islands. Beautiful courtyard with rooms surrounding it, and a restaurant at the front that does great calamari. Our room was quite high up, but there is an ingenious pully system for transporting luggage to your floor. We had basic cooking facilities and fridge, free mineral water and really nice ground coffee laid on. Very comfortable room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Best part of the Ai Lumi is its location in center of town. But the whole place - starting with the sour greeting and unhelpful staff - seems in the dumps and gently crumbling. When I reserved, I had asked about what rooms were available, but was just given a confirmation (ie, no choices). When we arrived, had a miniscule room with small window, requiring lifting suitcases up two sets of stairs and down one (!). No one available to help with luggage. Bathroom fixtures coming off wall. Room with very dim lighting.
B&B has a large courtyard - filled with plants but essentially no place to sit - indeed no public spaces to relax in at this B&B. Palazzo indeed historic - with great facade - but in no way lovely beyond the facade. (At least the associated restaurant is quite good.)

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 2 and 3 - require most luggage lugging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casteldaccia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

In the heart of old Trapani this B &B defies belief. Great rooms in the best of settings, and very reasonable price, with breakfast included ( and also very nice ). Aircon and Italian coffee and wine in the rooms. Go ahead and book you will love it if you are visiting Trapani.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This B&B is in a beautiful setting, A Palazzo in the historic centre of Trapani. The lady who manages it is friendly. We had an apartment on the 1st floor. With kitchen, dining room and bedroom – it was v well equipped. Although quite dark. There are stone steps leading up to it (No lift) that Mrs C. found a bit of a challenge – but we managed. It was quiet and comfortable.
The wifi connection was a bit hit and miss – probably due to the thick walls – it was best in the courtyard.
Breakfast was at the restaurant next door – it was OK but the waiter had a bad cold and gave the impression he didn’t really want to be there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed one night here, in a lovely historic palazzo round a courtyard right on the main street in the middle of town - and were impressed with the friendly welcome from the lady on reception, who insisted on helping to carry our bags to the first floor and was very helpful in telling us where best to park. Our room (no 1) looked over the courtyard of the old palazzo and all the facilities worked well but the small size and large furniture meant there was little room for bags - there was a folding bag stand but nowhere to put it up. For a longer stay I would ask for one of the larger rooms. We had a pleasant dinner in the Ai Lumi's restaurant next door, where both the food and the service were very good. Breakfast choice was also good, though the staff in the restaurant were less attentive than those in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Did not stay, had a lunch here, Busiate with Swordfish sauce. Busiate is a local pasta which is twisted and retains some bite when cooked. This was accompanied by a decent bottle of white wine.Sat outside on a raised platform watching the world go by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ai Lumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Lumi

Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 71/75, 91100 Trapani, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Trapani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Trapani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Ai Lumi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Lumi Trapani, Sicily
Ai Lumi Hotel Trapani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ai Lumi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.