We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B in old pallazzo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ai Lumi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ai Lumi to your Saves list
Ai Lumi
Corso Vittorio Emanuele 71/75, 91100 Trapani, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Trapani
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice B&B in old pallazzo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Not the most modern of rooms, but with a lot of Italian charm.
Friendly owners with a listening ear and good explanations.

The restaurant Ai Lumi is okay, but make sure to book your table in advance.
By 21 hrs all the tables are gone.

Breakfast is good, only difficult to find a spot in the shade.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    83
    27
    9
    11
See reviews for
29
104
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Catania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This B&B in the very heart of the centre of Trapani in a very old noble palazzo. The arched entrance from Corso Vittorio Emanuele enters into a charming courtyard full of plants and character. The Vittorio Emanuele street is closed to traffic, but parking is avialable in Viale Regina Elena (the road in front of the Port). Parking in Trapani is not free...the blue boxes mean you have to pay a ticket of 0,80 cents per hour. Tip: At the end of Viale Regina Elena in front of the Coast Guard building, parking is free, if you are lucky finding a space. Also beware that in Viale Regina Elena,even if you have paid your ticket, in the early hours of the morning (5:30 - 07:00) you cannot park as they clean the streets. Take close attention to days and hours when parking is prohibited. If you make a mistake the local police tow your car away and you have to pay a fine and extra to get your car back.
Francesca and Riccardo are excellent hosts at Ai Lumi B&B. And the other members of staff are also very friendly and always available for help, tips and any assistance.
I believe that value for money wise this is one of the best B&B's in Trapani.
I've been coming here for business trips to Trapani for many years now, and I've always enjoyed my stays.
Wi Fi (contrary to other reviews) works fine, actually better than many 4 star hotels I've visited. I work in internet every evening when I'm here ... never had a problem.
As Ai Lumi B&B is in this amazing palazzo, there is the problem of stairs. The rooms are on 4 different levels and there is no lift (elevator). So if this is a problem ask for a room on the first floor. The staff will carry all your luggage to the room.
All Ai Lumi guests have a 10% discount at the Ai Lumi Tavernetta Restaurant, where you can enjoy a typical Trapanese meal, and also many dishes originating from the Italian Continent. The restaurant is a little expensive, compared to other equivalent places in Trapani (In the recent years dozens of very good restaurants have opened. Also just around the corner you will find the Calvino Pizzeria...probably one of the best pizzas in the world...) but it is really worth trying. Alfredo, who runs the restaurant, will make you feel very welcome and suggest the specialities of the day.
Breakfast is served from 07:00 - 11:00, great for business trips and also for holidayers. The quality and variety of breakfast is excellent. Manuel, who usually serves breakfast does an excellent Cappuccino , Espresso and American coffee.
I heartily suggest this B&B if you are visiting Trapani... I am sure you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: First floor to avoid stairs Upper floorrs have some great apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAUSA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a reasonably priced B&B, for a suite with a fridge, but with many compromises. First of all, the WIFI only works if you sit outside on the stairs outside your room, and 2ndly, the stairs-- many, many stairs, unforgiving with luggage-- tho they have a crane basket to move luggage, it is not readily offered,
Then there is the included breakfast, --same , boring, 1 cheese, 2 breads and 2 cakes each day, with surly waiters who give you the look of death if you order a second coffee,

All THat said, the staff in the office were nice and got us a good taxi service to the airport, and for dinner, this restaurant has good food, especially the steaks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a lovely hotel consisting of very spacious apartment-like rooms located around a wonderful courtyard. Our room was very big and included a kitchen, 2 sitting areas, the bedroom, bath and a balcony over the pedestrian area. Cold water bottles were provided complimentary in our fridge in the kitchen. We truly felt like this was a home away from home for the 2 days we stayed there. The location is perfect on a pedestrian street and next to a very good restaurant with the same name where the complimentary breakfast is served. Don't miss a dinner there; it is very much worth it. The staff was extremely friendly. We would definitely come and stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiccazzurra, Proprietario at Ai Lumi, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for the nice words you spent on our B&B. They are very import for us. We hope to see you again in a very short time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is centrally located on the main pedestrian street. Francesca was helpful in too many ways to enumerate. Lovely breakfasts provided in charming restaurant next door which gave discounts on other meals. We had a suite with full kitchen, living room, bedroom, and bath for the price of a room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiccazzurra, Proprietario at Ai Lumi, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
What should I say? I am WONDERFULLY embarassed. It was a pleasure to have you here. You have been very kind and therefore it comes easier to be helpful....We hope to see you again at Ai Lumi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely old palazzo with charming courtyard. Steep stairs to upper rooms. We moved down to Room 1 for this reason. Small but perfectly okay. Nice breakfast in characteristic dining room. Francesca in reception very helpful with suggestions for trips. Right at the centre of this delightful town, perfect for strolling about.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiccazzurra, Direttore at Ai Lumi, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
it was a pleasure to have you in our house. We really felt sorry that due to the stairs we could not give you a larger accomodation, but we are very please that you appreciated your stay in Trapani. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed and ate in the restaurant unfortunately for only one Night as they were booked out.on our return to Trapani.
Loved the simple apartment accommodation with the host for getting your luggage up the through the very old building.and was greeted with bottles of wine from the families own vineyard.
the food was just great at the the Buffalo Mozzarella just flowing freshness have not tasted as since.
We stayed here in 2010 and found the staff very helpful with help i=us with car hire and planing the holiday, we went on to the islands and Marsala.Sicily is Just wonderful.

Room Tip: go for top floor with street view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiccazzurra, Proprietario at Ai Lumi, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for the kind words. We hope that this would be the first of many trip to Sicily. We would like to know you better and to offer you always our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ai Lumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Lumi

Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 71/75, 91100 Trapani, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Trapani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Trapani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Budget Places, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ai Lumi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Lumi Trapani, Sicily
Ai Lumi Hotel Trapani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ai Lumi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.