We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Vacanze Fardella Centrale

Save Saved
You added Casa Vacanze Fardella Centrale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Vacanze Fardella Centrale
1.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Via G.B. Fardella 126, 91100 Trapani, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Trapani
Siggiewi, Malta
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Choosing this hotel was not difficult: I just chose number 1 on tripadvisor.com. It turned out to be a great choice for a number of reasons.

First of all, Ms. Giovanna, one of the young ladies at reception, was so forthcoming and prompt with her great advice that it showed that she wanted to make our stay a very pleasant one indeed. Furthermore, nothing was too much trouble. We even asked her to give us full information about bus times to and from Erice and she reverted as promptly as she said she would. She even contacted the AST for us (the Azienda Sicilia Trasporti, the intercity bus service company). So, from the moment we booked, we felt we were really welcome.

However, this is just the start, as it were.

Upon landing at Trapani airport, we were greeted by the taxi service which was booked by Ms. Giovanna and we were really glad to be at the Hotel in less than 20 minutes from our landing at Trapani, which was absolutely great.

The hotel itself is extremely new, very well-appointed and the rooms are meticulously furnished with all modern amenities. Our room was large, the bed even more so and the room was, in reality, an apartment with a small (yet well-sized) kitchenette, a modern and spotlessly clean refridgerator, in-room temperature control, and a great powerful hot shower and good quality toiletries.

I cannot emphasise enough the cleanliness of the room. It felt as though I had cleaned it myself and I kept forgetting I was staying at a hotel rather than a friend's home.

The location of the hotel is also extremely good. First of all, it is flanked, on the right, by a very good pasticceria/take-away (Il Tortellino) which is a joy to behold even when closed, let alone when open and selling its delicious (and well-priced) fare and on the left by a very good breakfast bar where we could have breakfast for 4.20 euro (for both of us) which was swarming with the locals, which shows that it is the real thing. It is also possible to buy lunch at Il Tortellino and then take it up to the room, should you so wish. It is a luxury to be able to have such good food at a proper dining table in one's hotel room!

The hotel is situated about 10-15 minutes comfortable and pleasant walk away from the city centre. The street itself (GB Fardella) is a very pleasant high street lined with high-street shops (both Italian and international brands) and also the odd local quaint shop. Unmissable are the shoes and bag shops, which abound in this area.

Two further plus points are that the hotel is situated about 10 metres away from the bus stop which makes travelling to other places in the Trapanese and the airport a breeze. Furthermore, it is situated just a stone's throw away from a cinema, which can be great on a winter's night.

The dinner suggestions given to us by Ms. Giovanna were also great (I review them under the respective restaurant names here on tripadvisor.com).

If you are looking for very good quality accommodation in Trapani do not look any further. Book this hotel. It is also extremely good for families with children.

Room Tip: If travelling with kids, advise before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    29
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
58
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naxxar, Malta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Spent 5 lovely days with friends in December 2012. The apartments are very central, modern, clean, and well-equipped. The location is great. The bus from the airport stops right opposite. You can take a bus to Palermo from near the Cinema Royal which is 2/3 doors away. The train station is a 5 minute walk from the apartments. The Centro Storico is not too far away and Via GB Fardella is a very nice street full of great shops. Il Tortellino, selling delicious food and sweets, can be found next door. Giovanna, the receptionist, is lovely. From the very first time I contacted her she was always prompt with her replies and extremely helpful. I would stay there again any time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have just returned from Trapani. Following other reviews we decided to book this accomodation. We really loved it! The accomodation looked exactly as in the pictures. The room was made daily and it was very well kept. Next to the location there is a lovely bar and pasteceria. What we really loved was the fact that exacly next to the accomodation there is a bus stop from where you can visit Erice and Palermo. It is also a ten minute nice walk to the center of Trapani. The receptionists where also very helpful whenever we needed anything. Would definately recommend this option and would definately book again should I return to Trapani!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We spent 6 days in Trapani as a base to explore it and nearby places of interest – Erice, Segesta and Selinunte. The Fardella Centrale was a perfect home for us, convenient to buses and trains, not too far from the centro storico. Our room was large and airy with a fridge and double-burner cooktop, enough closet space and a comfortable bathroom. Situated on the first floor, access was simple and straightforward. Manning the front desk during our stay, Giovanna was a gem. She immediately made us feel very welcome, providing efficient, responsive and warm service. Her English was limited but she was ultra-patient with my fractured Italian.
We were happy to have a room overlooking the main street. We live in a quiet area and don’t look for something similar when we come to Italy. The bustle of Italian street life is fine by us and we slept with the windows open, which meant putting up with the odd mosquito. Our only small criticisms of the Fardella was its lack of shelf space in the bathroom and a leaky shower door – two endemic problems in Italian hotels. Otherwise it was perfect and we definitely will stay there again when next in Trapani.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper you might want to choose a room that doesn't overlook the main str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio O, Responsabile reception at Casa Vacanze Fardella Centrale, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Sir,
I am very glad you had a very good stay here at our Hotel. You and your wife are very nice. As regards my English, I hope I can speak in English with you next time you will be here. Meanwhile I will study to improve it..
I look forward to having you again among our guests!
Best regards
Giovanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Good value for money! The rooms modern & clean with effective enery saving light. Situated centrally with very friendly locals. Fanastic views from Erice & restuarants with fresh fish & good presentation. Will b back & thx to all Sicilians that made our stay unforgettable!
Ray Zammit

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

These appartments are situated in the main street of Trapani, just before the historical city. Both Giovanna and Tiziana are very helpful and they are ready to help! The WIFI in the room was very useful. Easy to arrive to the appartments and the location is just right for every tourist visiting TP.

Room Tip: Book a room at the back of the Appartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W.Vlaanderen
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Having chosen the "Casa Vacanze Farfalla Centrale" after checking out TripAvisor.com, we were not disappointed. The location of the hotel is on the main street going to the downtown area (old historic center). Don't let this scare you off, yes there is a lot of traffic, but the windows keep most of this noise out when closed (which is not a problem, considering there is a good airco).

The rooms are really very large and very clean. They are nicely decorated in a modern style, with attention for energy consumption: e.g. all ceiling lights are LED type (warm white, so don't worry about being in a room with blueish or greenish lights). And there is little key which you need to put in, to enable the electricity in the room. The hotel is using the full first floor on the fairly new building (elevator available).

When we arrived, we were greeted by one of the 2 young ladies at the reception: one is there from 8 AM thru 2 PM, the other one from 3 PM to 8 PM. This was during September; I'm not sure if this is always the case, especially reading some of the other reviews here. Upon arrival, we were told that there was a problem with the plumbing in our room, so they gave us a smaller room for 1 night. Same style, just much smaller (the owner gave us a 10 euro refund for this night, so that was fair). The day after, the cleaning lady had already moved our bags to the new room, we just had to exchange the keys.

The beds were really great, with a very good mattress, the airco worked very well and quite silently. So we had great nights of sleep. The rooms have a little kitchenette and a dining table, so if wanted you could cok & eat there. As there are so many good restaurants in the Trapani city center, one realy would not want to do this. The two most recommendable restaurants were: Ristaurante di Sicilia (nice outside seating, but make reservations !) and Antichi Sapori (only inside, a bit busy because of this). Antichi Sapori scored as Trapani's #2 Restaurant on TripAdvisor, and Di Sicilia as number 5. Both pleased us very much, actually Di Sicilia a bit more due to the pleasant and relaxed outside seating (I will make a TA review of both).

The Farfalla Centrala hotel offers an "room service" breakfast for 6.5 euro per person (you get 1 choice of coffee, one choice of croissant and a juice), but we opted each morning for "the italian way". The bar next door (Cafe Noir) serves you a wide choice of croissants with coffee for a handful of euro's. We paid about 4.5 euro for a breakfast for 2 people ! It's nice to watch the locals come in for their quick coffee and morning discussions !

The area in front of the hotel is not a free parking area (you would not tell though if you see how many Italians actually park there for a coffee, a croissant, or a visit to one of the shops). Police or parking attendants are checking, and we saw people getting a ticket. You do get a 10 minute grace period, so unloading luggage is no problem. The young lady at the reception pointed us to a street two blocks down (100 meters away), which had all day free parking. Depending on the time of day, that street is either half empty or can be a bit busy, but we never had a problem to find a spot to park. It's not more than a 3 minute walk to the hotel.

The beginning of the old city center is about a 10-15 min walk away, along the Via Fardella, with it's many shops and bars. The far end of the old city is about 30 mins away. To walk to the harbour, you need about 20-25 mins.

To conclude, if I really have to search for a point of criticism: they advertise in the room that bathroom towels are replaced every two days. We stayed for 3 nights in the big room, but the towels were not replaced! Not that this was a problem for us, but then they should not advertise this up in the room.

The two young ladies (Giovanna & Tiziana) at the reception were really very friendly and helpful. They recommended things to see, which restaurants to go to, and where to find the best ice cream shop in Trapani, so I would like to send a "thank you" to both of them ! If I were to go back to Trapani, I would certainly stay again at Farfalla Centrale.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Vacanze Fardella Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vacanze Fardella Centrale

Address: Via G.B. Fardella 126, 91100 Trapani, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Trapani
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trapani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa Vacanze Fardella Centrale 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fardella Centrale is an enchanting structure located in Trapani. The hotel has nine apartments, furnished in a modern style. All of them are equipped of all comforts such as amenities, private bathroom, led tv, air conditioning, safe, hair dryer and Kitchenette. Many of them also have a balcony. Two of them are suitable to host disabled people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Casa Vacanze Fardella Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Vacanze Fardella Centrale Trapani, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Vacanze Fardella Centrale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.