We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable pasta dishes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Locanda dei Frati

La Locanda dei Frati
Via San Francesco d'Assisi 95, 91100 Trapani, Sicily, Italy
092321009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 308 Restaurants in Trapani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Trattoria and Pizzeria, friendly staff and great local Trapanese food that is worthy of a listing, pizzas as good as Calvino food as good as Ai Lumi in great surroundings
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unbeatable pasta dishes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

One of the best pastas we ever had - it convincingly celebrates the Sicilian way of perfectly complementing pasta with a tasteful sauce! We can highly recommend to test it yourself.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    47
    20
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inkpen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The restaurant you long to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

In the old part of Trapani, it looks, feels and is Sicilian. Served by Angelo - nice guy, speaks English he said I was Mario Monti! There was a local family party who almost included us in their celebrations and added to the atmosphere. We were offered fresh fish and that's what we got - cooked to perfection and really fresh. It came with patate vastase and salad - perfect! I'd go again any time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
“Tourist Rip-off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

If you are not a local -never mind if you speak a decent Italian- and you want to be treated as a tourist (overpriced and underserviced) than this is the place for you.

The place was hosting a local wedding dinner so the rest of the tables got a second rate service (especially in terms of waiting).

The waiter would play all kinds of tricks to increase your bill.

The food was unremarkable.
.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service,great food,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

In my opinions it was slightly overpriced but on the other hand we have got ourselves an ash tray as an souvenir officially we didn't steal it!!! :)
Angelo was taking care of us and was very helpfull polite and caring. Credits to Angelo he is a benefit to the business.
You will get what you are paying for.
Result: very good

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A positive dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

My wife and I have just spent a few days in Trapani and we visited this restauant twice. The first time was in the evening on Easter Sunday and the place was packed (mostly locals) but we did not regret having to stand for over half an hour to get a table. The great food and the friendly and hospitalble service offered by Angelo, the responsabile di sala, make this restaurant a must for those visiting Trapani. We will definitely return if we will be in town.

Joseph
Malta

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda dei Frati also viewed

Trapani, Province of Trapani
Trapani, Province of Trapani
 
Trapani, Province of Trapani
Trapani, Province of Trapani
 

Been to La Locanda dei Frati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Locanda dei Frati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.