We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence La Gancia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence La Gancia to your Saves list
Residence La Gancia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Mercato del Pesce, 91100 Trapani, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Trapani
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed at the Residence La Gancia for 3 nights in Oct 2013 with my husband.
extremely large comfortable room with excellent air conditioning - excellent staff - lovely roof top eating area for breakfast or drinks later in the evening - stunning location just a few yards walk to the centre of the old town
Just perfect!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    102
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
55
203
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birzebbuga, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The staff and hotel is just right , The building and fixtures still quiet new , so it makes for a perfect setting near the sea, though not for swimming . Staff were helpful and friendly.
It is perfect for the night life that is typically Sicilian with open air bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: ask for room 401 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This contemporary hotel is right on the water and walking distance to everything in town. The rooms are large, comfortable and very modern. The breakfasts on the roof patio are incredible - everything from fresh fruit, cannoli and tarts, meats, cheeses, and cereal and yogurt. Nino at the front desk is extremely friendly and helpful - ask him where to eat dinner or get the best gelato. Metered public parking is plentiful nearby and doesn't cost much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel in the middle of the Trapani town center. Hotel has a a nice "design" look and feel, staff is very friendly and ample restaurant/ bars on "crawling" distance.Trapani itself is a nice surprise with great shapping and gastronomy.

Room Tip: The Room on top floor is with terrace and great view over the coast /sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here apart from being troubled by noise from a faulty lift in the mornings. The repair man was said to be on his way! The position is fabulous and we had a wonderful view across the bay from our large, comfortable room and bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful directing us to two good restaurants and to the cable car to Erice which is a lovely ride.

Trapani is a wonderful place for evening strolling especially along its lively traffic-free roads. It's a shame we only had two nights there...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night in September at the start of our holiday in Sicily. We had difficulties finding it but we were helped out by the local police who guided us there by driving ahead of us. The staff were extremely hepful and the room was clean, comfortable and well-furnished with a spacious and well-equipped bathroom. The breakfast was plentiful, varied and of good quality. We ate it on the terrace with spectacular views overlooking the sea. The situation of this hotel is superb. We would definitely stay here again - next time for longer than the one night we stayed on this occasion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlissingen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We just came back from a 5 days trip in Trapani were we stayed at La Gancia. We only have wonderful things to say about this establishment. From the warm welcome with a a smile and a candy to the extensive help when needed, these people know the meaning of making your stay there an memorable experience. The room was perfect, big enough and very quiet. The breakfast is worth the money. And the roof terrace....well who needs to go anywhere else when you have this relaxing and enjoyable place 2steps away. I recommande this hotel to anyone wanting to go to Trapani....the only negative point, they dont have more hotels around the world. Thank you La Gancia!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence La Gancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Gancia

Address: Piazza Mercato del Pesce, 91100 Trapani, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Trapani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Trapani
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trapani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence La Gancia 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence La Gancia is in the town of Trapani on Sicily's north coast. It offers Wi-Fi and a roof terrace with garden with panoramic views over the town and the bay.La Gancia is decorated in mixture of traditional Sicilian and modern styles, with colourful mosaic walls. Rooms are air conditioned and have private bathrooms and flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence La Gancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Gancia Hotel Trapani
Residence La Gancia Trapani, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence La Gancia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.