We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence La Gancia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence La Gancia to your Saves list
Residence La Gancia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Mercato del Pesce, 91100 Trapani, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Trapani
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Definitely a good hotel. As other reviews have commented, the old building is interestingly restored and the rooms are very comfortable and quiet. On the edge of the sea and with the old town just behind it's perfectly positioned. Staff are very helpful and breakfast on the terrace was very good. Check out the pasticceria/gelateria next door - it's not listed anywhere but ice creams and mandorla are great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    102
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
55
203
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at La gancia for 6 nights over the new year. The staff at this hotel are excellent - they cannot do enough for guests. It is spotless clean and very tastefully furnished and refurbished. The only down fall was the noise. the hotel is located at a Piazza and had we known that there would be a market on here until midnight each night during our stay we would have stayed else where. There was loud music played at full blast for 4 hours min each night. We could not sleep...this wasn't La Gancia's fault - the marketeers had received permission from the council...:) The staff assisted when they could. The location is otherwise excellent in the old town - we were in room 104 with a slight sea view and a view out to the piazza. The cleaning service is daily and is excellent. we did not eat at the hotel however there are numerous restaurants around the area quite cheaply priced. Overall La gancia is probably the best place to stay in trapani just now while the music is blaring from the markets at Piazza mercato del pesce. just up the street on the right is a great little restaurant with fab pizza called Amici Mei. Erice is stunning and well worth a visit. Things dont come to life until about 7.30pm.

Room Tip: I would imagine rooms higher than the first floor would have a better sea view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel is a beautifully restored historic building. The rooms are quite spacious. The staff is very friendly. The hotel is right across from the sea. I would highly recommend the Temple at Segesta and Erice. You can reach Erice by cable car departing Trapani. We did not rent a car, but I would suggest it. We were there December, 2010.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The biggest advantage of this hotel is its location. It is on the edge of the old town, surrounded by the sea on one side and by crowded streets on the other side. The highlight of the hotel is its breakfast terrace. The views from the terrace are amazing and the food is awesome as well.
We also loved the service, everyone was friendly and helpful.
We decided to get a room with sea view and we werent too impressed, because the windows were quite small :/ Rooms are quite spacious tho and the bathrooms are modern and big.
There is no free parking around the hotel, the nearest free car park is about 700 meters from the hotel near Via Pallante and there are beggars who want money from you as soon as you stop your car there. It is something that happens quite often in trapani, unfortunately.
The gym in the hotel is very small, but has all the necessary equipment (although no bench press).
Trapani in itself is a great little town, full of nice restaurants, old churches and surrounded by the sea.
We have also went to:
- Erice. awesome little village at the top of the mountain. you can get a cable car from Trapani to Erice or drive (if you have a good car and are not afraid of winding roads )
- Zingaro. It is a nature reserve full of mountain and sea side trails. you can access it from two sides and both are cool.
- San Vito Lo Capo. little sea side town with the best beach around trapani
- Castelammare Del Golfo. very nice old town.
- Marsala. we did the tour in the Florio winery and it was good fun. you also get to taste their wines so everyone leave with big smiles on their faces ;)
Last but not least:
Favignana and Levanzo islands. Both are well worth a day each. Favignana is a bit bigger, so we rented a scooter and drove around stopping from time to time to take photos, sit on a cliff etc. Levanzo is a lot smaller so we decided to take a walk. We were trying to find the Grotta del Genovese and we followed the signs, but we missed it. It didnt matter too much, because the walk was great. We came back to the center of the village and decided to eat at the only available restaurant - Paradiso. We both went for a local fish and both agreed that it was the best fish we had in a long time!
All in all we had a great trip.

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view if you can, although the windows are small anyways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My family spent three nights at La Gancia. The room and bathroom were spacious with free wifi that worked well. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was on the roof where the view of the sea was amazing. We thought the breakfast well worth the cost. The staff was very friendly and made our stay even more pleasurable. We would definitely recommend staying here, and would not hesitate to stay at La Gancia again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western mass
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great location in pedestrian area of Trapani. Very clean and tremendously kind and helpful front desk and housekeeping. Rooftop bar in the evening with snacks and in the morning a delightful breakfast buffet. Spacious rooms and modern bathrooms. Trapani is worth at least a couple of days and to the best of my knowledge there is nowhere better in Trapani to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the ocean. Ours mostly looked over the Pescheria, but we were grateful to fina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Well-placed location with direct access to walk streets, shops and restaurants. Very modern and roomy suite with small fridge, microwave and coffee-maker. The roof top lounge offers an excellent view overlooking Piazza Mercato del Pesce and the sea. The lounge is a great place to relax in the evening and enjoy a glass of wine accompanied by a wide variety of olives, cheeses, etc. No view from our room but the rooftop deck made up for it! A generous breakfast is also served on the bright and airy rooftop deck (10 euro).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence La Gancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Gancia

Address: Piazza Mercato del Pesce, 91100 Trapani, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Trapani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Trapani
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trapani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence La Gancia 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence La Gancia is in the town of Trapani on Sicily's north coast. It offers Wi-Fi and a roof terrace with garden with panoramic views over the town and the bay.La Gancia is decorated in mixture of traditional Sicilian and modern styles, with colourful mosaic walls. Rooms are air conditioned and have private bathrooms and flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence La Gancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Gancia Hotel Trapani
Residence La Gancia Trapani, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence La Gancia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.