We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I cannot understand how this place got a four star rating.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Al Residence San Domenico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Al Residence San Domenico to your Saves list
Al Residence San Domenico
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Via Badia Grande, 9, 91100 Trapani, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Trapani
Malta
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I cannot understand how this place got a four star rating.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We rented out a so called "monolocale" the bed ended up to be a sofa bed, very uncomfortable. The size of the room was the length of the bed so to get to the other side we had to climb over each other, once the bed was open you could not open the wardrobe door and not even the the window shutters. There was a 14 inch portable TV on the bedside table, which started working after our protests. The residence does not include a reception but shares one with another hotel about 300 meters away. The floor in the room is in local marble and some of the tiles had holes in them. The wardrobe was partly occupied with the sofa-bed sides and there were just 4 hangers. The shower door is in 3 leaf aluminum and perspex and was wobbly and there was no soap holder in the shower so we had to place the soap & shampoo on the floor. This so called 'monolocale' included a kitchenette with unclose-able cupboard doors, no glasses or cups to drink from and very little utensils.

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
8
37
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011 via mobile

Back again 3 weeks later for a working stay in this establishment. Little has changed, albeit the room I now occupy has a broken toilet seat and blown lighbulbs. The hotel staff have been advised but nothing seems to happen. Internet is wireless in much of the hotel - apart from my room! I will attempt a third try at resolving the failings of my accommodation today. I still think that with the level of occupancy here the hotel reception should be manned.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011 via mobile

Hotel is not manned very often. Have been in the hotel for 5 days and have seen housekeeping staff once. The sister hotel is a 5 minute walk away and does have reception staff on during the day. Some rooms are very noisy due to the road traffic and neighbouring properties. I was unable to get a second key to my room. Not a place to bring a car as parking on the narrow steers outside is a challenge.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Booked an apartment in San Domenico the night before we arrived to Trapini, granted it was short notice but the booking was accepted. We arrived to Trapani on a Saturday afternoon. The reception at the apartments was closed with a sign on the door with contact numbers. We eventually made contact and a lady arrived to meet us. After a 10 minute wait we were told that they had overbooked and that alternative accomodation of an equal standard, even €10 cheaper had been arranged for us. We were happy with this and the lady dropped us and our baggage in her car to the hotel.

Unfortunately the 2 star nearby Hotel Moderne was not up to or even close to the same standards that we had booked - we were very disappointed but at least it was our last night after a wonderful holiday in Sicily and we were up at 4am to go to the airport. On the plus, it did have a very good location in the historical part of Trapani.

Also, San Domenico advertise as having a shuttle service to the airport (one of the reasons we booked here). They do not have a shuttle service, they arrange a taxi which you have to pay for yourself and Hotel Moderene even charged us €1 to make the phonecall on our behalf!

Overall, very disappointing as I'm sure the apartments are beautiful, they certainly look it.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Residence San Domenico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Residence San Domenico

Address: Via Badia Grande, 9, 91100 Trapani, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Trapani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Trapani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Residence San Domenico 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Al Residence San Domenico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Residence San Domenico Trapani, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Residence San Domenico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.