We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down an alley off a little side street, take a map before you go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Vicoletto

Al Vicoletto
Via Biscottai 6, 91100 Trapani, Sicily, Italy
+39 320 810 3689
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 307 Restaurants in Trapani
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Guildford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Down an alley off a little side street, take a map before you go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This place is wonderful. We'd gone for a walk around Trapani to search out the restaurant and found it with the help of a lot of determination. We'd pre-booked, and the restaurant had acknowledged our booking before we went there. Having found it we came back at 8pm and some lovely candles had been placed in the alley. You have to ring the bell to gain entrance. Once inside, we were recognised from our booking, given terrific advice on the food (fabulous fish and my other half had amazing meat dishes) as well as great wine selections. We didn't want to leave. The mixed fish starter was superb, and the fresh fish of the day delicious. People were being turned away, so I'd recommend booking. Also, it's air conditioned. Go to Trapani for great restaurants as we tried some other terrific places, but this was the best and really memorable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    169
    27
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rzeszow, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect place to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went there with no reservation however it was early evening. Service was really polite and nice, food outstanding. I would recommend strongly - being in Trapani you must go there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
359 reviews 359 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Friendly kind service and tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Not at all hard to find and yes, you have to buzz in. But once you are inside you will find white clothed tables and friendly kind service with a great menu to choose from. We enjoyed a great meal - cheese plate and caponata to start with and 3 really tasty pastas. Definitely make a reservation as it is popular and fills up fast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Delicious whole fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The dining room at this friendly, little restaurant is bright and pleasant. We were offered two types of bread, both of them crusty and good but I particularly liked the one flavoured with fennel seeds. The pasta dishes were huge (you could share one) and very good. I had the tagliatelle with prawns, swordfish, tomato and almonds. We chose the fresh fish of the day and were given our choice of the three whole fish on offer. We chose a red snapper (pargo), which was char grilled and served whole with wedges of lemon. The flesh was perfect, soft white and tender. The grilled skin was delicious but unfortunately the scales hadn't been removed as carefully as they should have been. The staff were both very helpful, explaining the menu carefully and suggesting a wine for us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurrieq, Malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of a few”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is not easily found but it is worth the time to find. Apart from the sweets sicily did not impress me much with food lately but the greek style swordfish and squid with potato filling were really delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Vicoletto also viewed

Trapani, Province of Trapani
Trapani, Province of Trapani
 
Trapani, Province of Trapani
 

Been to Al Vicoletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Vicoletto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.