We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated hiking info” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kleftiko Beach

Kleftiko Beach
Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Milos
Attraction details
Weehawken, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Updated hiking info”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you want to make the hike mention in other reviews, here's some info from our recent trip:

* First, we found the entrance to the path to be between 4 and 5 km further down the road after Xilokeratia -- or at least the sign on the road for Xilokeratia, so don't worry if you need to go a bit further than 3 km. The road starts to get a little "hairy" after Xilokeratia but keep at it, you won't need to stay on it too long.

* On a review for Kleftiko Antonis M posted a picture of a sign on a wooden post visible from the road. It looks to me like the sign itself is no longer there, however the post is, and as of the time of this posting someone had tied a red banner to it. If you're not sure, get out and look -- the rocks with white painted marks should be visible from this post.

* Antonis M's information is totally accurate -- it took us about 50 min to make the hike each way. It's a bit tough, but not crazy. We didn't have hiking boots but wore sneakers instead. It wasn't ideal but was doable.

* The hike is totally worth it!

Enjoy and good luck!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    16
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Uniquely beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous spot to swim in the Aegean Sea! You can swim through a 20m cave, very fun! The water is so clean and buoyant, it's a pleasure to swim there. We took a boat from Agia Kiriaki. It was a five hour trip on a smaller boat and it was very bare bones. I think its called Armi Sea Excursions. if you go on this tour be sure to bring your own towel, food and snorkeling equipment. We were expecting a little more upscale so thank goodness we brought water and crackers or we would have gone hungry :-( we wish we had known to bring our own snorkeling equipment, that's a must for Kleftiko.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Swim with the Pirates!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

During our stay in Milos, we decide to go on a boat trip with the charming, "ancient style" boat called "Thirassia" and its friendly, competente staff, through the coast of Milos, until the breathtaking area of Kleftiko, full of caves where the Pirate used to hide before attac the mercantile route to Crete. The water is so clear, clean, perfect, that it is not easy to describe. Just imagine it has all the shade of blue, green, turquoise, aquamarine...and swimming in it is a unique experience. Worth the trip! Also for the excellent day we spend on the boat with the captain (great chef also!), Roris and Antony. A must do for everybody!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best spot on planet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just perfect! We took a sailing boat from the port of Adamas and sail to Kleftiko. Diving, snorkeling, fishing. The best experience on the island!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augustenborg
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The most beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We arrived to the area as part of a kayaking daytrip. The caves, and cliffs were so beautiful, and in April we had the beach on our own

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kleftiko Beach also viewed

 

Been to Kleftiko Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kleftiko Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.