We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made a day perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon's Cave

Dragon's Cave
Road to Kalo Nero, Makry-Gialos, Crete, Greece
28430 51494
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in Makry-Gialos
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kharkiv, Ukraine
1 review
“Made a day perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were traveling by car along the shore, looking for a place to do some snorkeling. A good spot happened to be not far away from this place, so it was a no-brainer to have a lunch here (not so many taverns around). What seemed to be an obvious choice, proved to be a perfect one - nice and friendly staff, magnificent view, Mediterranean cosine. Everything was cooked well and fast (grilled sword fish, salads, fried feta). This place gives a unique feeling of relaxation, which is a major component for a good vacation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    7
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tintern
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Salad and Souvlaki in the shade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Up a hill with a wonderful view over Makry Gialos this restaurant served us a wonderful mixed mezze salad and freshly cooked Souvlaki t 2.30 in the afternoon. Family run it also sells its own olive oil and honey, made on the premises. A great spot to stop and pause on a sunny day.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good & intersting food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We've eaten here before. The downside is that it is a drive from Makrigialos but one of our group volunteered to drive. We went for the large plate of mixed starters as it included courgette ball. I had the lamb chops which had been cooked on the open grill, my wife had the fish of the day.
Good food in a great setting.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Crete?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This gem of a place lies 3 km outside of the beautiful little resort of Makrygialos in south east Crete. It is definitely worth the detour. The surroundings are beautiful with nice view of the sea. In the evening you can enjoy the sunset over the sea.
But the food is why you really want to come here. Almost everything you eat is homegrown and ecological. They also sell their own products like honey, oliveoil, olives, wine and raki.
Their baby lamb from the grill is delicious, and if you like to exchange the french fries that is always served with most dishes in sothern Europe to some tomatosalad in stead, just ask. They go a length to pleas you in this restaurant. Also Dragons Caves own beefburger with creamy sauce is very, very good. I could sit here and blab about this restaurant, but in stead I say to you, go there and test it yourself. You won't regret it. When you ask for the bill, they give you a treat to their homemade yoghurt with som friut and honeypreserved berries with cinnamon. It is out of this world. They must never stop serving this, because it is finger licking good!! I can't wait till next year, because then I will be back, for sure. Thank you for another great meal, from a greatful couple from Norway!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“The place that you must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

One of the best restaurant in creta island . The owners are professional and very kind. The place is up In the hill with very good view . As far as concern the quality of the food the text is poor to describe the taste that you will enjoy. The local dishes are made based on the original recipe and you can have also the best lamb chop in GREECE

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon's Cave also viewed

Makry-Gialos, Lasithi Prefecture
Makry-Gialos, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Makry-Gialos, Lasithi Prefecture
Makry-Gialos, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Dragon's Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragon's Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.