We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite places” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Kalliotzina

Taverna Kalliotzina
Koutsouras, Makry-Gialos, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 27 Restaurants in Makry-Gialos
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a restaurant that we would have never found if it were not recommended by a local. You need a car or take a taxi if you're staying in Makry-Gialos since the restaurant is in the next village.

Four years ago when we first came here the restaurant was managed by two families working one week at the time but the food was equally good regardless of family. This year we only visited it once but the food was exactly as good as we remembered it to be. Their Bekri Meze is a must-have.

The setting is fantastic with tables under a large tree and right by the beach. You should probably call and reserve a table if your planning on coming after 8pm since they don't have that many tables. If you visit on a wednesday they play local music after 9pm.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    19
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Steyning
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, excellent quality food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Such a romantic setting, we chose a table on the beach underneath palm umbrellas. Excellent choice of traditional cretan food. The grilled calamari was delicious. Service excellent, no hesitation in recommending.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best Food must be on SouthEast Crete”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The absolute best food on South East Crete. In the little village of Koutsouras (which has a pharmacy and an ATM!) next to busy and noisy Makrys Gialos. Travelling from Ierapetra to Makris Gialos, enter the village of Koutsouras, and the restaurant is on your right hand side, on the main road. Big huge salt trees shade the backyard and when the tables fill - which is obvious it happens every day - go down the steps on the sand!
If you want fish, ask what they have that specific day, ask what they cooked that day, go for the lamb, the freshly fired potatoes, the home made "dolmadakia" and be brave.
Do not just stop at the "moussaka" - which is not a Greek dish anyway - or just the chicken souvlaki. Experience the true Cretan cuisine. A must. I must go back...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting with great rock pools”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was a fantastic restaurant in fact the children requested to go back several times as it had great rock pools to catch fish with their nets. The building is white and blue with low hung trees,very Mamma Mia and the food is delicious!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of best in Makry-Gialos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed in Makry-Gialos for 1 week and visited a different restaurant each night. We had a late dinner at Kalliotzina with our two teenagers. It is one of the best restaurants in the area (the other one being Dragon's Cave). We really enjoyed the setting (seaside, under olive trees) but also the home made food. It looks like it is run by a large family, from servers to the cooks.

Greek tavernas tend to offer the same type of food, but this one really was tastier than the others.

Beware: parking is scarce so you have to leave your car by the busy, narrow road.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Kalliotzina also viewed

Makry-Gialos, Lasithi Prefecture
Makry-Gialos, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Makry-Gialos, Lasithi Prefecture
Makry-Gialos, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Taverna Kalliotzina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Kalliotzina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.