We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting with great rock pools” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Kalliotzina

Taverna Kalliotzina
Koutsouras, Makry-Gialos, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 29 Restaurants in Makry-Gialos
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
East Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting with great rock pools”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was a fantastic restaurant in fact the children requested to go back several times as it had great rock pools to catch fish with their nets. The building is white and blue with low hung trees,very Mamma Mia and the food is delicious!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    20
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of best in Makry-Gialos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed in Makry-Gialos for 1 week and visited a different restaurant each night. We had a late dinner at Kalliotzina with our two teenagers. It is one of the best restaurants in the area (the other one being Dragon's Cave). We really enjoyed the setting (seaside, under olive trees) but also the home made food. It looks like it is run by a large family, from servers to the cooks.

Greek tavernas tend to offer the same type of food, but this one really was tastier than the others.

Beware: parking is scarce so you have to leave your car by the busy, narrow road.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyfada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“OK, not anything special compared with other nearby taverns”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went to Kalliotzina for lunch.
The setting is nice, overlooking the sea, but this is more or less common in the area.
Service was fast but rather detached.
We had three main dishes , moussaka - soutzoukakia - stifado beef, and a vlita salad.
The dishes were good, nothing to reflect the opinions in other reviews though. Some were cooked at least on day before.
Prices were normal, although servings were smaller that usual.
Due to the positive reviews this place gets crowdy and it may be difficult to get a table for dinner.
If this is the case, the next taverna down the street is a good alternative if you don't like to get into your car again. Otherwise, make reservations by phone in advance!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a great meal with a variety of Greek specialties. The environment was great although it was a very hot day. We ate under the big trees and the view as well as the environment were great.
All the dishes were very tasty. The Greek moussaka, the giant beans, the salads, the fish, all were exceptional. The truth is that I remembered my mothers' cooking!
Anyway, although we were 12 persons in a table the service was very quick and kind. Thank you guys!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A typical Greek night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Spent an evening at this fabulous resaurant. The food was excellent and plentiful. The service was friendly and efficient. On Wednesday and Friday you can enjoy live Greek music and dancing which the locals are very happy for you to join in. The retaurant is set right next to ocean with stunning views. Well worth the effort to find in a quiet village with very friendly people.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Kalliotzina also viewed

Makry-Gialos, Lasithi Prefecture
Makry-Gialos, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Makry-Gialos, Lasithi Prefecture
Makry-Gialos, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Taverna Kalliotzina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Kalliotzina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.