We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical Greek night out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Kalliotzina

Taverna Kalliotzina
Koutsouras, Makry-Gialos, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 27 Restaurants in Makry-Gialos
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A typical Greek night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Spent an evening at this fabulous resaurant. The food was excellent and plentiful. The service was friendly and efficient. On Wednesday and Friday you can enjoy live Greek music and dancing which the locals are very happy for you to join in. The retaurant is set right next to ocean with stunning views. Well worth the effort to find in a quiet village with very friendly people.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    19
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent food, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a sweet little restaurant in a beautiful location on the beach. It is very popular and the food is good - but nothing special.
I was excited about dining here after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor but I was very disappointed. The service is awful. I enjoy a long leisurely meal but here we had to wait for over an hour for our bill. Service was definitely not provided with a smile, and in fact we felt ignored for most of the evening.
We did return to the Kalliozina to give the place a second chance, but sadly this experience was even worse than the first. A thumbs down from us :(

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very good home made Cretan cousine, friendly staff, excellent service, strongly recommended to visitors of the south east coast the beautiful island of Crete.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I enjoed eating at Kalliotzina, some traditional greek food, very good scenery, the staff really helpfull and reaasonable prices.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“'' Home made ''”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

There is NOTHING frozen , in this restaurant . If this woman ( the cook ) had to prepare a dish at her home , she will prepare it , NO different . !!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Kalliotzina also viewed

Makry-Gialos, Lassithi Prefecture
Makry-Gialos, Lassithi Prefecture
 
Makry-Gialos, Lassithi Prefecture
Makry-Gialos, Lassithi Prefecture
 

Been to Taverna Kalliotzina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Kalliotzina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.