We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palmira Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makry-Gialos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palmira Apartments
Save
You added Palmira Apartments to your Saves list
Eparxiaki Odos Ierapetras - Sitias, Makry-Gialos, Crete 72055, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice hospitable owners Very glad to have met them. The are kind and friendly to there guests.
Rooms are very clean en well proportioned. Good sanataria and great airco working perfectly if you dont wont all the night sweating ;)). In fact this apartment is all you need as the basic for a great stay in the south east of crete.
-- ευχαριστώ πολύ --

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I first booked the Palmira Apartments many, many years ago as a late booking so I didn't know where I was staying. What a find, I've never stayed anywhere else and wouldn't want to. Since Kosmar/Excel folded I now make my own way, twice a year.
The owners Maria and Manolis have always been brilliant, even the first time I rang them to book direct, they couldn't have been more helpful.
The apartments are in a great location, they are spacious and immaculate and have all the facilities you need.
They are close to three beaches, all within 100 metres, a great choice of Tavernas and Restaurants and some lovely bars in which to people watch and see the world go by.
I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ΕΜΜΑΝΟΥΗΛ Σ, Owner at Palmira Apartments, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a praising feedback regarding Palmira apartments and we are pleased that your contact with us was memorable.

You may also be interested to learn that just this week we have set up Wi-Fi Internet connection so remember to bring your laptop or tablet with you next time!!!

Please feel free to contact us directly for further information -if any- when you are travelling to Makrigialos again so that we personally take care of you and your next stay.

Once again thank you so much for your wonderful comment regarding our business and we look forward to seeing you again!

Regards,
Maria & Manolis Stamatakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

After several years of visiting Makrygialos we came across Palmira apartments, firstly through Kosmar Holidays and then under our own steam. Palmira is a collection of apartments of varying sizes which are clean, serviceable and compared to most of the village, of a high standard. Since we first started staying there, the owners have installed air conditioning and TV's; but these only show local TV, a portable DVD player and cable is a must if you want to keep children entertained while you get ready to go out!
The site is on the main road up above the harbour which gets frequent breezes, if you want quiet request an apartment at the back of the site. The hill is not too steep so visitors with reasonable mobility should have no problems. The kitchenette is stocked adequately for light meals etc but the availability of plenty of eating houses close by mean that this is not an essential.
Just down the road is a bakery that clears out reasonably quickly so get there early, theres a super market on the corner across the road for most basic provisions. Luky Lukes just past the bakery is a must, it seems like your typical fast food outlet but is barbequed chicken is to die for. Its a familiy run business and your always made to feel very welcome.
I have read some comments about getting to Makrygialos, I suppose its why its kept its charm but it is a long way to get to from Haraklion airport. We use a website that provides a taxi or minibus service and when divided out its not that expensive.
Why do we like the Palmira, its a little community where you can sit on the balconies in the evening chatting to other tourists, its relatively quiet but within walking distance of all the amenities. If anything I prefer it now to when Kosmar and other UK travel companies used to use it and more and more mainland Greeks seem to be filling the void..

Room Tip: Rooms on the north of the site are quieter as they are furthest from the road, but the traffic is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ΕΜΜΑΝΟΥΗΛ Σ, Manager at Palmira Apartments, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Sir,
I would like to express our deepest gratitude for your sincere support towards our business, that you have provided through your recent review. Thank you so much for your time and we look forward to seeing you once more really soon.

Yours faithfully,
Manolis & Maria Stamatakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Had a great time the only drawback was the long transfer which was very expensive to get down to that part of Crete. Maria and Minola were very friendly and helpful and the apartments are very clean.
Plenty to do on the beach and lots of tavernas to eat at in the evening. Would go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ΕΜΜΑΝΟΥΗΛ Σ, Owner at Palmira Apartments, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Madam,
I am writing to express our sincere appreciation for your wonderful review concerning Palmira apartments since our clients' feedback is really important to us. We look forward to seeing you again really soon and be at your service.

Yours faithfully,
Manolis & Maria Stamatakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

My wife Sue and I have been visiting Makrigialos since 1996. We have tried to visit each summer since then and were concerned when Kosmar Villa Holidays, one of the main travel agents for the area went into liquidation last year. After some discussion our friends who we holiday with, and ourselves decided to visit under our own steam.
Not knowing where to start we found a web site of one of the bars we frequented and all the information was there at hand (Gecko Bar). The rest really is now history. We spent 3 weeks at Palmira, which has retained its charm, in fact it is now quieter with Greek families staying from the main land. The rates are very good and the standard of accommodation is I think the best in the viillage.
Maria and Minolo are excellent hosts. All our arrangements for accomodation was made by e-mail and I am glad to say our holidays to this village are back in our diaries.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmira Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmira Apartments

Address: Eparxiaki Odos Ierapetras - Sitias, Makry-Gialos, Crete 72055, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Makry-Gialos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Makry-Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmira Apartments in Makrigialos is a first class complex situated on the main village road,and is 5 minutes downhill walk of the harbor where there are taverns and shops. Each of the 16 spacious apartments of 45 (sqm) - split-level or single-level - can accommodate up to 4 people and is fully equipped.Enjoy the breathtaking view of the sea or the flowery courtyard from the balconies and terraces ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palmira Apartments Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmira Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.