We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place and helpful Staff speaking English” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lete Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lete Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Lete Youth Hostel
Jiancaixiang, Guoji Cun Gongyu #5 Building, 15th Floor, Xining 810000, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Xining
4.0 of 5 stars 59 Reviews
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Place and helpful Staff speaking English”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

very good Location close to the Center and in a high Building. The youth Hostel is located at 15th and 16th Floor with a fantastic View of Xining, especially the Stadium. All sort of Rooms and Dormitaries are available. Think to book during the high Season (June July August) because the Hostel is full quickly. I paid a Bed in Dormitory (4 Beds) 40 yuans without the Member's Card. This Hostel is very spacious and really very clean. spacious TV Room, a lot of Bathrooms are available on the two Floors and the Cleaniless is perfect. The Staff around Jane the Manager is helpful and speak a good English. They can give you advices/Informations about Qinghai Lake Accomodations/Buses and Schedules, don't hesitate to ask them. I could use the small Kitchen used by the Staff without Soucy. I asked to Gaowa and she gave me the Key. Free Wifi (without Facebook), Pool and Bar but it's a Pity, the Food and Drinks are a little bit too expensive. Lete is a good Place to meet chinese Travellers coming the big Cities in China and going to Tibet. The Neighborhood is pleasant with small Shops and Restaurants along the Street and accross the Avenue the Park and the Stadium.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
10
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great American food and accommodations! A little reluctant on food orders at times, but genuinely kind staff and nice facilities. As with just about any hotel in China, it seems (unless you stay at the 4+ star hotels in the big, eastern cities) they don't quite get "finishing the job". Lots of detail work to clean and finish rooms. But compared to other accommodations in China, this is relatively clean and well maintained, especially for the price. It also appeared safe for the kids, and the people staying at the hostel were genuinely nice and friendly. It is within walking distance of many neat little shops and restaurants. Especially loved Greenhouse Coffee! The local noodle shops and laundry were handy for meals, as well. Close to the park/soccer field, where lots of activities were available day and night. Xining is quite polluted and smoggy, but many neat things to see in the countryside, as well as some neat shopping in the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was a great place to stay-- wonderful staff, comfortable and clean hostel, and a great location. The staff I talked to was very comfortable with English and helpful in providing information. It's an easy walk to stores and restaurants around, and there are a few bars on the street as well. It's a very popular place for lots of foreigners, and gets full at the height of summer. Early summer is much quieter. Prices were very reasonable at 35-45 RMB for the dorm rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We were told good things about this place from people we'd met in Lhasa. First impressions were decent: young friendly staff on reception and bar, spacious room, G&T's on the menu. But we had a really bad experience with the owner, who actually spoke about us to her staff in Chinese right in front of us. She didn't want the staff to tell us where we could buy cheap imported goods (like gin and tonic water!), presumably because she thought we wouldn't then order from her bar. Presumably she also thought we didn't speak Chinese (which is pretty naive considering the number of foreigners walking around with even better Chinese than us these days). Unfortunately we've noticed that hostel owners in China often seem to be very business oriented, and not at all focused on helping out their guests.

Other feedback: the drinks were good, the food was poor, the location wasn't near very much you'd want to see, other than the owner the staff were great, there is a travel company upstairs but it's EXPENSIVE.

Anyway, we didn't end up finding where to buy any treats for our onward travels, and we did drink her G&T's (as we would have anyway), but we'll certainly not be staying at Lete again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011 via mobile

Good location, good staff, interesting lay out, but a little dirty and unmaintained.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benaya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We came to Lete to find some people talking english.
We found excelente staff very helpfull, with english knowledge and local trip advises.
We stayed in the suit, it was better than we expested, clean and comfort;.
The maneger of the hostel, Jean is a very special women, she made our time to be unforgotten. We will be back...........

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at the lete for 4 nights. The first two were spent in a private double with ensuite.

The bedroom felt unclean and the ensuite was horrible, the basin had little bits of hair from men's shaving, the toilet would not flush and the shower was disgusting and smelt. there were also electric wires for the hot water service dangling above the  shower head.

The room was also quite noisy from the road traffic bellow.

The following two nights were spent in a double bunk room with shared bathroom. As the reviewer bellow noted, the facilities are inadequate and very unclean.

The bedroom walls had mould behind where you hung your towel, the carpet was filthy and like the private room you had this feeling the space was rarely cleaned if at all.

On a positive note, the common areas work well but the free wifi only sparaticly worked. The kitchen only serves 4 breakfast options which were edible but nothing special.

The front desk when approached for local advice pointed us to a map for greater xining, not ideal.

There are great dumpling houses across the road from the lete which make for a quick dinner.

The lete is however well located, it has real potential, just the management team need to lift their game and hire better cleaners.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lete Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lete Youth Hostel

Address: Jiancaixiang, Guoji Cun Gongyu #5 Building, 15th Floor, Xining 810000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Qinghai > Xining
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Xining
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is centrally located in the downtown area of XiNing with many local and western restaurants close by. Our aim is to provide a warm and cozy place for backpackers and travelers. Our hostel is on the 16th floor and has a wonderful view of the city and scenery surrounding. We try our best to give you a “home away from home” with several public kitchens and sitting areas with large TV’s with DVD players. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Lete Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lete Youth Hostel Xining, Qinghai, China

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lete Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.