We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too bad it isn't in a better location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Yinchuan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Yinchuan to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Yinchuan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.160 Beijing Middle Road, Jinfeng District, Yinchuan 750002, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Early Booker-30% OFF
Ranked #4 of 385 Hotels in Yinchuan
Fort McMurray, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Too bad it isn't in a better location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed at the Kempinski on a business trip to Yinchuan in Feb 2013. Great hotel, breakfast was excellent, room are spacious and has everything you need. Only drawback was the location. There isn't much to do around the hotel that is from a walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    35
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
3
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I attended an investment forum in Yinchuan and we were hosted at the Kempinski hotel, a bran new establishment in the city of Yinchuan in the province of Ningxia in the north west of China. The hotel is superb with lovely rooms with modern furnishings and beautifil design. The spa was a dream featuring a large indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam ath, jaccizi and all the necessary ameties. The restaurant Berlin offers a lavish buffet breakfast with a great variety of different cooking both Euroean and Asian with fresh exotic fruits and all kinds of breads and vienoiseries . For lunch and dinner, the house was wide and varied including all kinds of meat, poultry and fish and see food. It was a real delight. The service was excellent and a German cook was delightful and so proud to show all the good cuisine the hotel can offer including some delicious pastry and ice-creams. I could not revisit the temptation o discover a new labour: the taro ice-cream with a lavender colour. It was a true delight. Would certainly love to come back to stay and discover this beautiful province, home to the famous yellow river and part ofthe ancient silk route where east and west meet in a successful and mst interesting mix of cultures and traditions. It was most enjoyable indeed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is a very nice and modern hotel in Yinchuan. The location is great, so are the views. Definitely worth a stay. There are members of the staff who are Europeans and speak good English. The food is great at the Berlin Cafe downstairs. It is a mix of Chinese and western food. For us, the breakfast was not included and the buffet turned out quite expensive.

Room Tip: Choose the front facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed here for a night whilst on Business in Yinchuan, the hotel is really very nice and I would have given it Excellent (compared to other hotels in the area) if the electrical outlets worked, if the Internet was not so poor, and if they served pork bacon and sausages at breakfast! I realise this is a mainly muslim area of China.. but we shouldn't enforce our religious beliefs and food choices on travellers, come on Kempinski, you can get pork in Muslim countries in the middle east!
The room was nice.. the bed very comfortable..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Djibouti, Djibouti
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

I enjoyed a 7 day meeting at this hotel. Service, hotel and room were perfect. The only challenging bit is that staff speaks hardly English. However there is always a western person around to assist you and to translate. Local head of departments do speak English as well, but it takes always time to search for them. besides language barrier this is a true 5 star hotel in a fantastic location opposite the governmental building.

Room Tip: Book def rooms facing the governmental side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Finding good western food is often a problem for me in China, but the Kempinski was up to satisfying even me. At breakfast (included in the tab) the chef cooked my eggs to order and got them right (over easy, sometimes difficult even in the States, where it's sometimes taken to mean uncooked on one side, incinerated on the other). They provided a wide choice of bread, rolls, and pastry as well as fruit and fruit juices, and real coffee. For lunch and dinner the choice was between buffet and a la carte; I found both excellent, and appreciated that staff often anticipated my needs. The room was well-designed, comfortable, and attractive. When we checked in the counter was mobbed. Waiting in the bar, I stood up and waved my arms and in an instant a young man named Benjamin was there, getting the keys for me and getting me and my luggage to our room. Benjamin, a recent hire, spoke fluent English. He was an English major in his home country, Mongolia. I have only high praise for the staff. Footnote: If you're not familiar with Yinchuan, make sure to get cabbed to Xiayu (Sand Lake). We were ferried to the Visitor Center/museum, rode camels to another dock, and a speedboat back to our cabbie. Also check out the petriglyphs, another side trip..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Good I have chosen this hotel due to its name affiliation to the Kempinski group. The food was great throuhout my stay (5 days), the service was attentive and the staff could converse with some limitation of course, in English. The room was grand and well designed. I felt safe at this hotel and would recommand without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kempinski Hotel Yinchuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Yinchuan

Address: No.160 Beijing Middle Road, Jinfeng District, Yinchuan 750002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Ningxia > Yinchuan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yinchuan
#6 Best Value Hotel in Yinchuan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Yinchuan 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Yinchuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Yinchuan Ningxia, China

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Yinchuan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.