We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the smell hit me first” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.868 Wu Yi Avenue, Kaifu District, Changsha 410005, China (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 1,288 Hotels in Changsha
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“the smell hit me first”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night on a recent business trip. When my driver dropped me off it was close to midnight and it was confusing how to get to reception, eventually someone passing by directed me to the second floor.

The staff wasn't very friendly at the reception. I was given my key and I headed to the room. As soon as the lifts opened to my floor the smell hit me, it was a cross between damp and stale cigarettes.

I settled in my room and tried to order a vodka and tonic via room service - 10 minutes later I had a call to say that they had spoken to the bar and it wasnt on the room service menu so I couldnt have it and I would have to go to the bar myself.

The room was ok and it had a great shower.

I was glad to leave and get some fresh air

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaChangsha, Manager at Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks for your suggestion and choosing to stay in Crown Plaza Changsha City Centre. Thank you for your time to rate us on the tripadvisor, I would like to express my appreciate that you give us such value comment and this is really benefit to our hotel. Please do accept my sincere apologize regarding the room were not meet your expectation during your past visit. We will look into those points with our management team and follow up some relevant action immediately. The hotel lobby is located on the 2nd floor to offer a quiet and private space for guest. There is a lift and a elevated separately on the 1st floor to get to the lobby. Meanwhile, if you need any assistance, please feel free to inquiry with our concierge or contact us directly. We aim to offer a professional and warm service to our valued guest. I really hope that you may give us opportunity to see our improvement and please drop me a line via 86 731 82888888x6608 once you have plan back to Changsha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    370
    80
    10
    5
See reviews for
11
18
18
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Very good experience, warm service, let me have the feeling of home! Choose to live in the hotel every time i came to changsha, as always! Restaurant launched many new dishes, I have more choice.Room is very comfortable and memorable is the coffee in western restaurant .thanks to the recommendation of a friend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaChangsha, Manager at Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks for your suggestion and choosing to stay in Crown Plaza Changsha City Centre. It is great hour for us that you have the feeling of home in our hotel. We aim to offer a efficiency and excellent service to each guest and let them have a comfortable stay in our hotel. We offered various choices for your breakfast in our spice resturant and our Pattaya Thai Restaurant is also a good choice with authentic Thai cuisine. There are some new cuisine and promotion in Spices and Pattaya Thai Restaurant recently. Looking forward to seeing you soon again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chongqing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The bed in the room is very comfortable , the staff is really professional and helpful. They can remenber my preference for living. When I check-in , they will prepare the pillow which I like. It makes me feel good. Also, the buffet dinner is so delicious and the location is very convinient there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaChangsha, Manager at Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks for your suggestion and choosing to stay in Crown Plaza Changsha City Centre. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Changsha city centre and thank you for your compliments of our service. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Convenient traffic! I can walk to the Xiang Jiang River to watch the fireworks, it's very beautiful there and it is unique in China !
The service of the hotel is thoughtful and warmly!
The food is very delicious especiouly Thai food !
In all,it makes me feel at home! I love this hotel!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaChangsha, Manager at Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks for your suggestion and choosing to stay in our hotel. We are glad to see your satisfaction with our service and the location of our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KunMing
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I like the Crowne plaza city center Changsha .It is my firsty stay of this hotel here, the geography position is very advantage, whether go shopping or go for a walk is very convenient And the staff in here is very nice and enthusiasm.And breakfast is very rich of the Spice coffee shop And rooms is very comfortable here.It is a nice trip and I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaChangsha, Manager at Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks for your suggestion and choosing to stay in our hotel. We will consistently offer excellent service and comfortable experience to you. Please feel free to contact us for your next trip to Changsha in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Crowne Plaza is ideally located in the city's central commercial district.Only 10 minutes walk to the bar, shopping malls;The hotel room is comfortable, the space is large;At the front desk service is very good, very polite
!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaChangsha, Manager at Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks for your suggestion and choosing to stay in our hotel. We are very happy to see your satisfaction with our hotel. We are located in the center of Changsha,and shopping street is just a few minutes away, Hope you enjoy the rest of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changsha, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hotel was beyond my expectation. The Location was very convenient which enables you having access to international fast food restaurants like McDonalds, KFC, Pizza Hut and there was one Carrefour Shopping center nearby. This is my fifth Time stay in this hotel and everything remains in order.The staff in here is very nice and warm.And I really like the food and the bed in this hotel .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaChangsha, Manager at Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks for your suggestion and choosing to stay in our hotel. My team would be happy to know that you appreciate our hotel. Looking forward to servicing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre

Address: No.868 Wu Yi Avenue, Kaifu District, Changsha 410005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hunan > Changsha > Downtown , Railway Station , Wuyi Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Changsha
#44 Best Value Hotel in Changsha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre is a international five-star hotel under IHG group. Located in the heart of downtown, Crowne Plaza City Centre Changsha is a smooth 45-minute drive from Changsha Huanghua International Airport. We're on Wuyi Square, putting you within walking distance of major businesses and city shopping,Such as to the Changsha Local culture street – Taiping Street, Changsha Traditional Food street – Pozi Street, and Changsha century-old restaurant – Huo Gong Dian, only about 5 minutes walking. What’s more, the especially opened branch of Huo Gong Dian is just located in the hotel building to provide wonderful foods & convenient service to you. It's 10 minutes by taxi to Changsha rail station and 45 minutes to Changsha South rail station, where you can connect to cities such as Guangzhou and Wuhan on high-speed trains.Our dedicated Crowne Meetings Director will see that every detail is taken care of when you host an event in one of the hotel's 16 meeting rooms and 3 ballrooms. The dark wood and plush seating in our lavish VIP banquet room set the scene for successful and intimate gatherings.Unwind with a dip beneath the skylights of our indoor pool or enjoy evening cocktails at Fusion Bar. Our in-the-know Concierge at Crowne Plaza City Centre Changsha will inspire you to discover Changsha's hidden gems, such as the scenic Qingfeng Gorge, flush with Ginkgo trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Changsha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.