We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orange Island Park

Orange Island Park
In Yuelu District, Yuelu District | Juzizhou, Changsha 410005, China
0731-8882152
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Activities in Changsha
Type: Parks, Game/ Entertainment Centers, Amusement
Attraction details
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Island park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I went here during December 2013 with family and a local of the area.
The entire park was very beautiful and filled with tangarine/mandarin trees as well as other flora as well as a few ponds making it a very peaceful place for relaxing. The main attraction of the park, of course, is the giant head statue of Chairman Mao at the tip of the island. There are mini trains that can take you to the statue (which I recommend because it's a very long walk).
There used to be a firework display every night which are said to be jaw droppingly amazing, but they have been stopped due to increased smog.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    58
    26
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
125 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Overwhelmed by Orange Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My son and daughter - in - law took me here with my wife and granddaughter.

What a very pleasant surprise and day out.

We arrived early on a bright sunny day in October and took the little train that runs around the island.

We stopped and had a pleasant walk to the monument of Chairman Mao, took many many photos, walked to the river and the surrounding area, it was clear and warm.

We had a lovely picnic on the river bank and then moved under the shade by the Orange trees.

What a lovely perfume was being given off by the orange tree. We need buy a couple of kilos and they were delicious.

From our home in Kai Fu, Changsha, Hunan and it was only 20 minutes drive and we went in the morning and left mid afternoon.

There is things for all generations to do and see and it is very popular.

I would certainly go again as it is a charming and very peaceful environment. Yes it gets bust but there is plenty of room for everyone.

Worth visiting.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Below average ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Going there has nothing fun, but watching fireworks which is being hold every statuary evening around eight pm is something you don't wanna miss, about the isle it's getting unpopular and neglect be visitors due to super expensive shuttle bus which takes you to watch what so called mao zi dong head statue!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nothing much but a park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Really nothing much about this park that is situated in between the 2 sides of the river. The statue is the only prominent thing you can take photo of. You can take a tram to reach there. Dont walk, its very far.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Takev, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pretty gardens, but thats about it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

not alot to see unless you like taking pics of gardens, it was nice to see, a long walk, but most of the gardens you wont see if you take the tour bus

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orange Island Park also viewed

 

Been to Orange Island Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange Island Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.