We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay was not bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plainvim International Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Plainvim International Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Plainvim International Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   In the ICC Building, No.18 Chengmentou Road, Chancheng District, Foshan 528000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 610 Hotels in Foshan
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Stay was not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I booked a business class 2 queen sized beds at agoda but was given a king-sized bed instead. I was supposed to share the room with my friend but the staff at reception refused to change my room to 2-queen beds as they claimed it's agoda which mixed up the rooms and they couldn't change due to price differences, even though I wanted to top up. Nevetheless since it's only about S$90 per night, I decided not to pursue the issue and book another room for my friend instead.

My business class room with king-size bed was big and surprisingly modern, with soft-touch switches, lounge chair, and good bathroom facilities, including a separate toilet and shower area. However I do find the bed abit too hard for my comfort. The walls are a little thin, as I can hear the chambermaid chatting away in the hallway at about 7+am in the morning.

Internet was provided free, and the connection was fast.

Was given free breakfast even though the booking did not come with breakfast and I didn't mind that. Breakfast was served at 31st floor (highest floor of the building), giving it a nice view of the city.

The buffet spread was good, with different breads, hot egg station, western and oriental style with juices and coffee and tea.

Location is good with spas, restaurant and drinking pubs just around the hotel. Ceramic city is also just a short 5-8 min taxi ride away.

Will definitely come back again as it is good value for money hotel.

Room Tip: If you need 2-queen size beds from booking at Agoda, make sure you let agoda or the hotel know in ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beersheba, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We came to Foshan in the purpose of buying building materials and furnitures for renewing our house. We were occupied from 8h30 to 19h00 - No time for leasure. The hotel was perfect. We stayed 5 nights. A big (+30m2) and luxury room, well isolated, with a huge and confortable bed (240 x 200). The hotel is in front of the Swisshotel and close to the CrownPlaza, but much cheaper. If you love Bathtube, update the room for 10 $ - you will get a nice and big Bathtube.
If you came for leasure - not adapted... No Fitness, no Pool, no Lobby...
Two remarks: Very poor understanding of English at the reception and the Breakfast is too simple for a 5 stars...

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smooking room if it is bothering you... China is NOT US/Europe... People smokes every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

we r stay for 5 day 4 nite , the hotel and room is clean and the staff is kind and helpful, hotel location is just 5 mins walk to near metro train, for price is reasonable.
but only thing is room without wifi ...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I always stay in this hotel. I prefer to stay for long more than 7 days even if i need to go to guanzhou daily. There are 2 Indian restaurant near by hotel. Bank of China for currency change and railway station and bus staition also.

Room Tip: all rooms are good. prefer to stay on front side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in this hotel for the Canton Fair and I was impressed by the well trained, detailed and friendly staff. The shuttle for the fair was well arranged and the staff in attendance completely responsible. Even provide drinking waster and raincoat, the latter which came in very useful on the final day which was a thunderstorm. The rooms are very clean and much better than the reception. The breakfast was decent but the restaurant had a breaktaking view of the city. It is also an affordable and wonderful experience to have dinner there at night. Rooms are really quiet and I liked the sensor light in the wardrobe which is useful and energy saving. I notice the GM is supervising the boarding of the bus and breakfast in the morning etc. which is why this hotel is such a well oiled machine. Internat is intermittent but when connected, it is really fast.

Room Tip: High floor, non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Standards vary so much in Chinese hotels especially those managed by local operators. Even when they try to pass themselves off as "international" (in standard) or "boutique" (in nature) one is never completely sure if it is the real thing. Well this oddly-named hotel tries hard to be one - the rooms are done up quite sumptuously (there's plenty of sculptural carvings and modern artwork) BUT that's where the aspiration ends. The front lobby & check-in is a complete disappointment and looks like its worth less than two stars; complete with its harsh and glaring fluorescent lighting. Service is efficient but brisk. There's hardly a place to sit down while waiting to be registered. Neither are there any bellboys to help with the luggage.

Having said that; it is very well-located and easy to find. Restaurants and shopping is right at its doorstep but frankly one does not come to Foshan to enjoy either. Room pricing is reasonable.

I guess ultimately the most important thing is still the room (quality) which is compact but well laid out. I wouldn't say it is spotless - just good enough. I was told that Plainvim is fairly new but the room interiors felt a little tired and worn to me. Water pressure in the shower is great but the drainage didn't work so well and I was afraid the water would overflow out of the stall. There was also a peculiar odour emanating from the drainer - most unpleasant. There's no wifi in the room but the internet connection is decent and there are only three English channels: CNN, BBC, HBO. The bed is rather firm - Chinese style but not too bad.

Things that could be better - housekeeping (it just didn't feel thorough enough especially the carpet), quality bath towels (don't they use bleach and softener?), install bath hooks (no place to hang wet towels), ventilation (the air was stale), toiletries (cheap, inadequate and where's the hair conditioner?). I hope the management will make these improvements; then calling themselves international and boutique will be more convincing and truthful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

The Plainvim is centrally located in Foshan and occupies the upper half of an office block called the ICC. There are plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance. We spent two weeks of very long days visiting factories across Foshan and the surrounding area. At the end of the day it was good to know that we had comfortable beds in quiet air conditioned rooms to come back to. Given the length of our stay, the staff at the bar/restaurant on the top floor got to know us pretty well and were very attentive. Both breakfast and the restaurant menu provide a good mix of Chinese and Western options. Two minor niggles would be the lack of wi-fi in the rooms and the fact that reception staff don't always make it clear if they have not understood what you are saying to them. Strangely they also never once refilled the minibar.
I didn't sleep very well while we were in Foshan but I think that may have had more to do with the thick smog than anything else.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are slightly larger and slightly more expensive. I couldn't see much d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plainvim International Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plainvim International Boutique Hotel

Address: In the ICC Building, No.18 Chengmentou Road, Chancheng District, Foshan 528000, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Foshan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 610 Hotels in Foshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plainvim International Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Plainvim International Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plainvim International Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.