We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality 5 Star with Western Style Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Shunde Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Shunde Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Shunde Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.11 Desheng Middle Road, Shunde Daliang District, Foshan 528300, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
¥500 (RMB)
Ranked #7 of 603 Hotels in Foshan
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Quality 5 Star with Western Style Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Best hotel in the Foshan, Shunde area. Close to the Ferry to Hong Kong. The rooms are clean, modern, and comfortable. The staff are all well trained and accommodating. And the price makes this a compelling value. Well done. Yes, a bit of a distance from the center, but worth the time.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade to the Club Floor - excellent food and service at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena L, Online Distribution Executive at Sheraton Shunde Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Sir,

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We are glad to see that our efforts were worth it.
Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sheraton Shunde Hotel Representative Lena Liu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    114
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
4
4
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel is very nice, good decor, rooms are large and well equipped, executive rooms have a large bathtub and separate shower. Everything is well maintained and we had a really good sleep.

Breakfast is rich with a lot of variety among chinese and western cusine, and room service present a large variety of dishes even if asking for some of them there is a high probability that they are sold out. Quality of food is in general very good.

Location wise it's probably very good for business in the factories around town, but it's very far from Foshan center, more than 30 min driving, and for sure it's not a good place for exploring Foshan.

It's mandatory to have a car if you want not to be trapped there or rely on local taxi drivers.

Room Tip: Executive Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena L, Online Distribution Executive at Sheraton Shunde Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Sir,

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We are glad to see that our efforts were worth it.
Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sheraton Shunde Hotel Representative Lena Liu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Sheraton Shunde for two nights from Saturday afternoon to Monday afternoon in the month of July. I was there with my wife and my two little kids. Since I’m a Starwood member I was put on a Starwood floor in the hotel and was given late checkout (4pm).

Room:
The room was a good size, (it is smaller than the advantage room at the Swissotel in Foshan though). The room has lots of shelving and drawer space, very ideal for someone staying for many days. In regards to the cleanliness of the room; I did notice some hair close to the sink left over from someone shaving, hair in the beautiful round tub (great for a bath) and someone’s toenail on the carpet. I also found some clothing tags and a laundry receipt from the previous occupants of the room in the closet. In the bathroom the water pressure was fine and the shower was great as the floor is raised a bit and the water runs off the sides. The bed is very comfortable; actually quite soft for a hotel in China. There is an ipod dock to recharge any Apple device you bring with you. The internet was fine but it is not wireless (cord provided) and there are a variety of plugs (for HK devices/HDMI) in the wall beside the desk. Free internet was included in our room rate however when we connected our cord to our computer, it asked which payment plan we preferred – after we called down to the front desk they told us just to choose any plan and we wouldn’t be charged for it. When we checked in we were told there was a crib in the room for our youngest son but when we got to the room the crib wasn’t there. My wife called down to the front desk and the staff delivered the crib within minutes. We asked for a room with a view of the river which we didn’t get but we had a view of the front of the hotel instead. Each room has a balcony which we didn’t spend any time on. The curtains in the room open electronically with a button near the bed however ours didn’t work. I suspect not many people would know to use a button and have pulled the curtains open so many times it has ruined the system. On Saturday night, we could hear the bass music pumping from the bar just outside the hotel and we were on the 12th floor.

Breakfast:
The breakfast buffet was an interesting experience. This is one of the reasons why I entitled my review “night and day.” We were able to experience the breakfast buffet twice, once on Sunday morning and again Monday morning. On Sunday, there were literally hundreds of people eating and on Monday morning only 10 people when we were there. On Sunday morning we purposely went to breakfast late (around 9:40) hoping the tour groups would have already eaten, however when we arrived the eating area was still packed and there was almost no food to be seen. You may be thinking that last sentence is an exaggeration but I am not kidding, 80% of the dishes had no food on them and there were no glasses for juice or mugs for coffee. Anyway, we were pretty shocked and contemplated complaining to management about the lack of food, however they let us stay and eat breakfast way past 10 (when breakfast usually ends) and the cooks and servers continued bringing out food until most of the dishes were replaced even though breakfast was technically finished. Monday morning as I mentioned the breakfast was so empty, so we were able to enjoy a more relaxed meal. The one advantage about the busy breakfast the day before was we got to enjoy more hot and fresh food. Fresh pastries arrived after 10am on Sunday morning but because there were barely any people on Monday morning the batch of pastries or for example bacon that were put out at 6:00 or whenever breakfast started were most likely the same ones we were eating at 9:30.

Swimming pool:
Almost as soon as we arrived at the hotel we suited up and headed down to the pool, my 3 year old especially was excited about going swimming! When we arrived at the pool (on the 5th floor) much to our disappointment we were told that swimming caps were required for all those going into the pool. Of course the hotel sells swimming caps but at an inflated price. Thankfully there’s a big play area with toys located on that floor as well so our kids were happy to play in there and not too disappointed that we couldn’t swim. Since we’ve returned home I’ve checked the hotel website and the site says nothing about having a kid’s play area, I would think they would like to add this as it is a nice amenity for parents with young kids. Back to the swimming caps - since we were heading into the city that night we were able to pick up some swimming caps at a Jusco (a local department store) for a better value. The hotel staff initially seemed pretty strict about the swimming cap rule, however we did see some people who would eventually take theirs off and my wife did see someone swimming with a shower cap on rather than a swimming cap.

Exercise room:
Also located on the 5th floor was well spaced room with exercise balls bikes, elliptical trainers and treadmills. They have weight machines along with free weights too. There is a ping pong table in a separate room and a tennis court on site.

Staff:
The staff were very friendly and the level of English was very good. Since there were 4 of us in the room we often had to call for extra towels and they would respond to our request within minutes. The staff at the front desk were also very nice as well as the concierge who would help get us taxis.

In conclusion I’d probably stay at this hotel again but maybe during weekdays to avoid the weekend rush of travel tours. It is a bit far from any shopping which we knew before we booked our stay, however it would be nice if the hotel provided a shuttle bus service to the main shopping areas about 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena L, Online Distribution Executive at Sheraton Shunde Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Mr,

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. And we are glad to see that our efforts were worth it.

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

SHERATON SHUNDE HOTEL REPRESENTATIVE LENA LIU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

It was a great hotel, it had everything I needed and the employees were always ready to assist you. The gym was good, as well as the swimming pool. The western food restaurant was very good as well. My room was very comfortable. It had a nice park behind the hotel where I could do some jogging, too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena L, Online Distribution Executive at Sheraton Shunde Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Sir,

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments.It's our great honor to meet your every need during your accommondation.And it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sheraton Shunde Hotel Representative Lena Liu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Over the years, I have had to stay in Shunde for extended periods. I love this hotel. The rooms, especially river view rooms, are excellent. Big baths, comfortable bed and reliable Internet, with wireless routers available.

Service and staff go out of their way, often times amazing me. The level of English here is so high that I rarely need my Chinese.

2 negatives: a/c never gets cold enough; breakfast in Sheraton Club could be improved.

All in all, for a night or a month, a fine hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena L, Online Distribution Executive at Sheraton Shunde Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your loyalty to Sheraton Shunde Hotel and for writing a review about your stay. We certainly apologize that there is someting that can't meet your need. Your comment about A/C and breakfast has been delivered to the concerning deparment.Hope you will see our improvement in your next accommondation.I appreciate the comments that you have shared and we certainly look forward to your return.

Sheraton Shunde Hotel Representative Lena Liu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cremona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Very good business hotel. Large rooms, recently build. All the amenities available. pretty good restaurant with buffet service. Indoor swimming pool for free and tennis court.
Negative points: it's a little bit out of city, you cannot reach the city without transportation (taxi). But you can walk along the river, there is a kind of park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Online Distribution Sales at Sheraton Shunde Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Sir,

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. Our hotel is located in the new developed zone, somehow it may cause some inconvenience for your travel to the city. But the river and park nearby must meet your needs for vacation.
Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sheraton Shunde Hotel Representative Lena Liu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel is on the river a few minutes from the Shunde ferry terminal. Access is great as you are at the hotel a few minutes after clearing immigration.
Nice welcome, staff good and friendly. English fair. I was asked to join SPG which was done for me from start to finish. Just had to give them a business card. Room was perfect. Large and with everything anyone could need . Superb bathroom with round bath and rain shower..
The business level served very good evening canapés and drinks. Fantastic views from the lounge with free wifi as well. Staff friendly and helpful. They even sent someone to the bus terminal to get me a bus ticket which was more that what I expected. They also helped sort out a problem I had with a local laundry.
The hotel was close to where I was doing business which made it very convenient.
I didn't try out any of the restaurants in the hotel but the little I saw of them was impressive.
Breakfast was more than sufficient. Nice range of food available and the omelets were very good.
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena L, Online Distribution Executive at Sheraton Shunde Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Sir,

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments . It's our great honor to make a perfect accommondation to you. It is always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We are glad to see that our efforts were worth it.
Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sheraton Shunde Hotel Representative Lena Liu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Shunde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Shunde Hotel

Address: No.11 Desheng Middle Road, Shunde Daliang District, Foshan 528300, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Foshan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 603 Hotels in Foshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Shunde Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leading the way as Shunde’s first international five-star hotel, the Sheraton Shunde Hotel is an idyllic retreat and a convenient home base for exploring the charms of this dynamic city. Conveniently located in the focal point of the Pearl River Delta, key cities like Dongguan, Guangzhou, Zhongshan, and even Hong Kong can all be reached in less than two hours without the need for air transportation. Meeting, shopping, and sightseeing in South China has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Shunde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Shunde Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.