We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moroccan Spring Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ksar Shama

Save Saved
You added Ksar Shama to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ksar Shama
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Marigha 42 150, Ouirgane 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Ouirgane B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Moroccan Spring Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Arrived in torrential rain but umbrellas were found and we arrived at our rustic but very spacious room dry if rather cold.A fire was lit and extra blankets found and we were soon snug.We were a little under clothed a could have done with a few extra layers.
Awaking in the morning to sunshine we could fully appreciate the beautiful setting of the hotel surrounded by the snow capped High Atlas peaks.It is set in a large area of olive and fruit trees which were alive with birds and has a lovely pool with lots of loungers and tables and chairs to relax on.
Breakfast was good and the restaurant which served good Italian/Moroccan food was reasonable and changed its menu each day.A good range of wines was available.
It is a good trekking base and local guides are available for a variety of routes .The staff could not have been more helpful or hospitable and the manageress even took us to the local market in her car.
A great place to relax and chill before or after the manic atmosphere of Marrakech,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    32
    9
    12
    5
See reviews for
18
56
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Beautifully clean junior suite, open log fire (necessary in February), great views of the Atlas and good walking, you can trust the local guides and get a good price. Food a bit iffy but you dont stay in a Berber village for Michelin food.
Italian lady manager terrific, if you want sometime just ask and she will try to sort it. I've been coming to Maroc since 1970, and with places like this it just gets better.
Dropped a point due to food!

Room Tip: Use the fire, junior suite lovely in the evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The setting was lovely - much better than being in Marrakech - and the rooms were to a high standard. Nice pool, sun loungers, good selection of wines and beers.

All the staff were really nice and very accommodating.

V cute kittens.

Breakfast was not to my taste - mainly because I have a wheat intolerance. So if you go there do ask for something else. They provided fruit platters and omelettes but did forget sometimes and continued to bring out cake, bread, jam etc. It would be nice if there was an official choice.

I preferred the Moroccan menu over Italian. I felt this was not good value for money as the portions were quite small. But it wasn't bad overall just better portion sizes elsewhere in the area. There are also quite a few other restaurants to visit in the area if you have a car.

And you do need a car! I could not imagine not having transport there.

One other thing - please leave a way for guests to get in after 11pm. We arrived at that time and could not get in. My boyfriend climbed over the fence and unlocked the door so all was fine but after a long drive we were worried that we could not get in. Maybe a door bell or tel number to call to get in.

Overall very good experience mainly because of the lovely staff, beautiful setting, fantastic rooms and good service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel last minute directly along with our flight with BA. I had read a couple of reviews and was a littel apprehensive but as the hotel has just changed hands I hoped that the reality was different. The hotel was delightful. It is run day to day but two very helpful ladies. we were upgraded to a bigger room and one of them showed me the work that is being done to the other rooms to raise the standard. It is clearly taking time but this didnt effect our enjoyment of the hotel. For the first 3 days/nights there was only one other couple at the hotel and the peace and quiet was just what we needed. The menu was basic and quite a few tagines that after a couple of days grew a little tiring but as we were in rural Morocco we didnt expect Michelin star cuisine. One night we went to another small hotel run by a french couple which was a nice change and the menu was a little larger.

Breakfast consists of sweet breads, cakes and coffee with some fruit salad. There was no English breakfast option. Rasheed the waiter tried hard but his English was limited and so a couple of things got lost in translation.

My husband had a massage which was v. readonably priced and would recommend it.

I had previously read some awful reviews about the condition of the pool. They couldnt be further from the truth. The pool looked beautiful and clean. Even though it was boiling hot sunshine the water was cold so very refreshing after basking in the sun.

We spent a day mountain biking from Imlil which we would highly recommend and I had a full day horse riding which was great, although the guide was Berber and spoke no english and very little french. It was a shame as I was the only guest and would have been nicer to share with another person so was quite a lonely day but stunning scenery.

I would highly recomend this hotel as a complete contrast to Marrakech. 5 nights were enough for me but it is possible to make day trips from here to the city if you would rather be in a rural location.

Just a word of caution for those who are attached to their smart phones. There is very limited wifi (in reception only) and only tv is also there.

We would go back.

Room Tip: I would spend a little more and opt for the superior rooms as more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Beautiful hotel set in a tranquil environment. Would have given 4 stars except for the terrible food.

I should say breakfast was lovely but the evening meals were terrible. Chops were all bone and no meat. Sent chicken back as was half raw. Samosa thing was still frozen in the middle - sent it back twice !!! Chips were cold.

The food was not cheap and the helpings were small - the whole thing spoilt what would have been a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We came here from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech so this was an oasis of calm with stunning scenery. The hotel has undergone some refurbishment since being taken over by new management and had been open one week before we arrived. The rooms are tastefully furnished in typical Moroccan style and are very comfortable set in olive groves slightly away from the reception and pool area. The pool area is gorgeous with lots of sun loungers and shade if you want it.

The hotel staff were extremely friendly where nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent with the chefs (one Morrocan and one Italian) prepared to adapt the menu to suit your preferences where possible; they would talk to you about the menu and help you make your choices.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed here to chill out after hectic 12 days touring the sites in Morocco. What a gem ! The new management team are quite charming. The gardens and rooms are spotless and the pool ~ just stunning. Two nights was not long enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ksar Shama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ksar Shama

Address: Marigha 42 150, Ouirgane 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ouirgane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ouirgane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ksar Shama 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixty kilometers south of Marrakech, at the foothills of the Atlas Mountains. Situated on its own 15 hectare olive grove, offering its visitors a breathtaking panoramic view of the snow-capped Atlas Mountains. Relax amidst the surrounding natural beauty, take local excursions, enjoying tastes of the local fare, fruits from the garden, olive oil from the groves. Large group facilities allow for unforgettable memorable occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Ksar Shama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ksar Shama Hotel Ouirgane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ksar Shama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.