We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel to your Saves list
DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Marigha | Route d'Amizmiz par Asni, Imlil, Ouirgane 42152, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ouirgane
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is possibly the most wonderful place I have ever stayed. I simply can not understand why this is not a 5 star. The rooms/pool/views are absolutely out of this world. The manager Paul is possibly the most lovely man I've ever met, as well as all the staff, all going out of their way to help you have the most amazing trip possible. We are already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    28
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
63
254
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our tour company booked us in, and what a gem! Paul met us and enthusiastically showed us to our room, and told us about the guest house. We chose to have the tea in our room, very nice too. Our room looked out over the property, pool and olive trees, with mountains behind. Our room was up a few stairs, had roof access where there were lounge chairs and a great view of the stars at night. The room had a large squate tub, nice shower, separate toilet. The bed was very large and comfortable, the pillows were lovely too.
The food was tasty and creatively presented. Quiet jazz accompanied breakfast and dinner. There was a sitting area and a small library with french and a few english books.
We had a hike arranged with mules and a picnic lunch. The guide was informative and matched his pace to ours, and the mules followed. We enjoyed a ride for the last 30 minutes, the mule leaders handled the mules caringly and expertly. After all the driving we were so glad to exercise and get close tomthe scenary.
Malika is in a nice little village, we hope to return, on our own next time.

Room Tip: The first floor opens from a privat deck to the garden and pool. The second floor has a balcony and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Paul and his team made us very welcome. Lovely gardens and location and the rooms certainly have a "Wow!" factor. I would certainly want to go there again if I were going to Morocco. It is a good thing to combine with Marrakech, being so much more rural, but only 80 minutes by taxi from the city. There are great walks to do, and you can easily get a taxi to take you around if you want for excursions further afield. You may well hear the nose of chickens, donkey, dogs etc, but if you live in the country, you must expect that: at least there is no traffic noise! Just down the lane, about 300m, there is a small shop where you can get all sort of odds and ends. Worth a visit, but the old chap who is usually there, mainly speaks Moroccan Arabic. If there is someone else there, they can usually help out with French. English is spoken by people in the tourist trade but otherwise the lingua franca is indeed French. Glad I did it at school!

Wonderful evening menu available: we ate there on each of our 3 nights. I would love to stay at this place again. We wish Paul and his Team every success in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights at Domaine Malika in February after two nights in Marrakesh. For us, this combination was ideal and we were able to completely relax after two manic days in the Medina. We selected Domaine Malika based on the tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed.

We stayed in a standard room, which was a good size and very comfortable, with amazing views from the full height windows. The roof terrace was directly accessible from steps from our room and we spent a couple of afternoons relaxing in the sunshine with incredible views all around.

Paul and the staff at Domaine Malika are very welcoming and go out of their way to make your stay special. The food is excellent - breakfasts are fresh and plentiful and the dinners are superb, making use of fresh produce grown in the hotel gardens.

Paul organised a guided walk for us with one of the Mohammeds (apparently there are two guides that Paul recommends, both called Mohammed!). We would recommend this as we saw much more that we would have on our own and we visited a working olive press in a nearby village, which was amazing.

We visited the market at Asni on Saturday, which is large and very interesting, but quite graphic in the butchery area and we did find that several friendly locals latched on to us and followed us closely, trying to sell their wares.

Paul organised our taxi transfers from and to Marrakesh, which went smoothly. We would definitely consider a return visit to Domaine Malika, but next time we would probably hire a car to allow us to explore the mountains beyond Ourgaine as the scenery is breathtaking. The local area is very rural and unspoilt.

All in all a very relaxing stay in an excellent small hotel with welcoming staff and mouth-watering food.

Room Tip: We were very satisfied with our standard room, which was large, comfortable and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My partner and i have just come back from our trop to marrakech.
we finished our trip with two nights at Domaine Malika to escape the frenzy of marrakech and just relax before returning to london.
I had booked quit late and were therefore offered to stay in the suite for the first night and then a junior suite for the second.
Our stay was lovely, the staff is friendly and professional and the level of service is almost butler like. We had dinner there on the first night which was delicious. they had a set menu everyday but we were told to not hesitate to let them know if there was anything from the menu that we didn't fancy. we were happy with the menu but saw that other people had gone for alternatives. this is just another credit to the attention to detail and level of care here.
unfortunately we didn't eat there on the second night and regretted it as the restaurant we dined in locally was nowhere as nice.
We had hired a car from marrakech which enabled us to explore a little on our way there, once we got to the Domaine we were happy to stay put by the pool or lounge in our room.
Both rooms were exquisite, with the junior suite being just as beautiful as the suite. the only different we could note is the complete quiet in the suite as it is in a completely different building.
the decor of the house is beautiful, a mix of art deco and marrocan, very tasteful!!
We hope to return sometime as our stay was short!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaus, AM
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I've been in the company of Paul and his mother for a week. We celebrated the New Year´s eve together on a beautiful night tasting wine, hearing berbere and Jazz music, taking good conversation and enjoyng the amazing food. I recommend more than one season at Domaine Malika.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Beautiful, well run and small this is a great place to stay. Lots of amenities given the location. Food was very good. Let Paul the owner give you advice on where to hike and which guides to use. It is easy to get lost in the Berber villages.

We did not try the spa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel

Address: Douar Marigha | Route d'Amizmiz par Asni, Imlil, Ouirgane 42152, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ouirgane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ouirgane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Domaine Malika is a luxury guest house in the Al Haouz province boasting a wonderful setting in a valley in Ouirgane surrounded by pine forests and olive groves. This guest house offers a refined and friendly atmosphere where guests on holiday in Morocco will spend enjoyable moments in a relaxing and luxurious ambiance in a natural setting next to the Toubkal national park with views over the High Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.