We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Atlas Mountain Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ouirgane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Marigha | Route d'Amizmiz par Asni, Imlil, Ouirgane 42152, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Ouirgane
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Beautiful Atlas Mountain Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was my husband and my first stop on our Honeymoon in Morocco and it took our breath away. The location is beautiful and so peaceful - we had never experienced anything like the fresh Atlas Mountain air :-) Paul and his mom were wonderful hosts. They helped us arrange a tour with Mohammed which we definitely recommend! The food was amazing. Mint Tea was amazing. Just an ideal place that we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    23
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
54
220
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

A lovely guest house in a amazing location. Paul the owner was such a nice guy and was always helpful. If you wanted to get away from it all this is the place. We had a guided walk organised with Mohammed who took us out for the whole day and we had a traditional Berber lunch in a village and his knowledge was amazing from the places, people, and even plants! He knew everything! Also had a 4x4 tour and a massage at the hotel which was great. All I would say is the evening menu should have more of a choice and the it would be nice if the pool was heated but you can't have everything! Overall first class!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londre
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Paul and his Maman, together with their admirable and charming staff have created an idyllic settlement in the midst of the arid hills of the Atlas.
Just 7 rooms make this a fabulous retreat reachable from Marrakech airport in an hour and a quarter. Sadly in February the pool was too cool to use
The kitchen garden is huge and produce used for the evening meals.
Cooking is honest and fresh, with no choice, so ensure you advise them if you do not like to eat any particular thing.
We found 2 nights here ideal. I'm not sure what you would have done on a third day.
Our rooms were really comfortable with great views and excellent king size bed.

Room Tip: Check them out on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

When we find a magical retreat like this one, we are reluctant to share it with the rest of the world. Paul and his mum run a haven so relaxing but with such attention to detail and personalised service that we were fully recharged after 5 blissful nights.
With quirky Art Deco furniture, scrumptious French-Moroccan food , soothing Hammam , stunning modern pool and breathtaking mountain vistas, this place is every bit as good as the reviews.
We strongly recommend a guided walk walk with Mohammed ( a local guide), who took us to explore the foothills of Toubkal We were invited into his home to share tagine and tea with his family.
A perfect getaway , away from the bustle of Marrakech, but close enough for a day trip.
Graeme and Annie

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I were in Marrakech for a week and reserved one night for day trip to escape the very busy and sometimes tiring atmosphere of the city. Since our trip was a relatively short one we didn't want to travel too far, but wanted to see more rural areas, do some hiking and get some fresh air. The owner of our Riad recommended going towards Ouirgane as it was a relatively short drive but afforded lovely views of the Atlas mountains and the chance to walk through small villages and, importantly, is an area relatively unknown to tourists. He further recommended Domaine Malika (we had been leaning towards staying at Chez Momo based on guidebook recommendations). What an excellent recommendation! We rented a car at the Marrekech airport and after easily found Domaine Malika (the drive probably took us about 2.5 hours, but we were going very slowly and stopping now and then to take pictures). The hotel is near a very small, cute village, in the middle of a few medium-to-large agricultural properties. The hotel itself is on a large piece of land and produces its own olives, olive oil and much of the produce served at dinner...and what a dinner! The dinner we had at Domaine Malika was by far the best meal of our entire trip. Everything was incredibly fresh, delicious and while inspired by local flavors and spices, a refreshing break from the never-ending rotation of couscous and tagines you get in most restaurants. The place is small so there's a set menu, but they happily accommodate dietary restrictions with a little advance notice. The owner Paul was very friendly and informative and provided us with a small map of the area with a few suggested hikes marked. Our room was amazing - enormous floor-to-ceiling windows with gorgeous views of the surrounding countryside and the tips of the Atlas mountains peeping over the foothills, a fireplace, a huge bathtub and a very comfortable bed. Our only regret was that we could only stay one night - we plan to reserve more time for Domaine Malika on our next trip through Morocco. Oh, and maybe that we were there in winter - the pool area looked quite inviting for those lucky enough to visit during hotter months!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

.. that I only spent 24 hours in this heavenly place... but there were many other places to see in Morocco in a very short time. On the other hand, a place like this, with its landscape and fine rooms and amenities, deserves its own trip. Agnes and team, thank you for welcoming me just like into your home and hope to see you again not too late. A la prochaine!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Would highly recommend staying here during your Morocco trip. I adored all the Riads my family stayed at during our trip but having central heat AND heated floors and a dinner menu that is not entirely made up of tagine was a welcome change. Paul was super friendly and the staff was amazing. Our waiter at dinner even taught us some Berber words. We ended up going for a walk on our first day and met a random guy who asked us if we wanted a tour of a local village. We were wary and said no, but he kept following us so eventually we gave in. We were nervous but it ended up being great, he was so nice and at the end he only asked us for about the equivalent of $30 for a 2 hour tour and he gave us 3 pieces of Berber made jewelry that he sells for a living. I guess Morocco is the only country where I'd advocate wandering off into the mountains with a random stranger.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have access to the roof. Rooms on the lower floor can walk right out to the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel

Address: Douar Marigha | Route d'Amizmiz par Asni, Imlil, Ouirgane 42152, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ouirgane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Ouirgane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Domaine Malika is a luxury guest house in the Al Haouz province boasting a wonderful setting in a valley in Ouirgane surrounded by pine forests and olive groves. This guest house offers a refined and friendly atmosphere where guests on holiday in Morocco will spend enjoyable moments in a relaxing and luxurious ambiance in a natural setting next to the Toubkal national park with views over the High Atlas mountains. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel to your Saves list