We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep this place a secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel

Save Saved
You added DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Marigha | Route d'Amizmiz par Asni, Imlil, Ouirgane 42152, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Ouirgane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Keep this place a secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

When we find a magical retreat like this one, we are reluctant to share it with the rest of the world. Paul and his mum run a haven so relaxing but with such attention to detail and personalised service that we were fully recharged after 5 blissful nights.
With quirky Art Deco furniture, scrumptious French-Moroccan food , soothing Hammam , stunning modern pool and breathtaking mountain vistas, this place is every bit as good as the reviews.
We strongly recommend a guided walk walk with Mohammed ( a local guide), who took us to explore the foothills of Toubkal We were invited into his home to share tagine and tea with his family.
A perfect getaway , away from the bustle of Marrakech, but close enough for a day trip.
Graeme and Annie

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    26
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
60
239
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I were in Marrakech for a week and reserved one night for day trip to escape the very busy and sometimes tiring atmosphere of the city. Since our trip was a relatively short one we didn't want to travel too far, but wanted to see more rural areas, do some hiking and get some fresh air. The owner of our Riad recommended going towards Ouirgane as it was a relatively short drive but afforded lovely views of the Atlas mountains and the chance to walk through small villages and, importantly, is an area relatively unknown to tourists. He further recommended Domaine Malika (we had been leaning towards staying at Chez Momo based on guidebook recommendations). What an excellent recommendation! We rented a car at the Marrekech airport and after easily found Domaine Malika (the drive probably took us about 2.5 hours, but we were going very slowly and stopping now and then to take pictures). The hotel is near a very small, cute village, in the middle of a few medium-to-large agricultural properties. The hotel itself is on a large piece of land and produces its own olives, olive oil and much of the produce served at dinner...and what a dinner! The dinner we had at Domaine Malika was by far the best meal of our entire trip. Everything was incredibly fresh, delicious and while inspired by local flavors and spices, a refreshing break from the never-ending rotation of couscous and tagines you get in most restaurants. The place is small so there's a set menu, but they happily accommodate dietary restrictions with a little advance notice. The owner Paul was very friendly and informative and provided us with a small map of the area with a few suggested hikes marked. Our room was amazing - enormous floor-to-ceiling windows with gorgeous views of the surrounding countryside and the tips of the Atlas mountains peeping over the foothills, a fireplace, a huge bathtub and a very comfortable bed. Our only regret was that we could only stay one night - we plan to reserve more time for Domaine Malika on our next trip through Morocco. Oh, and maybe that we were there in winter - the pool area looked quite inviting for those lucky enough to visit during hotter months!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

.. that I only spent 24 hours in this heavenly place... but there were many other places to see in Morocco in a very short time. On the other hand, a place like this, with its landscape and fine rooms and amenities, deserves its own trip. Agnes and team, thank you for welcoming me just like into your home and hope to see you again not too late. A la prochaine!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Would highly recommend staying here during your Morocco trip. I adored all the Riads my family stayed at during our trip but having central heat AND heated floors and a dinner menu that is not entirely made up of tagine was a welcome change. Paul was super friendly and the staff was amazing. Our waiter at dinner even taught us some Berber words. We ended up going for a walk on our first day and met a random guy who asked us if we wanted a tour of a local village. We were wary and said no, but he kept following us so eventually we gave in. We were nervous but it ended up being great, he was so nice and at the end he only asked us for about the equivalent of $30 for a 2 hour tour and he gave us 3 pieces of Berber made jewelry that he sells for a living. I guess Morocco is the only country where I'd advocate wandering off into the mountains with a random stranger.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have access to the roof. Rooms on the lower floor can walk right out to the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We visited Domaine Malika towards the end of our trip to Morocco. We wish we spent more time there! The rooms are beautiful. The view from my bed when I woke up in the morning was spectacular. While there we went on a lovely trek through the mountains with a local guide and 5 mules for our family. It was fantastic. The food at D. Malika was excellent, prepared French style which was a nice break from the Tagines that we were served every where in Morocco. The staff was friendly and helpful. We all enjoyed services in the hammam, which was a special treat. Would highly recommend this hotel!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We arrived at this hotel on Dec 31 and the transfer worked as agreed (600 MAD). The check in was smooth and we were directed to our room promptly. I can't thank Agnes and Paul enough for being so friendly and looking after me as unfortunately I arrived ill from Marrakesh but nothing was too much trouble for them. They took their time to take to the pharmacy and to the polyclinique in Marrakesh. They were exceptional!
The settings are amazing with olives tree, roses, hamman and a lovely swimming pool for you to relax.
The Junior suite is much better than the suite. We stayed at the suite and then moved to a Junior suite which was well structured with a lovely fireplace in the room.
All the members of staff are friendly, helpful and always with a smile on their faces! We loved it!

Room Tip: Rooms: Go for number 4. It is a junior suite with panoramic views of the High Atlas Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel's beauty speaks for itself but it is showcased by its charming host, Paul, who works so hard behind the scenes to ensure that every customer feels that they are special... nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in October with our 3 children (15, 13 and 10 years old) and we were all made so welcome. The setting is stunning and the rooms beautifully furnished, the food freshly prepared and the living/dining room cosily furnished and welcoming. We stayed in three places during our trip to Morocco and we all voted unanimously that this was our favourite as it had the best combination of luxury and homeliness. We loved sitting by the fire chatting, playing games and reading as if we were at home. Paul arranged for a local guide, Mohammed, to give us a tour of the local area and the children shared riding on a mule which made the day great fun rather than the 'boring walk' they anticipated! Mohammed was a complete star and so knowledgable about the area, entertaining the children with anecdotes as we walked through the beautiful mountain countryside. We were accompanied by another lovely Mohammed, who was in charge of the mule (!) and he gave us a magical experience as he took us to meet his family and have tea in a beautiful Berber house. The Berbers legendary hospitality is not just a legend, it is real, and everyone was so friendly to us. I cannot recommend Domaine Malika or the Atlas Mountains experience highly enough. If you are in Morocco, you must stay here - we had two nights and wished we could have stayed a third to do one of the other treks on offer. Merci Paul! You have created a luxurious haven which welcomes its guests without intimidating them and many boutique hotels could learn a lot from your warmth and hospitality.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel

Address: Douar Marigha | Route d'Amizmiz par Asni, Imlil, Ouirgane 42152, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ouirgane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Ouirgane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Domaine Malika is a luxury guest house in the Al Haouz province boasting a wonderful setting in a valley in Ouirgane surrounded by pine forests and olive groves. This guest house offers a refined and friendly atmosphere where guests on holiday in Morocco will spend enjoyable moments in a relaxing and luxurious ambiance in a natural setting next to the Toubkal national park with views over the High Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.