We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel

Save Saved
You added DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel
Douar Marigha | Route d'Amizmiz par Asni, Imlil, Ouirgane 42152, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Ouirgane
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Piece of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I must write a review of this wonderful place only to heap more praise on this gem of a place in the Atlas Mountains. Far from the crowds of the Marrakech Medina it's only an hour from the city and a beautiful place to rest your eyes. Paul and Agnes who run the Domaine Malika are relaxed, generous hosts and their staff - the wonderful Fuzia who cooks delicious, healthy food with a unique French Moroccan twist (it was good to try other menus apart from tagines) so good in fact that a Moroccan TV food show came to film her in action, plus Khalid and the rest of the team are genuinely lovely and hospitable and great to get to know. Paul was there to answer every question we had on trekking and the local area but also just great to chat to in an informal way. It's very luxurious yet understated, the rooms (we had a junior suite with a double aspect view) are spacious, light and beautifully decorated. Surrounded with a 360 degree view of mountains, looking on to orchards and trees this is really the place to relax. Mint tea on the roof terrace at sunset, great breakfasts and dinner by the pool with pretty lights and chill-out music. I have to say this is the best hotel experience we've ever had and would love to return. It's also great value in terms of what you get for your money and compared to what you get in UK or European hotels. It's more than a hotel, it's a proper Residence and Retreat. Highly highly recommended. Thank you Paul and team xx

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    26
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
236
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

What a perfect start to our second Morrocain holiday! This time, we were accompanied by two friends - it was there first taste of Morroco; and what a start! We were welcomed by Paul and his mother (the owners) and immediately felt welcome and at ease. During the months from the time of booking (Jan) all our questions and queries were answered speedily and without problem. The transfer from Marrakesh Airport, arranged by Paul, to the Domaine Malika went without a hitch. On arrival, we were shown to our junior suites (next door to each other) which were beautiful & spacious and had seating areas outside where we enjoyed drinks and some of the tastiest black olives you will ever find! The suites had there own staircases to the garden/pool area. There were plenty of good quality pool loungers and furniture. We ate dinners (three) and lunches (two) "al fresco" by the pool area. The food was a treat! Especially the rabbit! - expertly cooked and not over-priced. The Morrocain wines we had were good, and again, value for money. All the staff were exceptionally nice and efficient - nothing was too much trouble for them. My wife & I took advantage of the on-site Hammam and treatment room which was a wonderful way to spend a couple of hours after our mule ride in the mountains - something which we all agreed was the most exhilarating thing we have done outside of a theme park!! If you get the chance, go on a mule trek up to Berber villages in the mountains - it's fun, hairy on the steep downhill sections
but an experience well worth it. All in all, the Domaine Malika is a fantastic place to stay, run by wonderful owners and staff alike. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed here for two nights on our way to the Sahara and had a great couple of days.
The evening dinners were amazing, some of the best food we ate in over two weeks in Morocco.
Paul, his Mum and all the staff here were lovely, even being kind enough to set a seperate table for my Husband and I far away from the toads (not many places I know would cater to my irrational frog fear!).
Thank you for making our honeymoon so lovely!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Paul, "the gregarious vaulter" (a former French pole vault athlete) and his mother, Agnes, "the sweet-fearless navigator" (she drove us to the market in Asni one day, requiring nerves of steel handling the "s" curved road as well as weaving between the flotilla of donkeys, mopeds, trucks and crowds of people) have created a wondrous haven in the Atlas mountains.

Taken over from a talented French architect, who originally built this 7 guest room retreat, with a flair for both the modern and understated kitsch, it is on a stunning piece of property with unmatched views of the Atlas Mtns. Paul and Agnes have now made it their own personal pride and joy. From the rooms and it's views to the swimming pool, terraces and gardens, Domaine Malika is a visual feast, as are the meals.

After a "country quiet" sleep and a generous morning breakfast of fresh orange juice, sublime yogurt and fruits, eggs and warm breads eaten under a canopy of olive trees my wife and I were ready for a hike.

We took the Berber villages hike Paul recommended and laid out for us on a map. Moderate in difficulty, this 2-3 hour partially paved, partially dirt road hike leads you up into and alongside a river valley footpath where you arrive upon the first of three Berber mountainside villages you encounter. This slightly rocky, uneven and sometimes stream riddled path is shared by the local Berber villagers as they pass by on their daily routines of managing their gardens, hauling market goods by donkey or collecting their children for lunch. In our times of doubt as to which was the correct path to stay on, with a smile we were happily guided in the right direction.

We marveled at how this millenniums old people continued to live in such direct contact with their natural surroundings. Each village, with the towering local mosque in view to help guide us, were greeted by the smiling residents in front of their red clay and stone homes (with the occasional rooftop satellite dish). The women, dressed in brightly colored outfits, were going about daily chores or inquisitively peering at us through the wrought iron windows from their well kept but rugged homes.

Between the Berber villages, the Atlas Mountain views and a to-die-for retreat with great hosts, good food, comfort and ultimate relaxation, mark the Domaine Malika as the next stop on your Moroccan to-do list.

Room Tip: All rooms equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

What an incredible place, probably the most luxurious and friendly and relaxing place I have ever been and for a reasonable price too. We only stayed 24 hours unfortunately which was my biggest complaint. Paul the manager was so lovely and accommodating as were all of the staff that work there. The pool was incredible and the scenery absolutely stunning. It is a place for quiet time and relaxation. The interior decoration was brilliant and the food was yummy, I will definitely be going back but this time for longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Created and run with care and enthusiasm by Paul and his Mum, this lovely relaxed retreat doesn't fall into the faux Morocco chasm whereby all things are bathed in half light and plastered with token kilims and lanterns to remind you where you are. Rather, and very successfully, the atmosphere in the traditional Berber style buildings is wonderfully eclectic, clean and contemporary, and a gaze at the stunning Atlas mountain and valley vistas makes sure you are well aware of the magnificent location every time you open your eyes. When your eyes are closed, chances are you will be sleeping in one of the huge beds in the gorgeous light airy rooms with their own outside terraces and simple but beautiful decor, or preventing the Sens de Marrakech shampoo from getting in your eyes as you shower in the vast tadelact shower/bath on its raised enclosure.

The gardens and pool make the chilled ambience complete, where many of the ingredients for the excellent meals are produced. It is possible to venture out to eat, but generally speaking you might regret it as the French influenced cuisine is prepared with care, skill and pride, something sadly lacking in much of Morocco in spite of rumours and prices to the contrary. Obviously, should you venture to Xanadu the Branson Palace a few km's away you would certainly not be disappointed on this score, but you might need to increase your mortgage...

This is one of the burgeoning problems of Morocco these days... prices. Since my first of many visits forty years ago, things have got out of control. It seems the Moroccan hospitality industry has decided wholesale that its delightful people and country are worth huge sums of cash for services and facilities that frankly often do not make the grade. This can only serve to undermine travellers perception of its value and do nothing but damage in the long run. Happily, Domaine Malika sets standards which defy this trend and is worth every dirham on every level. It would be nice to think other establishments might learn from their example, but somehow I doubt they will. Just go there, you'll love it.

Room Tip: With only seven rooms, you won't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We got a great time and would recommend anyone!

We have decided to come to this hotel because of the scenery, mountains that sorrounded the hotel. What we found was far more then just that!

Room Tip: All the rooms provide great value for money
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel

Address: Douar Marigha | Route d'Amizmiz par Asni, Imlil, Ouirgane 42152, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ouirgane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Ouirgane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Domaine Malika is a luxury guest house in the Al Haouz province boasting a wonderful setting in a valley in Ouirgane surrounded by pine forests and olive groves. This guest house offers a refined and friendly atmosphere where guests on holiday in Morocco will spend enjoyable moments in a relaxing and luxurious ambiance in a natural setting next to the Toubkal national park with views over the High Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DOMAINE MALIKA Atlas mountains Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.