We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Word is Out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Rocky Mount

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Rocky Mount to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Rocky Mount
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Gateway Boulevard, Rocky Mount, NC 27804   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
For Travel Sports Family
Ranked #4 of 21 hotels in Rocky Mount
Dresher, Pennsylvania
1 review
“The Word is Out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The word has spread that Jim White and his staff are well known for helpfulness to guests. Many of my business colleagues have passed the word along that this is the place to stay.
My stay in February was not my first, so his awesome service over many different reservations is consistent. On an especially cold night, I was most appreciative that I was upgraded to a room with a fireplace.
Jim White and his staff are extremely courteous, helpful, upbeat and pleasant. Pass it on!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesmichaelwhite, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Rocky Mount, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you so much for all your kind and positive comments about our staff and me, we strive so hard to make sure each and every guest need is met and to ensure a memorable stay.
We truly appreciate you and your colleagues chosing our hotel to stay while in our area, also we thank you for your loyalty to our Marriott family. Please keep passing it on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    49
    24
    8
    7
See reviews for
100
38
4
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Rocky Mount is a place most of us visit because it is along I-95, going north or south. I do not usually review chain hotels but this Residence Inn deserves mention because of the very charming and helpful staff, something we have experienced now over the course of five trips up and down I-95. It has the feel of a family run hotel and after hours on the highway, the greetings of their staff are a wonderful welcome. The hotel is clean with the amenities you'd expect from a Residence Inn. It is pet friendly and close to restaurants and other services.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesmichaelwhite, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Rocky Mount, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review, we strive to make all our guest feel as if they are coming to their second home.
We also thank you for being faithful to us over the years and for your loyalty to our Marriott family, also we look forward to your many returns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have stayed at the Rocky Mount, NC Residence Inn for nearly 7 months because I was consulting in the area. The staff (especially James White and Kim Birth) are the most wonderful and accomodating group of people you can imagine. They did everything they could to make my stay as pleasant as possible and treated me like family making me feel as though I were in my second home. They even made sure I had the same room every time I came back from my every other weekend trip home. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesmichaelwhite, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Rocky Mount, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
It has been our pleasure to have had you with us over the last 7 months, our entire staff especially Kim and I will truly miss having you here. We are very pleased to know that your stay here was very pleasant and we reached our goal of making you feel as if you were at your second home among your second family.
Please stop by and say "HI" whenever you are in our area, thank you for staying with us and for your loyalty to our Marriott family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at the Rocky Mount Residence Inn for about 6 months and the services rendered by the employees are commendable. I've noticed that everyone of them recognizes all clients by name and they are very courteous, friendly and commendable.

Most of all I would like to give excellent recommendations for your Manager, James White. I am very impressed on his Public Relations, pleasing personality, friendliness and most of all he takes care of everyone and always has a smile for us.. You have a very good employee/manager in your premises. He deserves an award and I will surely recommend clients because of him.

Also, I would like to give credit to Tyler, a young , very polite and accomodating young guy. He also deserve kudos for his services.

Thank you for the impressive and worthwhile stay at this Rocky Mount Residence Inn. And because of this impressive experience, I will make Residence Inn- Marriott my first preference for a hotel stay.

Room Tip: Just ask for James and he will take care of you! He caters to the client's preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesmichaelwhite, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Rocky Mount, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write such an "AWESOME" review, we truly appreciate all the wonderful things you had to say about us. I honestly feel we were the lucky ones to have had the pleasure of having you as one of our Elite Guest. I can truly say many Sunday evenings you brighten up my night when you can through those doors.
We here at the Residence Inn Rocky Mount sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of your presence again.
I will make sure Tyler knows what you had to say about him.
Thank you for staying with us and for your loyalty to our Marriott family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were travelling north. We have stayed at Residence Inn's previously but this time we asked for a 2 bedroom suite. The lay out was really great with 2 separate bedrooms and 2 bathrooms as well as a common living area and kitchen. The beds were very comfortable and breakfast was hot and tasted great. The property is close to a highway and you can hear some highway noise, but the bed was so comfortable we slept through it! The check in was quick and all staff we encountered were very friendly. The only thing I would suggest is that the living area furniture in the room should be refreshed. In particular the chair and ottoman were definitely showing signs of wear and need to be replaced, however, very comfortable to sit in. The "old" chair became my go to seat in the room! Small details though. All in all a great stop at the end of a long day. If we are travelling in this area again, we would definitely return here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesmichaelwhite, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Rocky Mount, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, we are very glad we had a room that was suitable for your needs. As for our chairs and ottomans we are in the process of having them replaced, this should be completed by the end of this month. We are also pleased you found our beds comfortable for a great night sleep.
We are looking forward to your many returns, thank you for staying with us and for your loyalty to our Marriott family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here during our move to the Rocky Mount area. The staff, especially James White, made us (my husband, children and DOG!) feel like family!! It made our move relaxing. We enjoyed roasting smores on the fire pit and especially swimming in their HEATED pool in December while listening to Christmas music! The breakfast was wonderful and they never ran out of anything.They also have managers receptions with complementary dinners. Some of the furniture in the living area of our suite was a little worn (they will be replacing in 2013) but the room was VERY clean, especially the bathrooms. I am picky about baseboards, corners, tubs etc...and I didn't see one thing housekeeping missed. One of the cleanest rooms I've ever stayed in. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone!!

Room Tip: They have gas fireplaces in rooms, ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesmichaelwhite, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Rocky Mount, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your awesome review, we here at the Residence Inn Rocky Mount consider all guest who come through our doors as family. I am just glad your family could feel this coming from our family, its was truly our pleasure to have you with us, feel free to stop by and say hello anytime.
Thank you for staying with us and for your loyalty to our Marriott family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We only stayed for one night, but would stay there for a week if we needed to. Our 3 1/2 yr old daughter is a picky eater and she was able to find something to eat at the free breakfast offered. Free decent hot breakfast, clean room, full kitchen, no complaints!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesmichaelwhite, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Rocky Mount, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, we are so glad your daughter enjoyed our breakfast and everything else was suitable for your travel needs.
We are looking forward to your many returns, thank you for staying with us and for your loyalty to our Marriott family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Rocky Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Rocky Mount

Address: 230 Gateway Boulevard, Rocky Mount, NC 27804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Rocky Mount
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rocky Mount
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rocky Mount
#4 Family Hotel in Rocky Mount
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Rocky Mount 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience our newly renovated pool and spa area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Residence Inn Rocky Mount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Rocky Mount Hotel Rocky Mount
Rocky Mount Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Rocky Mount, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.