We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calabash style fried seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayflower Seafood Restaurant

Mayflower Seafood Restaurant
1520 N Wesleyan Blvd, Rocky Mount, NC 27804-6521
252-985-4002
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 113 Restaurants in Rocky Mount
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
elizabeth city, nc
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Calabash style fried seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Fried shrimp/flounder is always excellent, and the portions are huge. I eat here 3-4 time s a year, and have only had one meal that was not up to standards.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
greensboro, NC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“great price, fried seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

always hot, fast and good. This is carolina style fried seafood. Good, but not doctor recommended. I had flounder and baby shrimp special. more than I could eat. Also had had great service

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham, Maine
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“We were looking for "good" & "local"...we got local”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I knew we were in trouble when I asked the waitress (who was obviously local) if a certain dish was a "local specialty" and she said "I don't know but could ask someone". We will usually do all we can not to eat at chain restaurants but Red Lobster down the street might be a viable alternative to this place. The staff was very friendly, but this place is what it is...a purveyor of typical fried seafood, fried hushpuppies, fried pickels, fried....you get the idea.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sub standard very poor quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This was a poor quality seafood restaurant. The fish was obviously cooked from frozen and was quite waterlogged and tasteless. The shrimp were similar but with the telltale rubbery taste of frozen low grade shrimp. The deviled crab had no visible crab meat. For those who are used to seafood prepared as it should be and properly seasoned you will be very disappointed with this restaurant. Supposedly it is a family of restaurants in NC so we expected a higher standard. Not worth the visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glassboro, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Good Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Restaurant was good and staff was eager to serve. We were impressed with the quality of food.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayflower Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mayflower Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayflower Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.