We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at a fair price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of FATZ

FATZ
714 U.S. 74 Business, Rockingham, NC 28379-7524
910-582-4040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 49 Restaurants in Rockingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: At FATZ, we serve your favorite American fare with a delicious twist. From steaks to seafood, treat your taste buds to the flavors of FATZ.FATZ is committed to the highest standards of fresh quality food preparation with the finest of ingredients.
Elkin, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food at a fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This restaurant has been one of my favorites in this area for a while now. Sometimes the service at the bar is a little lacking. I understand the pressures of a large crowd, but management should have a person to float in and out of the bar area during peak times and times when the one person behind the bar is overloaded or needs a break.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeEnterprises, Manager at FATZ, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Terry:

We sincerely appreciate your feedback as we can only get better by learning from our guest. It’s always our intention to provide an exceptional dining experience along with great service and food to all of our guests and we hope that you’ll accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced while dining in the bar area. Again, we thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely:
Karen Margolis, Operating Partner
714 US Hwy. 74 Business East
Rockingham, NC 28379
910-582-4040
fatzrockingham@fatz.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockingham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good meal on family night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My family and I. Went out on one of our family nights. And we had a good meal ribs& Chicken it was very good the kids had Kids meals and they enjoyed them also. They have poppy seed rolls and they are Great.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamlet, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“dont expect to much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

First of all Rockingham doesn't have to much to offer. So when you see this new restaurant sitting in the WalMart parking lot it looks like it might be some good eating. Think again. The hamburgers are pre made dried out patties that have now flavor. The steaks test well to think about it the steaks have no tast. The ribs are so-so. And I am just over all let down every time I enter.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeEnterprises, Manager at FATZ, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Rick S.: We are very sorry to hear about your disappointing visits to our FATZ restaurant in Rockingham, NC. We agree that the issues mentioned are totally unacceptable and certainly do not reflect the high standards that we have set forth to provide the best food, service and dining experience to all of our guests and we apologize. Thank you for providing the feedback as we can’t improve without it.

Karen Margolis, Operating Partner
714 US Hwy. 74 Bus. E.
Rockingham, NC 28379
910-582-4040
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Mmmmm... good burgers and big cheese fries (and cold beer!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Staying in town for some railroad related work this week. Not many restaurant choices in the Rock. Found this place to be a pleasant surprise. Service was goo and fast. Beer was nice and cold and delivered promptly.

Me and my co-workers opted or the sandwich menu.. most of us getting burgers and cheese fries. The burgers are fantastic. Juicy and cooked just right. I opted for the Black Jack burger which has jack cheese, bacon and a spicy cajun sauce. Outstanding. Opted for the cheese fries and they were great. Nice big thick cut steak fries with a nice portion of cheese and chives and a ranch dipping sauce.

Very impressed with our visit to Fatz. Will be back again soon. And for those saying this place is expensive, I don't get it. A big juicy burger, fries and a drink was about $10. That's roughly what you'll pay for disgusting double whopper, fries and a drink at Burger King. You'll like this place a lot better Trust me.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not my favorite place to dine.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The service was great. Prices a little high. The food was just ok. The kids meal hamburger was not a hit with my daughter. She asked for pickles on her burger and they put a cucumber on it. If they didn't have pickles, they should have just said so. The famous chicken strips were not very good. There was a lot of fat and inedible pieces. The rolls and cinnamon butter were very good. I won't be going for dinner again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeEnterprises, Manager at FATZ, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are sorry to hear that the hamburger served to your daughter did not arrive with the requested pickle and that our Calabash Chicken had a lot of fat and inedible pieces. We agree that it is unacceptable for this to happen, and does not live up to the high standards we expect of our team. Please accept our apologies and thank you for your feedback as we can’t get better without it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FATZ also viewed

 

Been to FATZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FATZ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.