We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure the sun is behind you!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherohala Skyway

Cherohala Skyway
Robbinsville, NC
800-768-7129
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This scenic 36-mile road stretches from the mountains of North Carolina into the Tennessee backcountry.
Muncie, Indiana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Be sure the sun is behind you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We learned after our first chance encounter with this mountain high drive to plan the trip with the sun at your back. This was the first ride with Fall colors, and it was really gorgeous. Equally lovely was the "smoke" or low clouds and fog blanketing the valleys below as the sun came up. In the past, we met virtually no one, but as pretty as it was, this time we met quite a few other tourists and bikers out for a beautiful drive. The Tellico River is a pretty site, and it's too bad there are not more areas to pull of and get a photo up or downstream. The Nut n Fancy restaurant in Tellico Plains where we ate before was closed for the season, so we found the Telecafe. Separate excellent revue!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    37
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We actually began our ride from the Tellico Plains side of the Skyway. Tellico Plains is a nice little town that put me in the mind of a smaller Asheville, NC. We rode up from GA to TP and stopped for lunch, then hit the Skyway about 1:00 in the afternoon. It was an overcast day with no sunshine and lots of moisture, at times turning into light rain that day. We rode up through the Skyway and started hitting clouds at about the 3000 ft level. From there to about that same spot on the way down we were in intermittent cloud banks that made visibility really limited. From 40 ft away I could barely see the tail lights of the motorcycle in front of me. But wow was it incredible. If you have ridden any of the other bike roads in the area like the Tail of the Dragon, etc. then there won't be any curves on this road that challenge your abilities, but there are plenty of them, some tight ones and some just the big sweepers. But the views, when we could see through the clouds, were absolutely gorgeous. I don't think there could be a bad time of the year to come up here. We came the first weekend in October to try to catch the leaves changing and we weren't disappointed.
You do need to be sure to pay attention to the road if you happen to be the one driving, it is a dangerous stretch of road to lose focus on. We saw one crotch rocket down and into the guard rail coming from the other direction. Our group out of GA made this a day trip and it was absolutely worth the time to do it. Our round trip was just under 400 miles for the day and this was definitely one of the highlights of the trip.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salley, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful in October with fall colors.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Many places to pull over and admire the mountains. There are many curves and we pasted two accidents. One was a motorcyle and the other a mustang. So please drive with caution.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestnut Hill, MA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Every Rider Should Take This Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I'm going to sound like a broken record...gorgeous scenery, beautiful vistas, a combination of twisty curves and long sweepers. This road has it all along with great support on the TN and NC ends of the ride. Everyone who comes here likes it a lot.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our ride on the Cherohala Skyway. We went the second week of October, and the leaves were just starting to turn. Definite must do if you're in the area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cherohala Skyway also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Robbinsville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Robbinsville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Cherohala Skyway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherohala Skyway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.