We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Tapoco Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robbinsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Tapoco Lodge
Save
You added Historic Tapoco Lodge to your Saves list
14981 Tapoco Road, Robbinsville, NC 28771   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Robbinsville B&B and Inns
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful weekend at the Lodge. Ronnie and the staff take excellent care of you. Chef Alex put together fantastic food for breakfast and dinner.The cabins are super clean and you have to experience the 1930 theater on site that runs classic films 24/7. No better place for a long weekend to relax by the river. We look forward to next year!

Room Tip: Cabins are a favorite, but the main lodge is great as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your experience at the lodge. You belong to a great group and we certainly enjoy each and everyone of them. It was nice to meet your wife, and hope that you can return soon. Let me know what movies you may want to watch and we will be sure that we have them available when you return. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    6
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
188
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This wonderful place is our most beloved destination.

Ron and Terri and their entire crew pour every ounce of their very best into making the lodge a place you will love and long to return to.

Excellence in all things seems effortless to every member of their team and their passion for delivering a high value experience shows at every turn.

The beautifully crafted lodge, the expertly restored cabins with classic charm and exceptionally comfortable beds will not disappoint.
Classic movies from another time always delight in the old world theater.
The meticulously groomed grounds invite mountain air relaxation at its finest.
This is the best possible base for exploring the incredible beauty of the mountains or simply finding your inner peace and relaxing riverside with a good read.

Here you will find truly world class dining in the relaxed ambiance of the mountains. The value and quality of the food here is extraordinary.

Your stay can be as private as you wish or as open as you desire.
The friendships formed with the staff and the guests are lasting and we cannot say enough good things about the lodge.
Our many visits here are always filled with dreams of our next stay.

Do not miss out on one of the greatest destinations in the entire southeast, possibly in the country.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
It is great to see that you do not have to lose a "wager" to return to the lodge. Thank you so much for reviewing your stays with us. You and everyone in your group are the best, and have been from the beginning. Thanks to you and R.......a (not supposed to use names in a response) for everything you stand for and everything you do for us. We are looking forward to your return. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

The accommodations at the Tapoco lodge are like no other. The minute you enter, the staff takes care of your every need. Right down to the hair products and soaps left for you. And oh my goodness the linens! Then,to have the chef prepare you a pizza for breakfast in a brick oven with anything ( and I mean anything !) on it, is awesome. And that's included in the room rate as well as the 5 star dinner the night before. Even if you can't stay the night, come for dinner. You'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words about the staff and lodge. We are happy you had a good time and enjoyed the creative dinning and we look forward to your return soon. Thank you for taking the time to write a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I had such a wonderful time last year at the lodge. The food was unbelievable at Jasper's. We were there for the UF vs. UT which was so much fun. We were there with friends but were made to feel like family and can't wait to go back. The sound of the river running through the grounds, the crisp weather, the beautiful rooms with views...it is amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
GO VOLS! That will get you going! Thank you so much for providing a great review and thanks for giving us the opportunity to show you what Tapoco is all about. We are looking forward to your return in October for the rivalry game, and maybe Butch will have some surprise up his sleeve this year to provide a little more entertainment. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We have eaten at Jasper's in the Tapoco Lodge several times every summer for the past 3 years. From the time you drive through the front gate your experience is top rate. The grounds are impeccable, and you can't help but feel you have stepped back in time. The food, service and atmosphere is always exquisite. We love to listen to the music and watch the river rapids from the window of the restaurant. We can't wait to get back there this summer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
It is always a pleasure to have you and your family with us at Tapoco. It is always good to host a birthday, anniversary, or just a dinner out for you. We look forward to your return to the lake, and hopefully return to the lodge. Thanks again for your continued support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Having been a number of times, all I can tell you is you must experience this "Better Place in Time". I have gone by myself, with my wife, with my family and with friends and have created special memories with each trip. At the lodge, there is a unique combination of place, accomodations, and staff that I have not found anywhere else in the world.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thanks for your review of the lodge and staff and we appreciate folks like you who keep coming back! We look forward to having you again soon, and if not soon, then in October for the BIG GAME! GO VOLS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, SC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We wanted to be secluded from the main building so we chose to stay at the Santeetlah Three cabin located in a very quiet spot, room is comfortable, nothing over the top, (no TV's, bring your favorite book) dinner was great, manager and the whole staff are the kindest people you will find, they will do anything to make you feel at home, next day breakfast was served at SlickRock by the river, nice touch! We will comeback next spring.

Room Tip: If you like very a very quiet spot cabins are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thanks so much for your great review of the lodge. Each and everyone of the cabins has its own unique personality, unique views, and arrangements. We are glad to hear that you were very happy with the one that you chose. We are looking forward to your return this year, and thanks again for the support and your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Tapoco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Tapoco Lodge

Address: 14981 Tapoco Road, Robbinsville, NC 28771
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Robbinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Tapoco Lodge is proud to offer a non-smoking atmosphere to guests seeking a lodge that’s anything but ordinary! We offer cabins or Lodge rooms with beautiful views of the rushing Cheoah River as well as Suites with Jacuzzi garden tubs and full living rooms for your relaxation. The grounds have been meticulously restored to reflect the grandeur of the 1930's and our staff has been hand picked to give you the best of everything! From our gourmet five course dinners, our famous made to order breakfast to outstanding guest services Tapoco has become the highlight of the mountains. Each bundled package includes a five course dinner created by Executive Chef Alex Henry, a Culinary Institute of American graduate, as well as a full breakfast from our breakfast Chef Will Collins. We don't have a menu for breakfast; he will create whatever you like! After you've been delighted by your dinner we welcome you to relax by one of our stone fire pits or take a walk up to the beautiful Bear Creek Falls. Tapoco is also offering Adventure Day trips which can be booked up to 24 hours prior. These half and full day trips include Guided Lake Kayaking on one of three different lakes, Guided Hiking, Fly Fishing Expeditions and an afternoon Pontoon Boat and History Tour of Lake Santeetlah. The season begins with the addition of the Tapoco Tin Theater which was renovated over the winter and is now available for guest booking for weddings, seminars, team building sessions, and most anything you can imagine. The building is nothing short of incredible. Come join us for an experience you'll never forget at Historic Tapoco Lodge! For the safety, privacy and security of our guests, Tapoco Lodge has instituted a no walk-in policy and the property is dedicated for the exclusive use of our "Registered Guests". Advanced arrangements can be made for limited tours of the property on non-operating days. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Historic Tapoco Hotel Robbinsville
Tapoco Hotel Robbinsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Tapoco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.