We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"I loved the place so much that I got engaged there!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Tapoco Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robbinsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Tapoco Lodge
Save
You added Historic Tapoco Lodge to your Saves list
14981 Tapoco Road, Robbinsville, NC 28771   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Robbinsville B&B and Inns
Saint Peters, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"I loved the place so much that I got engaged there!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Tapoco Lodge is truly a wonderful place to spend time!! My girlfriend and I spent four days there over Labor day weekend. I was looking for a special place to ask her to marry me, so we got engaged over a romantic dinner at Jaspers restaurant which turned out to be the perfect venue!! A big thank you to Karen and the rest of the staff for helping me to set up the big moment!! The entire staff: Tyler, Karen, Becky, Alex, Cande, and Ann are all very courteous, and professional people who do a great job of making guests feel right at home!! The owners Ronnie & Terri have done such a fantastic job with Tapoco Lodge that we were actually sad that we had to leave!! But, the good news is that we are making plans to come back in the spring, and from now on we plan on making Tapoco Lodge a yearly dsestination!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    6
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
188
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
atlanta GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

There aren't enough superlative adjectives to describe Tapoco Lodge. It was even much better than anticipated. I select and make our travel on the internet, reading info from the place itself and the travel reviews. Most of the time the reality of the destination is OK but sometimes it falls short. NOT SO with Tapco Lodge. They do not toot their horn loud enough! It is such a beautiful wooded setting along side a rushing boulder-filled steam, well landscaped and the air is buzzing with hummingbirds. Ronnie and Terry had a passion and vision to restore this great 1930's property. They did GOOD! Our huge super clean room included a sitting area with 2 chairs. The staff....Karen, Tyler and Becky felt like family by the time we left. The inclusive multi-course meals were possibly the best we have ever eaten...thanks to chef Alex and Matt. Ann made our "to order" breakfasts. Her Blu-Cheese omelets and Lemon riccota panckes were fantastic. Plus she added that extra ingredient of love to all her dishes. The history of the place was fasinating and all on staff were happy to share it. We agree with all the other reviewers... this place is a GEM and we WILL go back. Thanks, Ronnie, for showing us the theater!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We found this lovely lodge on our trek to Washington DC for business and loved it. The cabin was so cute with such excellent attention to every detail. The food was over the top wonderful, and the service was superior. This is a warm and friendly place with the absolute best staff. We felt like welcomed family. The lodge has been restored and just opened last summer. If you can get to Robbinsville, NC you must stay at Tapoco Lodge. Oh, and they fix you breakfast in the kitchen where you sit on bar stools watching them prepare your food. I mean, this place wrote the book on hospitality. Thanks, Tapoco crew!

Room Tip: Ask for the staff's advice on your room of choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochton, GA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The owners have done a wonderful job restoring the lodge and have spared no expense to make sure you enjoy your stay. If you want to get away from it all and enjoy nature & tranquility this is the place to be. Food was excellent, great staff & first class service all the way. Can't wait to go back this fall. Great find!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a cabin at Topoco on our honeymoon forty years ago. We loved it then, but thanks to the new owners, it is even better now! Ronnie and Terry have done a marvelous job of restoring this historic lodge in this beautiful location on the Cheoah River. We just happened to be there on one of the 22 days of the year when water is released from a nearby dam, making the river into a class 5+ river. All afternoon we enjoyed watching kayakers and rafters as they came down the raging waters.

Our cabin was clean with all new furnishings, comfortable beds, and very plush towels. It had a porch with comfortable chairs and a loveseat that were nice even on a rainy day.

Breakfast and dinner were included at Jasper's, which is in the lodge. Anne will fix whatever you might fancy for breakfast. And Chef Alex has an amazing menu with five courses each night. It was all well prepared and so plentiful, that we could just snack at lunch.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and we thoroughly enjoyed our little getaway. We hope to go back again sometime!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I visited our in-laws in Robbinesville, North carolina, which lies on Lake Santeetah, and we dined at Tapoco Lodge. What an amazing lodge! This is a gem that sits along side a beautiful stream at the tail end of the "tail of the Dragon" and has been beautifully designed within and from a landscaping perspective, is absolutely beautiful. Careful attention has been put into this fine lodge which will offer an visitors or lodgers a special experience.

The owner Ronnie and his staff are warm and inviting. "Jaspers," there amazing restaurant, has a young and inovative chef named Alex, who studied at the accliamed Culinary Institure of America. His dishes are creative, with freshly made soups and h'ordeurves such as crostini with goat cheese with local honey drizzled overtop! The 4-5 course menu served a wonderful caesar salad and an amazingly tender beef tenderloin serviced on a bed of whipped potates are freshly sauted spinnach with bernaise sauce to dip your mouth watering steak in. Every dish was seasoned to perfection. Their desserts are worth the trip alone! There was a selection of 5, each equally enticingis as the next. The wine list is impressive but so are the wines by the glass which are very impressive.

I have eaten at Snowbird Lodge several times and Jaspers is far superior in every way. I studied in France and took cooking classes in Ain en Provence, France and understand cooking and mastering the use of fresh produce and available meat and seafood. My cousin is a sou chef and studied at the CIA (Culinary Institue of America) and he would undoubtedly agree with me that Jasper's is not only an amazing restaurant but the value it offers is exceptional!!!!!

So, if considering a visit to Robbinesville, do not miss Jasper's for a meal to remember!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Tapoco Lodge was outstanding! It started the minute we drove up in the drive. They met us as soon as we got out of the truck and welcomed us. They were nothing but nice the entire time. The staff had great attitudes and seemed happy to be there. We were late for a dinner one night and they didn't have a problem making sure we still ate our 5 course amazing meal that was included in our package. We ate breakfast early one morning and they cooked us whatever we wanted. The entire stafff was so accomodating and friendly and personable. Our cabin was really clean and comfortable. An incredible getaway! Worth every penny!

Room Tip: Mention whether you wan a private porch or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Tapoco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Tapoco Lodge

Address: 14981 Tapoco Road, Robbinsville, NC 28771
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Robbinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Tapoco Lodge is proud to offer a non-smoking atmosphere to guests seeking a lodge that’s anything but ordinary! We offer cabins or Lodge rooms with beautiful views of the rushing Cheoah River as well as Suites with Jacuzzi garden tubs and full living rooms for your relaxation. The grounds have been meticulously restored to reflect the grandeur of the 1930's and our staff has been hand picked to give you the best of everything! From our gourmet five course dinners, our famous made to order breakfast to outstanding guest services Tapoco has become the highlight of the mountains. Each bundled package includes a five course dinner created by Executive Chef Alex Henry, a Culinary Institute of American graduate, as well as a full breakfast from our breakfast Chef Will Collins. We don't have a menu for breakfast; he will create whatever you like! After you've been delighted by your dinner we welcome you to relax by one of our stone fire pits or take a walk up to the beautiful Bear Creek Falls. Tapoco is also offering Adventure Day trips which can be booked up to 24 hours prior. These half and full day trips include Guided Lake Kayaking on one of three different lakes, Guided Hiking, Fly Fishing Expeditions and an afternoon Pontoon Boat and History Tour of Lake Santeetlah. The season begins with the addition of the Tapoco Tin Theater which was renovated over the winter and is now available for guest booking for weddings, seminars, team building sessions, and most anything you can imagine. The building is nothing short of incredible. Come join us for an experience you'll never forget at Historic Tapoco Lodge! For the safety, privacy and security of our guests, Tapoco Lodge has instituted a no walk-in policy and the property is dedicated for the exclusive use of our "Registered Guests". Advanced arrangements can be made for limited tours of the property on non-operating days. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Historic Tapoco Hotel Robbinsville
Tapoco Hotel Robbinsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Tapoco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.