We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food in recent memory” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jasper's Restaurant at Tapoco Lodge

Jasper's Restaurant at Tapoco Lodge
14981 Tapoco Road, Robbinsville, NC
828-498-2325
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Robbinsville
Price range: $0 - $46
Cuisines: American, European, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
London, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The best food in recent memory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The food prepared by Chef Alex and and his assistant Chef Matthew in Jaspers Restaurant at the Historic Tapoco Lodge is simply incredible. There is one set price for the meal, and/or it is included in your room rate for those people staying at the lodge. The meal is 5 courses and there was absolutely nothing to complain about. Every little thing has been carefully thought out by the Chef's who really work well together. The dining room is efficiently run by the two servers Karen and Becky. There is lots to choose from on the menu, and the menu is custom made using local ingredients. The portions are generous, you will not go away hungry. The flavours and combinations were amazing. Special occasions are recognized with customized menus that you get to keep. After a stay in the Lodge, breakfasts are handled by Chef Matthew and they are also some of the tastiest breakfasts you can imagine, made with all fresh and local ingredients. All made custom to order, in front of your eyes at the Chef's table right in the kitchen. I do not hesitate in giving Jasper's 5 stars.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    0
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sebring, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Jasper's (and The Tapoco Lodge) have to be the best kept secret in North Carolina. Who would expect such a wonderful dining experience a mere stone's throw from Great Smokey Mountains National Park and the Tail-of-the-Dragon?! After staying at the lodge and eating at Jasper's a total of four times now, we have truly run out of superlatives to describe the venue, the food, the service and the incredible hospitality. It doesn't get any better than this, I don't care where you go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were in the Robbinsville, NC area checking out a place to rent over the Thanksgiving holidays and saw the great reviews Jasper's received. It did not disappoint. Each course was splendid! My next action item is to schedule a weekend at the Tapoco Lodge so we can enjoy Jasper's again, and more than once.

We were hoping to check this place out as an option over Thanksgiving. Unfortunately it is only open during the Spring/Summer/Fall season. We will miss it. But we'll definitely be back when they are open.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville
2 reviews
“Delicious Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great service and fantastic food! Made our stay at Tapoco Lodge perfect. Staff was incredibly friendly!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Five stars for five course meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

From the amuse to the dessert, it was so incredibly good. Courses were adequate portions and simply delicious. Restaurant is nicely decorated and staff were very gracious. Great place!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jasper's Restaurant at Tapoco Lodge also viewed

Robbinsville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Robbinsville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Robbinsville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Robbinsville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Jasper's Restaurant at Tapoco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jasper's Restaurant at Tapoco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.