We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
the view at the end of the road
the view at the end of the road
the view at the end of the road
efficiency (The Coop)  sleeping area
efficiency (The Coop) kitchen
1 bedroom (The Woodshop) living room
1 bedroom (The Woodshop) bedroom
Robbinsville
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
adkinsonm
Milton, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hiker Friendly, Comfortable, Clean Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We have stayed at The Cabin in the Woods on two different occasions while hiking the Appalachian Trail. Our first stay was in the cabin on the side of the hill with a full size bed and a screened porch. It also had a fully furnished kitchen, dining room table and bathroom. It was furnished with linens and toiletry items. This was a very nice cabin, with a beautiful view. We were allowed to leave our hiking supplies there for the day while we hiked and came back that night. The next time we stayed in the cabin on stilts which had only one room, twin beds, shower, microwave and sink. Although it was small, it still had all the accommodations we needed. Again, we stayed in it two different nights with a hike in between. Donna is very friendly and helpful and a good shuttle driver for hikers. She made us feel very welcome and made sure we had everything we needed.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Good price for very good accommodations
Liked least: Liked everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
489Charle...
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful, refreshing and with friendly hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

In addition to what you have listed there is now a one room "LOFT" which is very quaint and comfortable. We stayed two nights and look forward to a return visit and will use one of the other available cabins for a longer stay. It is quite a drive up hill but worth every effort to get there.

This area of NC has more that enough in the way of outdoor activities to keep one occupied for weeks.

The hosts a very friendly as are the cats.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 2 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The Peace and Quiet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
luv2golf1...
Taylorsville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Everything I Needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed in the loft. It was quiet, peaceful and had everything I needed for a restful getaway. Phil and Donna were very prompt at returning my call and I ended up leaving that very day for my stay with them. Getting into the property is a little nerve wrecking but once you arrive it more than makes up for it. It is close to lots of attractions and I enjoyed my stay very much.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: service and equipped with what I needed.
Liked least: long winding drive up the mountain to the cabin
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Erin L
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best mountain getaway you could ask for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The Cabin in the Woods is the perfect getaway if you're really looking to get away. My fiance and I had the pleasure of staying in both of Donna and Phil's cabins and we loved them both! Our favorite though was The Coop. The screened in porch is a dream. The scenery is breathtaking! Donna and Phil took care of every little comfort we would need and we really appreciated it.

Bryson City is close by and offers plenty to do including hiking some gorgeous falls and tubing down Deep Creek. The grocery store is local and offers everything you would need to grill out at the cabin which is what we did for dinner each night.

The drive up was a little intimidating at first. Very narrow and steep, but definitely no reason not to consider this rental.

In fact, Chris and I are hoping to rent it again the same time next year!

Thanks, Donna and Phil!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The scenery
Liked least: Mattresses were pretty firm
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
HeatherC
SC
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
otterpup
Mackinaw, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Sweet Place, Great People!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
16
people found this review helpful

I'm glad to be the first to review Donna & Phil's "Woodshop" cabin! They're wonderful people and excellent "landlords!"

My daughter & I spent a week here and loved it! The cabin is roomy with a bath & a half, full eat-in kitchen, bedroom and deck.

Donna & Phil thought of everything as far as conveniences in the cabin. The kitchen has everything you'll need to do your own cooking if you choose to do so. (Full sized frig, toaster oven, microwave, plates, cups, glasses, utensils, coffee maker, & even a dish washer!) The deck is equipped with a working gas grill, so you can even cook out if you want. And there's a discount card for the local Ingles grocery store (in Robbinsville) on the keychain.

The place is clean, bright and fresh. The pictures on the website are true representations of the interior & exterior. There were plenty of towels, extra pillows, blankets and sheets and the jacuzzi bathtub came in handy a couple of times after some strenuous hiking/tubing activities.

The ONLY challenge is the lane to the cabin...it's not for the faint of heart. It's very long, narrow, winding & steep and parts of it are gravel. I have a manual transmission Mini Cooper (great get up and go) and we managed it just fine, but I can't imagine trying to get up it in a standard 4-cylinder car. If you go too slow, you won't make it up. However, the cabin and the people are well worth it, for those who are up for it!

The location is perfect. Close to Robbinsville, Bryson City, the Dragon's Tail and many other great locations! Everything you could possibly want and for a very reasonable price!

Thanks so much to both Donna & Phil for their hospitality! Can't wait to return!!!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$40
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Donna M
Speaks English
Listed since : Jun 2011
Response Rate: 10 %
Response Time: Within a few days
Calendar Updated: 118 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing