We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dragon disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tail of the Dragon

Tail of the Dragon
US Route 129- Deal's Gap, Robbinsville, NC
800-768-7129
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives, Off road/All Terrain Vehicle Trails, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Adventure
Attraction details
Kenly, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dragon disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Rode the Dragon late in afternoon from Tennessee side to North Carolina. A lot of inexperienced of just plain stupid riders both in cars and on bikes. There are plenty of roads better in the area that are not really advertised. Deals Gap Resort/gift shop smelled like sewage. Not very impressed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    74
    21
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fontana Dam, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Driving The Dragon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

A good mix of car and motorcycle road enthusiasts. Traffic was moderate with no hold-ups. An absolutely beautiful drive.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thrills every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Rode the Dragon's Tail on the back of my husband's bike - I got to take pictures as we went. Thrilling ride and the photographers along the way are great to download pics of your ride from. Be careful of the blind curves, cars and trucks tend to cross the center line coming towards you.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fun fun fun fun fun!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This was such a fun 11 mile drive I want to do it again with a motorcycle next time. I first stopped at the Deals Gap Motorcycle Resort and marveled at the sheer number of bikers who ride this road.
When I drove I counted only 180 curves before I realized that the 318 curves mentioned include every little slight curve on the road. Literally you are making turn after turn after turn. I really enjoyed watching the sports biker zipping past. It may scare others but I had a blast seeing them take the sharp curves at high speeds. This is definitely a must do if you are in the are.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siler City, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What we did.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Beautiful forest scenery, interesting driving experiences on the mountain roads. The SCCA Hill Climb is a destination for sports car fans and racing. Held twice yearly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tail of the Dragon also viewed

Robbinsville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Robbinsville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Robbinsville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Tail of the Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tail of the Dragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.