We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drive to the next one!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   136 Sheraton Drive, I 95 Exit 171 (Route 125), Roanoke Rapids, NC 27870 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Roanoke Rapids)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Roanoke Rapids
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Drive to the next one!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Room was not what we had reserved, front desk rep didnt mentioned this when we checked in, and when we opened the door to the room we were given, it smelled awful. We immediately shut the door and went back to desk. Lady who checked us in said she knew it wasnt room we had requested (but she didnt said anything while checking us in???). No apologies, no nothing except a sour look as she took room key back. VERY unhappy. Unacceptable rooms and worst customer service of our 10 day trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    50
    36
    11
    20
See reviews for
64
39
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Tried to find a room in Roanoke rapids, and all were booked, we were directed here by Expedia' s operator, who was very nice. Upon check in the hotel was packed , lots of construction workers for the night.. You could smell the smoke in the hallways, the front desk staff was friendly upon check in, nice breakfast in the morning, the room was basic , but clean and acceptable . It appears this is a converted former old franchise hotel converted to a holiday inn express, so don,t expect the new Holiday inn look, It was basic , just off 95 , 2 miles south of the Roanoke main exit. Price paid was 109 with tax. I felt it was a little high for the stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here on a long drive because it was just off 95, and I wish we had stayed at the Hampton Inn instead. There was mildew in the bathtub, and the light in the bathroom sink area didn't work. I couldn't wait to leave and didn't bother with the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belashah, Manager at BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback it's because of guest like you that help us to improve our service and product. Per you feedback all bathtub are being professional cleaned and detailed. All vanity fixtures are being replaced. We are sincerely sorry for the issues of your stay and we guarantee you that they have being addressed. Thanks again for you feedback and I would like to extend to you a complimentary upgrade the next time that you are travelling in the Roanoke Rapids area. Please give me a call and I would be more than happy to assist you with your reservation. Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to let us know about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I had traveled on October 6, 2012 and it was late when I arrived. Service was excellent. The Holiday Inn was clean inside and out. Excellent room and the most comfortable bed I have ever selpt on, including my own. I will certainly recommend the Holiday Inn Express to anyone traveling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belashah, Manager at BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about our hotel. We are happy that you enjoy your stay with us. Thanks for the compliment on the comfort of our beds. We are looking forward to you staying with us again in the future. Thanks again for your feedback and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesville
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The staff at the front desk were pleasant and helpful but as soon as we went down the hall first thing you smell is smoke, not just cigarette smoke but the halls were full of marijuana smoke. Even though our room was on the 1st floor and a non smoking room, we still had a strong smokey smell all night in the room. Unable to move due to being fully booked. Very disappointed by this stay and used my Holiday Inn Express points for this night. Towels were very worn out and needed to be replaced. Bed was comfortable but bathroom showed it's age. If you are looking for a place to party, get high and make noise all night this is a great spot for you. If you need rest and a smoke free stay avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear kjaussies,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I would like to thank you, also, for being Priority Club members and for spending your rewards nights with us. I truly appreciate your feedback regarding our comfortable beds as well as our pleasant and helpful staff as we pride our selves on excellent customer service. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring these matters to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the unusual smell, noise from our other guests and condition of he bathroom amenities during your stay. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We needed a place to stay to break up a long trip down 95. The Holiday Inn Express in Roanoke Rapids met our needs. The room was clean, staff were friendly, and the free breakfast filled us up in the morning.

The only downsides were that the gym was small and bit lacking, the bathroom was small, and our room seemed a bit humid.

We were only there for one night, but overall we were comfortable and glad we chose to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belashah, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to tell us about your stay. You feedback is very important to us. We have reviewed your comments and we are addressing them accordingly. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future. Thank You so much for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites-Roanoke Rapids.

Wiley Davis, Jr.
Asst. General Manager/ Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Express and Suites
136 Sheraton Drive
Roanoke Rapids, NC 27870
Work: 252.536.2300
Fax: 252.536.2377
2010 IHG Best of the Best Guest Exprience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We chose to pay a little more based on my experience with other Holiday Inn Express locations around the country. Wow was I disappointed. The outside is nice but the quality of the facility on the inside was not. The room was very small and looked like an updated Howard Johnson's from decades past. We checked in to find no towels in the room and had to wait more than 30 minutes for them, just so we could take a shower. The front desk staff was unpleasant to deal with and overall this was a huge waste of money. I'm shocked Holiday Inn Express would allow this facility into their network.

Room Tip: The main part of the build is obviously the original (where the lobby is). Maybe the other wing of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belashah, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank You for taking you time to respond. It is our passion to create Great Hotels, Guest Love and we felled to do so in your case. I would like to take the time to stay that we are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. If you will please give me a call personally so that i may get the chance to apologize to you and to assure that the issues that you exprienced have been addressed. I would also like to help build you confidence in the brand that we both LOVE. Again Thank you for your response and choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites-Roanoke Rapids.

Wiley Davis, Jr.
Asst. General Manager/ Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Express and Suites
136 Sheraton Drive
Roanoke Rapids, NC 27870
Work: 252.536.2300
Fax: 252.536.2377
2010 IHG Best of the Best Guest Exprience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites

Address: 136 Sheraton Drive, I 95 Exit 171 (Route 125), Roanoke Rapids, NC 27870 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Roanoke Rapids)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Roanoke Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Roanoke Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites welcomes you to the half-way point between New York and Florida. You are sure to find this Roanoke Rapids, NC hotel full of charm. When looking at a map of I-95, you will find Roanoke Rapids on the border of NC and VA at I-95 exit 171. The Best Western Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites offers a microwave and refrigerator in every room, as well as your choice of wired or wireless HSIA in every room. Attractions near the hotel: Carolina Crossroads, Roanoke Rapids Theatre, Lake Gaston, NC, Medoc Mountain, NC, Haliwa Saponi Indian Tribe, and Roanoke River. In addition, there are several historical points of interest, including museums and festivals, nearby. Local businesses: Georgia Pacific Corporation, International Paper Company, CSX Railroad, PCB Piezotronics and Lowes Distribution Center. Nearby towns: Roanoke Rapids, NC, Rocky Mount, NC, Enfield, NC, Littleton, NC, Halifax, NC, Whitakers, NC, Tillery, NC, Weldon, NC and Emporia, VA. Halifax Community College is located less than twenty miles from the hotel.We look forward to seeing you soon at the Best Western Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke Rapids Hotel Roanoke Rapids
Holiday Inn Roanoke Rapids
Roanoke Rapids Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Roanoke Rapids Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.