We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of David's Restaurant

David's Restaurant
1011 Roanoke Ave, Roanoke Rapids, NC 27870-3701
252-537-3262
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We were excited about a wonderful girl's night dinner for 9 but it was frustrating. The staff didn't bring us water or bread for 20 minutes and it took another 25 minutes to have our drinks delivered. Our food had promise but fell flat. We ordered a 2nd bottle of wine and our waitress took away our 1st bottle before it was empty (1/4 bottle left). Then we were charged the wrong prices on the appetizers. It was one aggravating incident after another.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Passing through stopped for the night. Read the reviews and just knew this was going to be the "local" restaurant we were looking for. Wrong! We went during the week and the food was awful and not fresh. Armature chef at best. Our waitress was nice, we asked for just the one meal to be comped since it was inedible. Fish and crab tasted frozen and it was still cold. We are not complainers, but we just could not believe how bad the food was. Made us regret not going to Cracker Barrell.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“vacation visit 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very nice restaurant, very clean and nice atmosphere. Food was very good at a decent price. The entertainment was a little too close tour table. Service was above average but not super.
Good menu. We will try it again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I had the greatest meal. We arrived 10 min before closing and they did not turn us away. I had the freshest most succulent lobster and filet minion. People were very friendly. Appetizer was french onion soup for me snd fried oysters for my husband...the best. If you ard in the Roanoke Rapids area....you must eat at David's!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were delighted by our dinner last night at David's. The service was terrific, and most attentive. The food was delicious, and the menu offered many choices. We highly recommend this charming restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David's Restaurant also viewed

Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina Coast
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina Coast
 
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina Coast
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to David's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.